mis à jour   Last minute

Natural building project on a mostly recycled house at the Narara Ecovillage just north of Sydney, NSW Australia

  • Enregistré comme favori 585 fois
  • Activité récente: 20 mai 2024

Disponibilité

  2024 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Pas de minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Infos

  • Description

    Description

    Hello! My name is Benjamin - father of two, physiologist, forager, first time builder

    We are looking for people interested in natural building to help build our family home at the Narara Ecovillage, just an hour north of Sydney on the Central Coast of NSW.

    We are an owner builder project for a unique home primarily using predominantly recycled materials. We have walls made of recycled timber, cob, light-straw-earth and compressed earth bricks. In time there will be earthen floors, cob rocket benches, solar panels, rainwater harvesting and creative carpentry. All our toilets will be composting and we aim to be sustained by only the water which is captured from our roof. Our windows and doors are either recycled or made on site and we will use recycled materials where possible throughout the build. There will be earth tubes and a thermal chimney for passive ventilation and we have designed the home to be as healthy as possible with regards to material choices, EMF's and air quality. All of these aspects you will be able to learn about whilst spending time in our beautiful valley where the Ecovillage is situated.

    The Ecovillage itself is an intergenerational community being developed with environmental, social and economic sustainability in mind and there are often interesting things going on. It's a genuinely peaceful place and most of the site is bushland. We're also surrounded by the Strickland State Forest with some great walks, some tracks for mountain biking and plenty of exploring including an old arboretum with some very special trees. There is a freshwater creek going through interesting layered bush, caves for meditation or contemplation, rocks and boulders to climb, and views all the way to Brisbane Waters from the top.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Bricolage et construction
    Entretien général
    Aide informatique/internet
  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    The Ecovillage is a beautiful, peaceful place with lots to see and do. We're surrounded by forest yet close to 'civilisation'.

    Our members are eclectic and interesting and will be interested in you too. You might be interested about how the village has evolved, what plans we have for the future, and how we make consensus-based decisions. The Village always has things on which you might like to get involved with - you might be interested to see how Sociocracy operates or join in with some plant propogation, permaculture or bush regeneration, we have occasional movie nights, community dinners, talks (perhaps you have something you might like to share?), live music, community yoga, dancing, open days, all sorts of things... the people who tend to get the most 'connected' here are the ones who get involved with village activities but you are free to make what you want of your time here.

    You might be interested in how to build an eco house using a combination of natural and conventional building techniques... I can share with you what I've learnt as an owner builder with regards to building a sustainable and healthy home with budget in mind and within in the parameters of Council and Building Standard beaurocracy; and as a physiologist we've made many design considerations with a mind for healthy living. Our architect and natural builder, Will is occasionally on site as well and is a treasure trove. With potentially you on board and extra hands on deck we can collectively get things done faster whilst keeping good company and learning from each other. I'm sure you've got a lot to share as well!

    I'm also a keen forager - if you're into wildplants, wild food and wild medicine - let us know and we can go for a foraging walk! The site is an old horticultural research station with some interesting plants and we manage the site with organic principles, so it's great for gathering plants.

    There are also some unique and interesting music venues nearby, beaches, bushwalks, ancient sites and places for wild swimming - let us be your personal tourist information guide!

  • Aide

    Aide

    We're building a house and need all the help we can muster! There are big and little tasks, both heavy and light so can adapt depending on your desires and energy. (For 'Help with Computers/Internet see the bottom of this section).

    The project focus changes depending on whose help arrives and how their physical and creative energy can be harnessed. We've had workawayers who come with their own talents and some who are finding their skills where we've learnt together. Your enthusiasm would be your biggest skill - together we can teach/learn what needs to be done.

    Previous workawayers have done creative carpentry, house framing, turning trees/branches into furniture, work with bamboo, lime and clay-sand rendering, cob-walls including bottle walls and sculptured walls, light-stray clay walls, unusual decking, wall building, creative landscaping, restoration of old doors and windows, tiling mosaics, and plenty of other small and large jobs which need doing. Sometimes we've held workshops where we've got a bunch of people in to batch out a big task - think 'party' but building... as we're building with recycled materials there's sometimes a bit of grunt work involved. It's a constantly evolving project.

    We also like to learn from you. Often I have ideas of how things could be done, but i'm open to other ways. As it is such a unique build I'm often inventing it as we're creating it! And we'll make mistakes as we go, which is all part of the learning. We love when people bring their own ideas, passions and music and feel confident to share what they're into.

    Sometimes weekly we will dedicate a session to rehabilitating the garden we've inherited at the rental place we stay in whilst building. We have banana trees and a once-thriving food garden that we are gradually trying to restore to its' former glory. Re 'Help with Computers/Internet': We're also looking for a person skilled in website making who could help put together a website for Carlys new business, help with how to get it seen/listed on search-engines and some instagram tuition.

    We're looking for someone who could exchange approximately 4-5hrs of help with two days off. The daily hours can be mixed up depending on the project and what else you'd like to get out of your stay here. Many people like to work longer days whilst i'm on site and shorter days on the other days - it's up to you. Hours and days negotiable. Arrival days/times of workawayers are important to get right, so that I can share enough on the big building days that I am there which can sometimes include weekends. The days i'm on-site are the days we're looking for help the most - and these change from time to time but we can be clear about when these are for your particular stay. All things are negotiable and if in the moment you think it's been enough we're open to dialogue. Balance is key.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    We can offer simple camping accommodation within the Ecovillage which is on the doorstep of the Forest. It has a bbq, a community built outdoor kitchen and an enclosed common area with kitchen, fridge, tables, etc. There are toilets, hot showers and constant bird chatter. We can take people in vans as well.

    Breakfasts are supplied through the week (let me know what you like, there are cooking facilities). There is coffee, tea and sometimes foraged herbal teas for you as well. Lunch and dinner provided also of course.

    Our dinners are home-cooked and we mix it up whether we drop it down to you to enjoy with other campers or have you at our home with our young family. Sometimes we'll ask you to cook for yourselves on particular nights (we'll get you the ingredients). Depending on who else is around you may find yourself by the campfire, listening to or playing music, drumming, chatting or chilling.

    Whatever your needs are, please let us know how we could help you be comfortable.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    The Ecovillage is surrounded by the Strickland State Forest which has plenty of scope for exploration, but there are plenty of places to go on the Central Coast. The closest beach is about 25 mins away driving, and the train station is about 20 mins walk or a short bike ride. On the Central Coast there are loads of very interesting places, sites, beaches, walks and local venues to explore. Let us know what you are interested in and we can point you in the right direction.

    As an introduction we'd like to hear what your experiences are and what you hope to gain from this exchange. Please also include the dates which you might come for and how long you might stay. Please also mention the word 'rabbits' in your introduction e-mail so I know that you've read this profile.

    You can find some pictures of what we've been up to on insta @naturebuildsnarara

    Sorry, but we cannot accommodate dogs or other pets.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il aimait accueillir les digital nomads.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Cet hôte a de la place pour les vans.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, with 2 days off (flexible, able to mix up bigger and smaller days)

N° de référence hôte : 791423446735

Feedback (18)



Feedback

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

























Help with some gardening and odd jobs in Merton, VIC, Australia
Experience an Aussie island and help me with daily life in Magnetic Island, QLD, Australia