Carpenter wanted, offering fishing and trekking in Norway.

Country

Noruega

Favorito 36 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

    -

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    10/05/2022

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    60.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 18 dias

 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 2 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Hello

    I would like to welcome a carpenter from 25 June to 5th July 2022 to our family farm in Romsdal and the opportunity to spend some time in a beautiful part of Norway while helping us fix up our old farmhouse.

    I was brought up in Scotland and now live in Oslo. Myself and my sister, Olga, spend our summers renovating a small family farm in the mountains.

    The area is popular for trekking and fishing and

    Location:
    Our property lies next to the Rauma river in the Romsdal valley, located just 10 minutes from the famous Troll wall (trollstigen) and half an hour from Andalsnes. The farm is surrounded by stunning views of the steep mountain walls on all sides. The farm is an easy five-hour drive or train journey from Oslo airport.

    Us:
    To give a bit of background, we were brought up in Scotland and speak both English and Norwegian. We have a large and friendly Anglo/Norwegian family who often come to stay at the farm house and help out with projects. We inherited the farm from our Norwegian father who passed away a couple of years ago. Now myself and my sister are trying to do it up slowly but surely to a more modern standard so that family and friends can make use of it.

    The fishing:
    We have fishing rights in the Rauma river, which is just by the house. The Rauma is one of the most famous Norwegian salmon-fishing rivers, popular with British fishermen in the 19th century. After years of closure it is now opening up to be fished again with Salmon returning last year. we hope restrictions on salmon will be lifted this year. Trout fishing is unrestricted. There is also the opportunity to fish in the mountain lakes nearby. The peak season is late July to mid September.

    The hiking:
    We also have some of the best hiking and climbing in the world. There are treks for every level. The most famous is the Romsdalseggen, a much-publicised trek along a steep ridge, considered one if the most scenic treks in Norway, with beautiful views into the valleys and the fjord and the sea.

    Getter here/ location:
    Andalsnes is half an hour away by car and set on the edge of the fjord. It has some shops, a hiking museum, a gondola to a viewpoint that you can also walk to or climb up a rock face. You can take a kayak and paddle board on the fjord. Andalsnes has a train station with services to Oslo and Oslo airport., changing at Dambas.

    The railway:
    The valley is also famous for its railway, many tourist come to take the train ride from Donbas to Andalsnes, which has featured in many tv programmes of the most spectacular railways in the world, it crosses a waterfall and turns round inside the mountain.

    Our farmhouse:
    The house has four bedrooms, a large sitting room, dining room, kitchen, bathroom and cellar. The beds and bedrooms are comfortable, the kitchen and bathroom are ok, but need updating as soon as we can organise this. We have hot water, washing machine, dishwasher etc. We have been finishing the fourth bedroom last summer and now plan to install a bannister on the stairs and panelling in the entrance. T

    Sauna project:
    We have recently been building a sauna just 50m away from the river. We’ve tried to use recycled materials which are easy to find in Norway and it’s got a picture window. So you can take a sauna with amazing views and run into the cold river afterwards to freshen up.

    We would particularly welcome someone or a couple who might like to come each year.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    If you want to get familiar with Norwegian nature and be surrounded by dramatic landscape then this is the place to come. The neighbouring farm still uses traditional farming methods, making hay in the summer for their hayloft. Anyone looking to experience Norwegian mountain life and Norwegian culture should look no further.

    We can help you with your Norwegian or with speaking English.

    We offer a very friendly atmosphere, good food. a place to stay in one of Norway’s most spectacular valleys. We offer endless salmon fishing in one of the best salmon fishing rivers in Norway. We will also be able to do some trekking and take wonderful photos. Depending on timing we can also host you with my sisters amazing home cooked meals.

    The hours will be flexible so you can fit in fishing/trekking.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    We mostly need a skilled carpenter. In Norway the houses are all built of wood, so it’s all about carpentry and we would be so grateful to have your help with this.

    The more skills you have the better. Some of the jobs like panelling are quite easy, but other jobs like the stair bannister require more skill. I’ve purchased a lot of tools and with help from my uncles who are evading at DIY I’ve learnt a lot but would love to have help from someone with more skills than me.

    If bringing a partner without carpentry skills, there are plenty of other projects to help with like decorating, cooking, clearing up the cellar, restoring old things, etc. We would also welcome a someone who is multi skilled at diy and building projects.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente
    Norwegian: Fluente

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    Accommodation is in the house itself. There are three bedrooms of a decent standard and another we are finishing off. We will be able to offer you your own room. Most rooms have two single beds, so if bringing a friend or partner you could share a room. The beds are new and so are the bedclothes.

    The house has a working kitchen, although it isn't state of the art, it works fine and has all the things one needs like fridge, freezer, cooker, oven, microwave, toaster, coffee machine etc....

    There is one shard bathroom.

    The house is of a totally ok standard but we are looking to do it up so obviously needs some work as isn’t 5 star, but it is comfy and enjoyable enough. There is a big sitting room where people can gather. We often have a full house.

    All food will be provided. We are good cooks and provide healthy hearty food. If my sister or my mother ore there they will organise the food and the cooking. Everyone is welcome to help make a meal, but you won’t have to this. If my sister is not there, those happy to help with meals can take turns. Breakfast will be self service and flexible. We tend to all sit down together for an evening meal. Often we sit and have lunch outside under a tree.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    Ideal dates at the moment are : 27 June to mid August.

    We will be arranging more dates soon.

    We would love to find someone who wanted to come every year for a bit of work and bit of holiday.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Lots of space for parking!

  • Pode aceitar animais

    Pode aceitar animais

    Este anfitrião está aberto a aceitar viajantes com animais de estimação.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    4-5 hours a day, 4-5 days a week


Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 163555431397