Help on the land and stay in a peaceful valley in Oleiros in central Portugal

Country

Portugal

Favorito 140 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    27/04/2022

 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 1 semana

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Corga is a farm set in a valley in the centre of Portugal. Fairly remote, but not far from the market town of Oleiros, Castelo Branco. We have lots of terraces to maintain and develop, vegetables to cultivate, and a large amount of woodland to get under control. We have have three friendly dogs, two characterful cats, about 15 chickens and the occasional passing wild boar.

    We experienced a forest fire about two year ago so much of the help needed is management of burnt trees and firewood. We also welcome help doing some decorating in the house, organising it ready for guests next summer and also looking after the animals and chickens.

    Keen cooks are welcome. We are not vegetarian or vegan but will happily accommodate anyone who is.

    Volunteers are asked to help around 5 hours a day, 5 days a week. Accommodation is in the house. Internet is available, and we have lots of books to read - anything from Victorian novels to philosophy and permaculture.

    This area of central Portugal is called the Pinhal Central and is characterised by swathes of pine and eucalyptus trees. It's very hilly and there are many atmospheric abandoned villages set in remote valleys.. (we have one very near us). We are 15 minute's drive from the nearby town of Oleiros, a thriving market town with several restaurants and a couple of shops selling amazing local sheep and goat's cheese and we usually go in about once or twice a week. We can pick up volunteers from there (coaches go to Oleiros from Lisbon and Porto). We are also a short drive from the river Zezere which is delightful to swim in during the summer and autumn.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Projetos artísticos
    Prática de idiomas
    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Cuidar de crianças/atividades criativas
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral

  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    You will be living close to nature in a remote valley in central Portugal in a typical stone Portuguese house plumbed to a spring. Central heating and hot water comes from a wood burning range and solar panels.

    The people in this area typically don't speak much English so you will certainly get a chance to practice your Portuguese!

    We try as much as possible to serve local Portuguese dishes, cheeses and wines. (Though of course we cater for vegetarian and vegan diets too).

  • Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Este projeto pode envolver crianças. Para mais informações, veja aqui nossas diretrizes e dicas.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    We are looking for volunteers to join us and help plant fruit trees and acorns and re-establish the vegetable garden after the fire we had a couple of years ago. Digging up brambles and collecting fire wood would also be very helpful. We also need help with some organisation inside the house and anyone with decorating or other practical skills would also be very welcome.

    We area also looking for people who are willing to help us with small children.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente
    Francês: Iniciante
    Português: Iniciante

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    Portuguese speakers are very welcome!

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    Volunteers stay with us in the house.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    As we are in a hilly area, the weather can be cold in the winter and even in the summer when it can get very hot, jumpers might be needed in the evenings.

    Smokers welcome, but we ask you to only smoke in designated areas due to the summer fire risk and never in the house.

    The house is remote and there is no public transport. We generally only go into town once a week but we can take you in more frequently if needed. You'll need to be self-sufficient and happy with peace and quiet. Your own transport would be useful if you want to explore the surrounding area.

    We have three friendly dogs and two cats who all love to go for walks! There are many local tracks to explore and the nearby river Zezere is great for swimming in.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Any swize of van is fine to park up

  • Pode aceitar animais

    Pode aceitar animais

    This has been possible in the past with dogs but the guest would be responsible for integrating their dog with ours and keeping them separate if necessary.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    5




Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 245253415925