Help with gardening and DIY in Whangarei, New Zealand



 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine



  • Description


    Hi we are a retired couple who have lived in New Zealand for the past 21 years we came on holidays, fell in love with New Zealand and have been here ever since. We originally come from England and Wales . We have travelled to many parts of the world and enjoy meeting people and hearing about their adventures.
    We live on a small holding of 1.2 hectares with a large garden consisting of ponds, walkways, paddocks, an orchard, greenhouse and veg garden. Our extended family are dogs, cats, alpacas, chickens and ducks, It is essential to like animals. Richard is a chef and loves cooking we both enjoy creating art projects of which we have many in the garden and we enjoy gardening . We would love to share the knowledge and skills we have acquired over the years with people who come to stay and there are always new thing to be learned from meeting new people about their culture and skills they bring with them.
    Our accommodation is within our home and you would be included as part of the family, pitching in with daily tasks, meals general housework, gardening, animal care, and any DIY project we are working on at the time.

    Whangarei is a beautiful area we have museums, galleries the new Hunderwasser Art centre is a sight to behold in itself and the surrounding Town basin is a great place to visit for refreshments and a walk. There are many white sandy beaches on our coast line with fishing and diving being an option at the Poor Knights, the Bay of Islands is only 1 hour north of here. There are also some beautiful bush walks and waterfalls around Whangarei.

    We live in the country where there is no public transport so it is advisable to have your own form of transport.

    We are a No Smoking accommodation

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Projets artistiques
    Bricolage et construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    How to care for dogs, alpacas, chickens and ducks. Gardening skills weeding, pruning, growing plants, vegetables and prepare them for eating. Cooking skills having fun creating art and some DIY skills working together with us. Learning about our surrounding area and seeing some beautiful places.

  • Aide


    We would like help with gardening, general household tasks, cooking, animal care, art and DIY projects

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant

  • Hébergement


    Accommodation is a room in our home with Wifi and internet access it has twin beds so it can be used by friends travelling together or a couple there is a separate bathroom.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Our expectations of people around our home is to treat our home and everyone in it with respect and keep it neat clean and tidy you will be expected to clean up after yourself and join in with general household duties

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Cet hôte a de la place pour les vans.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?


  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 927355369182

Feedback (12)



Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Help with taking care of our eco community land while learning to live in a more natural way in Masterton, New Zealand
Sample life onboard a sailing vessel, helping me on a Schooner in New Zealand