atualizado  

Busy mixed farm close to the Rocky Mountains, Alberta Canada

  • Favorito 95 vezes
  • Última atividade: 2 abr. 2024

Disponibilidade

  2024 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: Sem período mínimo

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalhes

  • Descrição

    Descrição

    We are located in the beautiful west country just 10km east of Rocky Mountain House, Alberta-- an hour from the stunning Rocky Mountains. Our family consists of myself and my husband Mike as well as our two kids aged 16 and 13. We run Mountain View Ranches-- a mixed farm consisting of cattle and Heritage Breed poultry which we raise and show. We also have two dogs and two cats. My husband and I both work full time, so we are looking for daily help with chores feeding and watering chickens and ducks-- as well as some house hold duties. We raise exhibition quality poultry and much time in the spring is spent caring for chicks and juveniles. For the winter months their care consists of basically keeping them fed, watered and warm enough to be comfortable and to stay in shape for our winter shows.
    In addition to working with the livestock I find that I am always looking for help with maintaining the yard, keeping the lawn mowed (or snow shoveled as the case may be) and things picked up.
    Our family is busy and spends much time running with activities for the kids, and my husband and I also run a comedy theatre group here that takes up much of our time in the winter. We can offer comfortable private accommodation (private bedroom, queen bed) in our home and any helpers would be treated as family. We are looking for someone who is honest and trustworthy with a good sense of humour and a strong work ethic. I would not expect daily duties to take more than 2-3 hours maximum. We have hosted about 12 Work Awayers so far and have had great experiences for the most part.
    We are centrally located between Edmonton and Calgary and also frequently travel to the city for museums, zoos, theatre and other attractions.
    English is spoken in the home, and meal times are not set in stone. We have a fairly loosely set schedule and family our is pretty laid back and not religious although we don't mind if a guest is so inclined.
    As far as Canadian cultural opportunities--they largely depend on the season. We have tried to show our guests around the area, we have seen the Royal Tyrell Museum (Paleontology-dinosaurs), we have shared Canada Day celebrations, rodeos, country fairs, sledding, bonfires, fireworks, horse drawn sleigh rides, Christmas light tours, and trips to the mountains to see the wild horses. We try to fit in activities that we hope our guests will enjoy and find interesting-- or that may be a new experience for them.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Projetos artísticos
    Ensino
    Construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Animal husbandry and pastured/free range poultry is a large part of our lives and much experience in these areas would be gained. We also run a theatre company so anyone interested in live theatre would gain some experience in that area as well. I do stained glass from home when time permits and would be willing to share some of my knowledge in that area. We are fortunate to be centrally located between two major centres, Edmonton and Calgary and are also close to the beautiful west country and the stunning Rocky Mountains and all that they offer.

  • Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Este projeto pode envolver crianças. Para mais informações, veja aqui nossas diretrizes e dicas.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    It is the daily livestock care and meal preparation that I value the most. Experience with poultry and farm livestock, tractors and farm equipment would be an asset. Someone who enjoys cooking or has simple carpentry experience would be most welcome!

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    We can offer a private bedroom with a queen bed. We certainly don't mind a vegetarian guest and would do our best to accommodate their food choices-- however we are meat eaters ourselves.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    We are less than an hour from Red Deer for shopping or other urban activities and two hours from Calgary and Edmonton. We make occasional trips for museums, zoos, theatre and other family activities through out the summer and on weekends. There is opportunity for camping and/or trail riding in the mountains. There are a few lakes close by, historic sites and many local activities such as farmer's markets, rodeos, country fairs and great day hiking trips. We would be willing to drive to and from most of these events, however an international driver's license would be an asset.
    Any guest staying with us would be treated as family and would be expected to help out with whatever chaotic situation we find ourselves in -- so flexibility and a positive outlook would be beneficial. We look forward to meeting someone from another country and learning from their experiences, language and culture as well. We have had around 12 Work Awayers in past years and have had great experiences with them.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    1

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 2-3 hours a day, 5 days a week

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 198211326866

Comentário (9)



Comentário

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (4.4)

Intercâmbio cultural: (4.6)

Comunicação: (4.4)














Help our family with childcare and daily life in Lumby, BC, Canada
Visit our beautiful Island and help us with our homestead on Vancouver Island, BC, Canada