Help transform an old farm yard and start sustainable agriculture projects in rural Saskatchewan, Canada

Country

Canadá

Favorito 11 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    15/06/2022

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 8 dias

  • Medalhas

 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 1 semana

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    We are a couple in our early 30s and we live on a 22.5 acre farmyard/acreage that has existed since 1903. We only recently moved here and are excited to use it as a hobby farm and to have a more eco-friendly lifestyle. We are wanting to clean up the yard, build fences, and get things ready for a few animals in the future (with the hope of producing our own meat in a sustainable, ethical way). We also want to have a big garden and preserve our food for the winter.

    We have been 'WorkAwayers' ourselves (in Iceland) and really valued the experience of being hosted in someone's home. Due to this, we would like to provide the opportunity for people coming to rural Canada and looking for an authentic experience. Furthermore, we are travellers ourselves and have recently put down roots after 8-12 years of wandering. We have most recently lived in Jordan and highly appreciate Arabic culture and language. We love to learn about other places and experience new stories and food. If you like to cook, this is the place for you!

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Prática de idiomas
    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Manutenção geral

  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    We live in a very rural area of Canada and this in itself is a cultural experience to have! Life works very differently here compared to the big city and there are endless cultural experiences to have, depending on the time of year.

    If you come in the winter, you can experience the ways that we have adapted to the very cold, harsh winters, as well as the beauty of the sun shining on the snow, the absolute silence, and the community that comes with the long winter.

    In the warmer times of the year, you can see how farming works and watch the crops develop and then be harvested. There is also endless camping, hiking, swimming, and exploration to be done in the areas around. We would be happy to introduce you to the local cuisine and ways of doing life.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    We are looking for people who are not afraid to get their hands dirty! Jobs will depend on the time of year, as most projects on our farm can only be done in certain seasons.

    We have a barn and several outbuildings that need to have 100 years of 'stuff' removed, sorted, and brought to the recycling depot or dump.

    In the spring, the garden needs to be prepped for planting, summer will be weeding and tending the garden, and the fall will be harvesting and preserving. All of these steps could use extra hands! If you have any knowledge in any of these areas, we are always open to learn more.

    We would also like to put a fence up around our property, build pens for pigs, horses, and ducks/chickens/geese, and other projects.

    Most of the jobs that need to be done only require a willingness to work and no additional skills. However, skills/knowledge that would be highly valuable are:
    - Carpentry
    - Fencing
    - Training dogs
    - Food preservation
    - Sustainable agriculture know-how

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente
    Árabe: Intermediário
    Alemão: Iniciante
    Espanhol: Iniciante
    Francês: Iniciante

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    We both speak the Leventine dialect of Arabic and would love to have more opportunities to speak it and learn more. Kurtis has dabbled in French, Spanish, and German and would enjoy learning more. Some English ability is ideal, but we are very patient people and willing to be a safe place for you to learn more.

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    We have an extra room in our basement that is fully furnished and has a private bathroom. There is also a sitting area that you are welcome to use.

    For food, you are welcome to join us for our meals. If you stay longer than a few days, then it would be great if you could take on a few meals a week to share with us (we also love trying food from other places!) Breakfast and lunch will be very much 'fend for yourself' and supper/dinner is usually one that we eat together. You can join our rhythm as you wish. We try to grow food and eat as locally as much as possible, as well as eat within the season.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    You will need to be creative about what to do in your time off. There is no public transit in our area and we live 8km from the nearest small village and 15km from the nearest town. We may be able to lend you a vehicle for going into town/you can join us when we go; however, if you are looking for a high level of social engagement or a fast pace of life - this is not the place for you. Introverts, those who want to slow down and experience some peace and quiet, meditative/mindful-types, etc. would find our place a special haven. This would also be an ideal setting if you have other projects that you are working on that need a quiet setting to do, such as writing, reflection, etc.

    You will also need to be fairly self-sufficient and able to be given a task and then figure out the system on your own. Although we may be working alongside you, there will be times where we will both be working. We are also the quiet-types and appreciate people who like to read and who don't need us to entertain them. Although we ARE very friendly and want to get to know you - we still have our life going on and the responsibilities that come with that.

    There is amazing hiking, camping, outdoor exploring about 2 hours north of us, which may be of interest. We may be going on a trip while you are here, which you are welcome to join us on if you like. Saskatoon is the closest city and it is 90 minutes away.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    We have a good wifi connection and can set you up with a desk and privacy in our basement. I also work online, so - depending on what you need - we may need to work around ensuring good internet connection for both of us by working at different times.

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    This would be an ideal set-up, especially as we live away from public transit! You could plug into our house and use our bathroom/shower and other parts of the house as you like.

  • Pode aceitar animais

    Pode aceitar animais

    Yes, although it depends on the type and their personalities. We plan on having chickens and other birds and some dogs are very motivated to kill them. We also have two of our own dogs who are friendly, but your dog would need to also be friendly with them. If you have an animal, you are responsible for keeping them in check and doing what needs to be done to ensure that they don't disrupt the animals. Also, we have a policy of no animals in the house, so they would need to be able to stay outside.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    3-5 hours/day, 5 days a week



Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 223237418358