mis à jour  

Help out at a vegan animal sanctuary near the Serra da Estrela National Park, central Portugal

  • Portugal
  • Enregistré comme favori 1135 fois
  • Activité récente: 27 sept. 2023



 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine



  • Description


    Help cleaning animal areas and cleaning and painting the volunteers house. It's physical work and we work 4 hrs a day, 6 days a week. You don't need to be skilled but you do need to be motivated by a want to help improve the animal sanctuary. We have puppies and kittens at the moment and they generate a lot of poop. On days I am away catching street cats for sterilisation I might ask you to help with animal care of the bigger animals but it's rare. After work hrs you are welcome to pet, cuddle walk as many as you like. But that's not in the 4 hr work period.

    I am Annie , i run a registered not for profit Animal Sanctuary. We rescue, rehabilitate and rehome when possible the animals in my care. I live with my partner Adam on a 5 hectare property on the out skirts of Melo, a village in the Serra da Estrela national park in central Portugal. We moved here in 2015 . The Quinta/farm is a place for people to enjoy the area in a vegan, healthy, non toxic atmosphere. You do not have to be a vegan to visit, just whilst you are here we ask you to not bring meat, animal products, alcohol, marijuana or other intoxicants onto the property. We have loads of projects to complete they include, plumbing , fencing the boarder and planting trees, pulling up bracken, cutting back brambles , poo picking, hay turning, fruit picking, herb and flower collection, painting the house, decorating, amongst other stuff, all quite physical work.
    You will be staying in a private room in a house 5 minutes walk from the sanctuary. We stock the kitchen with food (Vegan only) and volunteers make food for themselves or as a group. Emptying bins and keeping up with washing up and keeping the house tidy is a job out of hours. Just generally treating the house with respect. Anyone leaving the house in a mess and not pulling their weight will be asked to leave.
    We have both travelled extensively and have many a tale to tell, we also enjoy listening to our guests tales, thoughts, hopes and dreams. We like to socialise but also appreciate our privacy, so its important that you dont expect us to be around all the time. We are going to try and organise workaways so we have a few people in at a time, as this will allow us to get more work done in a shorter amount of time and make it a more social occasion, again however you may find that its just you, so being able to do jobs alone is important.
    We have a website so if you would like to learn more about the project before applying please email us and we will send you the address.
    At the sanctuary we have up to 20 dogs, 20 cats, 4 horses and 9 pigs. We also run sterilisation days for dogs and cats and raise money through raffles to pay for it. In fact this is such an important part of the work we do. On sterilisation days we receive the animals the day before , load up early morning and then drive to Porto where we can take advantage of cheap prices. We then return with them that evening and keep street animals in our care for the next few days until they are healed enough to be released. On these days there are animals in cages everywhere in the house. I take care of them but you need to be ok with a house full of animals and understand that they are scared and hurting and need to be left in peace.
    On your time off you are welcome to take the dogs for walks. But to be clear this is your personal choice not a job. I walk all the dogs that can be in the morning and most are free on our 5 hectare plot during the day.
    We ask for 5 hrs a day 5 days a week.

    Please bring long trousers that will protect you from the brambles as well as working shoes. It does rain a lot here in the winter and spring so waterproofs are good too, also if you have them working gloves, we have some gloves you can use if you dont have your own. We do not have insurance to cover any injuries you might sustain whilst working here, so please make sure you have your own insurance. We will ask you to sign a disclaimer when you arrive and also expect you to be honest with us about the jobs you are happy or un happy to do. We prefer people to stay for a week and then for both parties to review from there if a longer stay is a good idea. If from day 1 or early on we realise you really are not suited to our project we will drop you back to the nearest bus or train station that can safely take you to your next destination

    Look forward to hearing from you

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Projets artistiques
    Bricolage et construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Be a part of helping to expand our vegan animal shelter. Nice walks in the local area . The chance to be part of foster animal rehabilitation and the chance to visit a wildlife rehabilitation centre close by.

  • Aide


    We have loads of projects to complete they include, plumbing, making an irrigation system, fencing the boarder and planting trees, pulling up bracken, cutting back brambles and maintaining the veggi garden, poo picking, hay turning, fruit picking, herb and flower collection amongst other stuff, all quite physical work. We also have daily tasks which involve cleaning, washing up and we have some art projects.

  • Langues parlées

    Bulgarian: Courant
    Anglais: Courant
    Turc: Intermédiaire
    Allemand: Débutant
    Français: Débutant
    Portugais: Débutant

  • Hébergement


    Private room in a house with wifi, hot showers and electricity.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Things to do in the local area- Lots of walking and cycling opportunities in the National Park, the local municipality holds numerous events around the year. Possibilities to visit the near by towns of Gouveia and Guarda, not to far from salamanca in spain for the weekend off.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    We have good internet connection

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Cet hôte a de la place pour les vans.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Cet hôte a dit qu’il acceptait les personnes voyageant avec un animal.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    We ask for 5 hrs a day 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 827861528924

Feedback (24)



Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (4.5)

Échange culturel: (4.3)

Communication: (4.5)

Help with the house and garden in the Portimão countryside, Portugal
Vivez dans une petite ferme rurale, Alentejo, Portugal