Look after our cats surrounded by nature in the lustrous countryside of Northern Portugal

Country

Portugal

Enregistré comme favori 267 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    17  

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    22.11.2021

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    90.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 2 jours

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2021 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins deux semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We want to demonstrate a way of intentional living in and with nature, in a forest, that is healing both for human as well as ecological communities. To create a rural co-housing, based on eco-construction, with both private houses as well as collective facilities, inside a beautiful diverse forest managed through agroecological practices. We want to show that an alternative to the stress, the pollution and the noise of the city life is possible, comfortable and affordable. And that there's a lot to gain in reducing consumption when the right choices are made!

    We are currently with two; myself (NL), systems thinker, and my partner, Susana (PL) who is mainly occupied with creating permaculture gardens on the land and steering towards self-sufficiency. There is an enormous amount of work ahead of us, but experiencing beauty of a learning process gives us a sense of wholeness.

    Apart from that, we are working with brilliant professionals to make this happen: communication and subsidy experts, translators, architects and natural builders as well as forest designers. When we work, we hurry calmly, following nature's pace but never standing still.

    We have bought a gorgeous 1,5 ha forest land with farmhouse in Silverto, Rubiães, Paredes de Coura where we are working on the land and the house. We have a great number of tasks to be done, employing both hands and minds: forest work, gardening, organising, cooking/cleaning, small construction etc.

    At the moment, we are renovating the farm house to become our community center, we have put a caravan on the land for volunteers and guests and are preparing a yurt for extended stays/rental.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We can offer you incredible natural surroundings, quiet, peace and interesting conversation on a variety of topics, good (mostly vegetarian or vegan) food, walks in nature and many lessons on nature, ecology, sustainability, physics (systems theory, complexity, quantum physics), mathematics, programming, (web)design, forests, yoga, consciousness, art, photography and undoubtedly other things.

    We'll also happily share things about Dutch, Portuguese or Polish culture or exchange wonderful music and travel stories from around the world. Lastly, we've been building quite a book collection relevant to our interests and research leading up to our project, which you are welcome to indulge in.

  • Aide

    Aide

    All we ask of you is to feed and pet two adorable cats (Freddy and Mina) who will be living in and around the caravan where you will be hosted. In addition, we would ask you to regularly air the yurt on the land.

    After an intense spring and summer season, we are taking a 2-week holiday, myself and Susana are taking a well-deserved 2 weeks to travel in Portugal. To give us some peace of mind, we are looking for a single person or a couple who are happy to stay for at least 2 weeks.

    Note that, as we are not asking for much, during our holidays we will not provide food during your stay!
    After November, there is the possibility of engaging more with the project. There is always plenty to do in and around the forest; preparing the yurt on our land for occupation, preparing composts, clearing paths, help setting up water lines.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Hollandais: Courant
    Polonais: Courant
    Portugais: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    We can accommodate a couple or a single traveller in our caravan at the edge of the forest. The caravan has a double bed, some storage space and a table. There is 4G internet and offgrid solar (12V and 230AC) and a (well equipped) small kitchen and a bathroom with sink. Sink works with tanks filled at the nearby fountain, which gushes out (untested) drinking water.

    There is a supermarket, restaurants and café's at 30m by foot/5m by car and more restaurants and shops in the nearby town of Parades de Coura at 15m by car.

    There is a compost toilet in the forest and a shower bag for cleaning yourself on sunnier days.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Preference of tasks
    If you intend to help out, please let me know what (type of) tasks you'd like to do and what specifically attracts you to this project. We want to make you feel valuable and useful, and we also want to get to know you a bit before you'll come! We appreciate it if you could refer to the list of tasks mentioned on our profile.

    Dietary habits
    If you have any particular dietary habits (i.e. low-carb, vegan or allergies) please suggest how we might accommodate you without disrupting the eating and cooking habits of the house (mostly vegetarian with an occasional sausage or cheese).

    Social interaction
    Like you, we are vulnerable human beings, and we like it that way. But we can only be vulnerable if we feel safe. Within a collective, this implies that our preferences are acknowledged, recognised, and that our essential needs, what we cannot do without, are met. Knowing and communicating needs and preferences is difficult, but not having our needs met, violates our personal limits and makes real intimacy impossible.

    If it is obvious for you to adapt your behaviour to those you choose to live around, if they do the same, you are welcome here!

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Our caravan has an offgrid solar system and 4G available. On rainy days, you might have to work from a local bar (30m walk).

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    There is a small parking area on the edge of the forest specifically for (small) campers and folks traveling by car.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    1h< work per day, 7 days a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (4.3)

Échange culturel: (4.3)

Communication: (3.8)















N° de référence hôte : 731699599539