1 / 5

Eco-renovation of a cottage near Veules les Roses, France

  • France
  • Enregistré comme favori 72 fois
  • Activité récente: 29 nov. 2023



 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine



  • Description


    Hi every one !

    My girlfriend Alix and I live in Normandy, near Veules les Roses, 5 km from the sea.

    We began the renovation of our 400-year-old cottage last year in 2021. We are not professionnals of eco-construction, but we are curious, we like testing, and sometimes we are helped by real craftsmen.

    Alix began a job of artistic director for a little art festival here in Normandy, and I work as a cider maker since 3 years. As it is still a little cider production, I manage to work for the cottage at the same time (4 or 5 days a week approximatively).

    We began in January 2023 to welcome Workawayers, who could help us on the cottage renovation.
    For the end of the year 2023 and first months of 2024, the different planned tasks are :
    - Coating with earth, straw fibers and lime
    - Cleaning and sanding wood and windows
    - Continuing a "dry hedge" made of branches to protect the house from the wind
    - Making lime joints for old stone walls
    - Lime paintings

    These are not difficult tasks, but the more we are, the most pleasant it is ! We have welcomed around 15 Workawayers for now, and each time this is a very pleasant experience for us.

    We live in a big house that we rent, 12 minutes far from the cottage and 30 minutes far from the cider factory, and we have some empty rooms for you !

    Do not hesitate to contact us for more infos, photos or other.

    See you,

    François & Alix

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Bricolage et construction
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    The aim is to learn together about eco-construction and spend a good time nearby the sea here in Normandy.

  • Aide


    Last summer we made structural work on house (windows / wood structure / stone structure / straw walls ). Now we are more into secondary work : coating, painting, joints, making a hedge...

    I work around 8 hours a day, but obviously volunteers are not asked to help that long, it would be 5 hours a day.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Intermédiaire
    Espagnol: Intermédiaire

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    We like learning more about spanish and english, and we would be glad to teach french.

  • Hébergement


    The house we rent is in the center of a small village, 50 meters far from a little shop. It is a big house, able to welcome around 8 or 10 people, so you'll have your own rooms. (3 more rooms available)
    The cottage is 15 minutes far from the house with a car, and we can provide you some bikes so that you could be independant the rest of the time.
    Concerning the meals, we enjoy sharing the differents meals with the hosts, and we usually cook the meals together.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    The area is the good place for hikings and cyclings along the sea. At the sea you'll find the famous Norman white cliffs (we are 40 minutes far from Etretat, that we could visit if you want so). Rouen is one hour far from here, you could also visit the city if you want.
    You can get here with trains, that could lead you to Yvetot (30 minutes far from the house), and then with a bus (NOMAD 525) from Yvetot to Saint-Valéry-En-Caux (15 minutes far).

    Last little precision, we get the internet with our mobile phones, that we use for connection sharing. It works very well but if we are not in the same location we cannot share our internet (maybe you have yours on your mobile). If needed we have an office with the internet, 50 meters from the house.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    We have an office in which you can work, with a good internet connection. The office is 50m far from the house we rent.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    You can park your campervan in the garden.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    We love pets.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 933425824299

Feedback (3)



Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Help us restore our Lauragaise house with breathtaking views of the Pyrenees, France
Help our family with gardening and kids in Bergerac, France