mis à jour  

Help out on a small rural homestead in the beautiful Monadnock region of New Hampshire, USA

  • Enregistré comme favori 600 fois
  • Activité récente: 18 mai 2024

Disponibilité

  2024 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Pas de minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Infos

  • Description

    Description

    3 seasons. April -November, I have openings with private rooms , a Seasonal Outdoor shower, composting toilet and sinks. Chores for learning new skills are preparing bricks for walkways and the hoop house, splitting wood stacking wood, cutting brush, Building and setting up the hives, chicken care, working in the hoop house, gardening, lawn mowing, preparing areas for camping in the woods, everything about compost ,Pulling nails out of repurposed wood that we will be using in the finishing of the walls in buildings, prune and mulch the raspberries, hugelculture, herbal growing and processing. I’m sure there is much more but that gives you an inkling of what you could choose for your learning experiences. All useful skills for living a simple life and living sustainably. One of your three hours days a week. One of your three hours days will be spent on general, maintenance of preparing or painting, trim on buildings.

    I have Rustic rooms. Even a yurt. Everything else is outdoors. One of spaces has no heat. There are places that have woodstoves, but you need to maintain them and collect wood. In the winter I have a private room with a double bed. The temperature in this room stays around 60°. When it is below freezing there is a sink next to this room but you still need to use the composting toilet in an outdoor building. Also you have to be content with your own company.
    Open for volunteers who can clean their area before they leave.
    The homestead will be our platform for meeting and learning and working. And the pond for swimming. The Food is mostly vegan, plenty of whole grains, pasta, fruits and vegetables, tea, water and eggs and canned foods .You will be making your own meals and occasionally I will have a home-cooked meal to share with you. You may bring any of your favorite foods that you would like to supplement my foods with some of these might be coffee, dairy products, meat. There is a 9 o’clock quiet time and a request to play personal music using earbuds, also no drugs alcohol or smoking.

    My small rural solar homestead is in the beautiful Monadnock region of New Hampshire. I have an extensive garden of herbs, flowers and vegetables, chickens, and a wood lot. You can participate in day to day living of a simple life. I have a list of helping experiences and you can choose what you would like to do, or what you would like to learn. You must be self motivated because you’ll often be helping out on your own. Three hours of help a day will leave plenty of time for your own hobby or adventuring.

    What to bring, your ear plugs and buds if you are sensitive to noise or want to listen to audio , a water bottle, your favorite foods if you can’t live without them, Stout shoes that are good for getting dirty , wet and working in, work gloves and weather appropriate clothing, a head bug net for May and June . It gets cold here at night.
    You Will have to figure out your own transportation. There is no easy public transportation to This part of New Hampshire. I can pick you up in Keene New Hampshire at the bus station.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Learn about simple living, gardening, pruning, wood stacking and composting.

    Learn about heating with wood. Experience berry pruning techniques and gardening skills and caring for chickens and bees. This is a hands on learning experience. Live the simple life, quiet and peaceful. Must be able to help independently and take instruction.

  • Aide

    Aide

    Help with cleaning up some forest areas, moving rocks for walls, compost building and moving, cutting wood. Take care of chickens fence building and painting. There are always chores outdoors , so be prepared. Opportunities to learn how to garden, including weeding, compost, no till, and harvesting. One day a week, three hours will be spent prepping for painting and painting, trim for upkeep of the buildings.
    I work often as the town librarian. So I am often out and you would have time on your own. You may make your schedule.
    We have light carpentry projects which you may help on depending on where we are with them. Also redistributing of wood piles, compost piles, dirt piles, rocks In the spring, summer and fall I have wood to stack for the winter, gardening, berry picking and pruning, turning compost, small painting jobs, brush clearing and help with processing herbs and vegetables.Bees and chickens and the occasional guest dogs need easy care too.Also preparing new areas for use by removing trees , roots , debris and rocks. If anyone is handy, they could build more cold frames. Hugelculture and herbal growing and processing and fence building including wattle fences. I need 3 hours a day or 21 hours a week. You may make your own schedule. Helping more one day to have another off. I do short stays of a week up to a month. If you would like me to work with you while learning a task you can schedule a two hour slot between 9 AM and 11 AM. On certain days.
    A note on the country biome : testing positive for dust, mice, squirrels, chipmunks, dirt, bugs, wild animals including bears, raccoon, coyotes, moose, otter, deer and bobcats.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Accommodation : The rooms have one bed , and the use of a cot for two people. They can be used for one person or two people traveling together. You will have a private room but will share other facilities. The other facilities are all outdoors. This includes the outdoor shower and outdoor sinks with hot and cold water. (The outdoor water facilities are drained once the weather starts freezing And then I have one room that has an indoor sink and simple kitchen) It is simple living here. We do not heat any of our out buildings unless you find wood for your wood stove. There is van camping. The food is mostly vegan. .Water and tea to drink. You may bring other food if you would like. You will be preparing your own meals from the garden and from basic foods that I will supply. Oatmeal, pasta, sauce, tea, spices, beans, rice and other grains , Vegetables, fruits. Canned food. Pets are welcome when staying in the barn or a van, with the awareness that free range chickens are in the yard and that your pet will stay in your space.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    There is a 9 PM quiet time and a no partying rule. You will have to have your own transport, unless you want to hike, swim, and go to the library, which are all within walking distance. There is no public transportation. This area is about nature And the outdoors. Also you will have to figure out how to get here . with planning, I can pick you up in Keene New Hampshire at the bus station.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Speeds download 6.61 Mbps, upload .98 mbps

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Large Space behind the garage for the van and maybe a small motor Rv (up to 30 feet)

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    You may have a pet if you are not staying in the house. Free range chickens on property

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    3 HOURS A DAY/ MAKE YOUR OWN SCHEDULE. (25 maximum)

N° de référence hôte : 694761579642

Feedback (39)



Feedback

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (4.9)

Communication: (5.0)


















































Jardin-forêt conçu en permaculture dans la vallée du Hudson, New York, USA
Learn how to transform an old camper into a beautiful tiny house and.....paddle and camp in Minnesota, USA