1 / 5

Help at our Manakau Hideaway near Wellington, New Zealand



 Hospedagem min. solicitada: Sem período mínimo



  • Descrição



    My wife Brenda and I own a 1.2ha (3 acre) orchard situated between Levin and Otaki, about one hour by car north of Wellington, on State Highway 1, which is now a two lane "expressway" (German: Autobahn, French: autoroute, Italian: autostrada, Spanish: autovia, US: freeway, GB: M road) all the way from Wellington to Otaki. There is a house on the orchard, where Workawayers can stay. Our permanent home is in Wellington.

    Our main crop is plums, which ripen over a two to three week period every January. This crop is sufficiently large to require 2-3 helpers during this time. We need help with picking, usually on a Friday, for a market on a Saturday.

    My wife and I are in our 70's, and have over the past 20 years hosted numerous exchange students, travellers and volunteers from all around the world. We particularly love hosting German helpers, as our younger daughter lives in Hamburg, and is married with two children. Our elder daughter lives near us in Wellington, and is married with three young children.

    At other times of the year, we can use workawayers for various activities, including pruning, weeding and orchard maintenance.

    There is no public transport to the orchard itself, but I am able to meet and greet at the Otaki or Levin Intercity bus stops near to the orchard. If coming from the South Island, I can meet you at one of the ferry terminals in Wellington.

    We look forward to meeting willing Workawayers.

    Roger and Brenda

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Construção/faça você mesmo
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Manutenção geral
  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    You will meet some real "Kiwis". (The people, not the bird or the fruit!) My wife and I have had a lot of experience hosting people from Europe, Asia and the Americas. We can relate to their needs, and also provide a real Kiwi experience that is not available from just backpacking or being a tourist.

    There are two sandy beaches nearby (Waikawa Beach and Otaki Beach) suitable for swimming and surfing, and beachcombing, during the summer months (December to March) and just walking or exploring for the rest of the year.

    Brenda is into crafts and music, whereas I like sport (chiefly cricket and rugby), geocaching and genealogy. We both like to travel and particularly enjoy “off the tourist track” adventures. I have volunteered for the 2015 Cricket World Cup, the FIFA U20 World Cup in 2015 and the FIFA Women’s World Cup in 2023.

  • Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Este projeto pode envolver crianças. Para mais informações, veja aqui nossas diretrizes e dicas.

  • Ajuda


    Picking plums (January only), weeding, tree trimming/pruning, general orchard maintenance.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente

  • Acomodação


    House at the orchard with own bedroom, if required. We also have space for tents, and campervans. Meals provided while volunteering.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    There are mountain tracks and bush walks within a short drive away. We have a bicycle available for Workawayers to use, and it’s a flat side road to a beach 8km away. As I mentioned above, there is no public transport. There is wi-fi available at the orchard.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Jucy Campers around the size of a Toyota Hiace, and smaller Britz campervans may be ok. Big RV's probably not, although our neighbour may be happy to allow them to park.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 2-3 hours a day, 5 days a week

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 232624197583

Comentário (40)



Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (4.9)

Intercâmbio cultural: (4.9)

Comunicação: (5.0)

Dare to be inspired to become self sufficient on our community educational farm in Waiuku, New Zealand
Help with daily family life in beautiful rural Waipukurau, New Zealand