Gardening/decorating help welcome at sustainable singing centre in a fantastic coastal setting in Donegal, Ireland

Country

Irlanda

Favorito 302 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    27/09/2022

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 3 dias

  • Medalhas

    Top Host
 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 2 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    My name is Candy and I get people singing. I have set up and run community choirs for 20 years, getting people to sing in harmony together. My husband Robin has been a builder, and now supports and initiates men's personal development work. Magic happened 6 years ago, and we find ourselves the owners of a small residential centre in the wilds of Donegal. We have converted it to a centre for my work- singing holidays, choir trainings, and it is also a centre for others to use for a range of life enhancing and sustainable activities. The House is wonderfully situated between the Atlantic ocean, with spectacular sandy beaches, and a range of mountains. All bedrooms look out onto Muckish mountain. It is 1 mile from Falcarragh, where there are several shops, and 4 pubs with great music some nights. Perfect centre for surfing, biking, backpacking, hill walking and swimming. The centre sleeps up to 12 with a developing organic garden. The house is renovated, but there is still some gardening and stone wall building to do.

    We invite 2 Workaway volunteers to join us in Spring and Autumn, to help us keep the garden in good order, this year also some house decorating, inside and outside. We specially like hosting volunteers who have some gardening experience, certainly who have an interest in what we are doing, and in learning about organic techniques. You will not be asked to participate in any commercial activity, but if there is singing going on, you would be welcome to join in!
    Obviously this year we have to be careful because of Covid. Volunteers sleep in the centre, and have their own kitchen.

    Originally it was a centre of literary activity for over 20 years with regular visitors including Seamus Heaney. Candy’s focus on using singing to promote change and to build communities resonates with the history of the house.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Manutenção geral

  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Candy has grown organically and with permaculture principles for 35 years, is happy to pass all knowledge on. There will also be occasional harmony singing sessions with groups, which travellers are welcome to join in. No experience necessary, but happiness guaranteed. Lifts to pub music sessions included, but you may have to walk back or get taxi if late. Occasional but regular trips to hike up mountain or to beach, when weather permits.
    We are friendly people, like getting to know our Workawayers, and do our bit to help you have a great time here. We normally share the cooking, and eat together in the evenings. Very happy to help with learning English.

  • Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Este projeto pode envolver crianças. Para mais informações, veja aqui nossas diretrizes e dicas.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    Outside tasks: Heavy work developing the garden- digging, reshaping and building areas of garden, adding soil, weeding, planting. Inside and outside: decorating, DIY.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente
    Francês: Fluente
    Irish: Intermediário
    Italiano: Intermediário
    Alemão: Iniciante
    Espanhol: Iniciante
    Hungarian: Iniciante

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    Este anfitrião indicou que tem interesse em compartilhar seu idioma ou em aprender um novo.
    Entre em contato com ele para obter mais informações.

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    Sunny twin or bunk room, depending on numbers. Shared bathroom.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    The surrounding area boasts spectacular beaches, mountains and wild scenery, several megalithic sites, and pub music sessions. Daily buses from Falcarragh to Dublin, Galway and Belfast. We are thoughtful recyclers, organic gardeners and lovers of quiet. We eat a general whole food diet, fish and occasionally meat, but are flexible about what others eat. We will welcome you for good craic and conversation, as one of the family, and will endeavour to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. In return we ask you to respect our way of life. Loud music, heavy drinking, drugs not welcome.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Este anfitrião pode fornecer espaço para vans.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (5.0)























Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 187568729876