Improve your English language skills while practising some DIY tasks in Bolton, Greater Manchester, UK

Country

Reino Unido

Favorito 326 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    26/11/2021

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 1 dia

  • Medalhas

    Super Host
 
  2021 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 1 semana

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Due to the increased infection and death rates in U.K., I have decided to postpone inviting volunteers until next Spring 2022.
    Please read the information on the WHO (World Health Organisation) for up to date news on the Corona Virus Pandemic.
    I am a qualified EFL and IELTS Teacher (English as a Foreign Language) and enthusiastic DIYer (Do It Yourself) who is renovating a detached house, north of Manchester City. I welcome volunteers who enjoy learning practical skills, such as decorating, (painting and hanging wallpaper) and general gardening. I am also planning to create a kitchen garden where I can grow vegetables and include teaching some cookery skills. I also welcome help with simple household tasks such as vacuuming, washing up kitchen utensils after meals, and keeping the fridge clean. I will welcome anyone who is interested in helping me rebuild a garden wall ( Spring time).
    I can also offer the opportunity of improving your English language skills for everyday situations including DIY and usually recommend a minimum period of 1 week. Renovating a house and gardening can sometimes be a bit dirty, dusty and messy and suggest you wear your old clothes when attempting some of the tasks.
    I currently volunteer at the Science & Industry Museum in Manchester and assist with learning experiences as part of the Museum’s activities in creating Science Capital in the community.
    Non-smokers particularly welcome, Vegans might feel a little uncomfortable as I cook with animal products, such as eggs, cheese, fish and chicken.
    For those of you who are seriously interested in studying the English language, the British Council website in your country, and the BBC website Learning English, both have free learning materials available for you to use.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    I can also offer language tuition and practice as I am a language and maths teacher, as well as being a German and French speaker. I am also interested in Science Communication and volunteer at the Science & Industry Museum in Manchester. I enjoy cooking, so if you want to improve your culinary skills, we can prepare a few tasty meals together. I collect cookery books so like to enjoy a variety of healthy foods worldwide. I am not really a red meat eater, preferring fish and chicken, so I tend to prepare light meals with vegetables.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    Are you interested in improving your English language skills , as well as acquiring some DIY skills, painting, hanging wallpaper, weeding a garden, mowing a lawn, painting a garden fence and help create a vegetable plot, or perhaps improve your building skills. All equipment and materials are provided including work gloves.

  • Idiomas

    Alemão: Fluente
    Inglês: Fluente
    Francês: Fluente

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    I am renovating a 3 bedroom house, a recently decorated bedroom can be made available to. Renovating and gardening can sometimes be a bit dirty and messy, so I can offer some old second hand clothing for those tasks.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    I live 20 minutes by train or 40 minutes by bus from the center of Manchester which has a lot of major attractions.
    Manchester International Airport is 30 minutes by train plus 12 minutes by bus. The Lancashire coast (Liverpool, Southport) is also not far away, by public transport, train or bus being available.
    Before I can make you an offer, I will require you to confirm your identity by sending a copy of a document to my email address, and perhaps a Covid-19 test which may be required in order to fly with an airline.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Ample space for parking a camper van on the road in front of my house, no restrictions.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    1

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (4.8)

Intercâmbio cultural: (4.8)

Comunicação: (4.7)




































Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 249791111391