atualizado  

Northern Ontario Adventures, Canada

  • Canadá
  • Favorito 157 vezes
  • Última atividade: 08/01/2023

Disponibilidade

  2023 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 1 semana

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalhes

  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Hey there, I'm a college instructor (and recently completed my PhD) in Northern Ontario at the home of the Big Nickel in Sudbury, Ontario, which is 400km north of Toronto. Yes, we actually have a giant nickel which you can take a picture with, near one of the largest nickel mines in the world (which is also the site of the Nobel prize winning neutrino observatory, SNOLab. With 150 lakes, hiking and lots to see and do, it's a great place to see nature, fish, hike and explore. There are festivals pretty much every weekend in the downtown or around town. We are Canada's happiest city, and also the most overweight (probably because we have a lot of food related festivals in the summer). There are some very nice places to hang out, and the north offers a lot of places to explore if you like the outdoors. I have been very active on other hosting sites, and one of my guest told me about this site, so I decided to try it out.

    I have a two bedroom house that I bought a few years ago, and with my crazy schedule doing research, writing, and with school, I have been unable to fix it up as much as would like. I have had many renovation projects on the go, from painting, changing doors and windows, putting in flooring, building a new garden, putting up trim, fixing doorknobs, sorting boxes, building a new deck and guest cabin in the back yard. It would be nice to have someone handy undertake projects and move the house along and help around the house organizing the chaos of a million boxes. Somehow as soon as they all get put away, new ones appear. I love to cook, entertain, and hang out with friends. We have a fire going pretty much every night in the summer and guests always coming over. During the summer we have a garden in the back, and lots of room in the terraced backyard for all sorts of projects. There is always something on the go, like finishing the shed we built last year, working with the garden, finding place to put everything, organizing, and lots of small fixing and painting projects.

    I am interested in a lot of things including sci-fi, archaeology, movies, politics and pizza with a dose of technology, religion and philosophy thrown in for good measure. My academic background includes projects in data science and evaluation, technology, sociology, politics and healthcare. In terms of Music, Movies, and Books, It depends on the book and the movie, but I like to keep it fast paced and interesting. I am a big fan of Tom Clancy style books for reading entertainment. I have several thousand books and have read almost all of them. I have come to the point where for the past decade I have been forced to read for my academic work and not always able to read what I enjoy, hopefully this will start to change. I have a wide array of literary and cinema interests, with the exception of anything horror and metal.

    In addition to teaching graduate students in college, I design and teach kids to code and teach classes and tutor in a number of subjects including social sciences, computer science, data analytics, psychology, statistics, and other data related courses like Excel, program evaluation, data visualization, and so on. I have a qualitative background in political science and sociology, and my PhD is focused on computer science, which may mean both sides of my brain are working.

    I also often have fun with baking and cooking with friends who come over to try out new bread and many other foods. I enjoy showing visitors the sights, around town, and often go hiking or out on the lake on an adventure. I like making BBQs, although I am quite often vegetarian, it just depends what is on hand. I eat a lot of eggs for breakfast, but like to mix it up and make it interesting. I enjoy talking about research, data analytics, politics, society, history, and anything really. I look forward to exchanging ideas with you.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Prática de idiomas
    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral
    Ajuda com computadores/internet
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    I think this is a great place to explore nature, meet really interesting people, and learn new skills. I teach data analysis the local college, I would be happy to share what I know in my field of data analytics, I also have a lot of interesting information about different cultures and societies, I can also take travellers to the local museums, a mine tour, the science centre, kayaking, lakes and lots of hiking trails (with a nearby waterfall). There are a lot of interesting things to see and do. One of my recent guests decided to try every poutine in the city (he got up to 18 while he was here).

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    It would be nice to have somebody handy who can do things like carpentry, and painting, and help with the number of projects around the house like working on the flooring and putting together a new living room, helping finish the new deck extension, completing the storage shed, garbage can holder, firewood log storage bin, helping put in new sinks, putting up shelves, build a couple bookshelves, building a pergola on the deck, rebuilding the stairs and other deck parts that need replacing, building a new garden. Even for someone not a builder, there are lots of projects on the go like painting, changing the sinks, organizing boxes, helping set up the house and organizing the ongoing chaos which would be much appreciated. I would like to build some shelves, organize, and fix things up. During the winter we work on indoor projects and try to fix things up one project at a time.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente
    Hebrew: Intermediário

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    Este anfitrião indicou que tem interesse em compartilhar seu idioma ou em aprender um novo.
    Entre em contato com ele para obter mais informações.

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    I have a guest room with double bed and a memory foam mattress which I am told is very comfortable. In the summer of 2019 I will be finishing the guest cabin which will be a second bedroom. I will also cook meals and provide transportation. I have a friendly cat, who mostly stays to herself and a house full of boxes and chaos, but none of the boxes (or the cat) are in the guest room.

    Please note that I sometimes work from home and that means boxes of all types piled to the ceiling on a good day. While the interior of my house sometimes looks more like a warehouse than a home, I keep the guest room clean and tidy, as it is the only place in the house without a stack of boxes or books. Maybe one day I'll actually have a couch, one of my living room goals :)

    Public Transportation Access
    There is a city bus stop right outside, and its a short walk to the downtown.

    Additional Info
    I do not smoke and have a cat. If you smoke, please do it outside and keep it tidy. I keep strictly kosher, which means I would be happy to make you a meal, but don't want my cutlery/dishes/kitchen used under any circumstances unless I explain the system to you.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    There are many interesting things to see and do in Sudbury, we have a big list of activities that we do with guests regularly, from hiking at the nearby waterfall to going kayaking in the lake or touring te town.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    I have a fiber optic internet connection and wifi +/- 80 Mbps down and 70 Mbps up

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 121891987998

Comentário (7)



Comentário

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (5.0)









Help with renovations, gardens, forest (trees) in Laurentides, Quebec, Canada
Help with housekeeping/gardenner/babysitter in Kootenay Bay, BC, Canada