Language and cultural exchange at my off-grid homestead in the Appalachian foothills, Vonore, USA

Country

EUA

atualizado   Última hora

Favorito 91 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    04/08/2022

  • Medalhas

 
Este é um anfitrião de última hora. Eles nos informaram que precisam de ajuda imediata e também para outras datas ao longo do ano.
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 1 semana

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Hello my name is David,
    I am looking for help on my off grid homestead/farm. The Farm is nested on an Appalachian foothill. Most of the 51 acres is wooded, with clearings for the orchard, greenhouse, vineyard and home. Solar and a wood stove power the house. I do have running water (inside even!) Chickens, Pyrenees dogs friends, neighbors, and seasonally my teenage son are around the homestead. Living with Mother Nature is the focus.
    Spring months, the focus is on planting, summer harvesting and some weeding, fall is the busiest with muscadine and fruit tree harvest (persimmon, pear, apple, hazelnut). Wine making is in full swing in the fall. Winter I cut a lot of fire wood and thin the forest. The green house, chicken and dog care are all year round. I also tackle many small construction projects all year round.
    I hike daily in the winter and swim daily in the summer. I love to cook for guest and have guest cook also. Board games, movies, many books and a piano are all rain day activities. I go for coffee and craft beer often.
    I am brand new to Workaway, but maintain 5 star rating with another volunteer website. I like to take time away from the farm to swim in the near by creeks, hike in the smoky mountains, or see bluegrass music. Wine sampling aids in constantly improving the home made wine. Outings in Knoxville, and East TN also include the weekly farm market, coffee shops, and library to name a few.

    Current projects:
    expand solar, replace rain water catchment, prune vineyard, start a covered back deck, tile bathroom, plaster downstairs, move chickens, bathe dog(s), improve hiking trails, wow that's a lot of stuff! I plan to start doing environmental workshops, and yoga classes soon!

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Prática de idiomas
    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral
    Ajuda com computadores/internet

  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Visitor could learn much about Appalachia, homesteading, farming, off grid living, The Smokey Mountain National Park, Fort Loudon State Park, Cherokee National Forest, Lake Loudon, Citico Creek, Sequoia Birth Place Museum, and Knoxville, Tennessee are all close to the farm. Chattanooga is 2 hours away and so is Ashville, NC. I would be up for short road trips also! I also taught ESL, English as a second language, and would be happy to work with others on improving their English. I would also love to learn another language in the process!

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    Some of the task include construction, forestry, planting, watering, harvesting, preserving, cooking and eating! Most of the chore are mourning activities with time for afternoon excursions. Around 25 hours a week of help would be great!

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    Their is a twin bed with linen, heated area in my house. room for 1. One week visits are the norm.

    I like to cook for folks and have guests cook for others. Have some meat, but many vegetarian options. I have even hosted vegans with much success. I love to incorporate food from the farm, some seasonally include pumpkin, sweet potatoes, turmeric, garlic, tomatoes, okra, peppers, and many greens to name a few!

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    Sequoias birthplace museum, local 1700's English Fort, creeks, lakes, Smoky Mountains, music, live shows, Knoxville Tennessee, Sweat lodges, books, movies, Appalachian culture, hike, bike, swim, play with the chickens!

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    You must be able to drive up a hill.

  • Pode aceitar animais

    Pode aceitar animais

    Animals fine, but not in the house.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week



Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 114295727296