Gardening and computer help in coastal village near Lisbon, Portugal

Country

Portugal

Enregistré comme favori 531 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    03.03.2021

  • paid opportunity

    Offre rémunérée

     

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2021 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins 1 semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Whatsup guys! I'm an English guy setting up a house office project in a coastal village about an hour from Lisbon. We are 15 minutes walk from beautiful world class surfing beaches. The big idea is to link with a small community of digital nomads, remote workers, freelancers etc to our place and build a little community organically into something really special, i.e. a small hub for international people who don't want to be in a big city, but want to be near the ocean and part of a like minded friendly community.

    Everyone here works from their computer and the vibe is super chilled. We may entertain ourselves, or eat or go surf together. Sometimes kite boarding. I drive to wherever the surf is pumping most days and manage my other work around this.

    In the current house we have a mezzanine area, wooden ceilings, wood burner and a conservatory with lots of natural light for co working. The yard is full of plants to give a botanical vibe and is a great place to chill and hang in the sun. We're hoping to access a new building soon, so there will be some work to make that space nice too, but mainly aesthetic. This new place will have a pool and very nice place to live/hangout/co-work .

    With this space comes the expectation of 4 hours work on your part, including a steady stream of house chores, internet stuff (bookings/social media), maybe welcoming guests and a trip to the beach, rounded off with a fire and movie night.

    My aim with workaway is to start small with two weeks and see how it goes. There is the opportunity, potentially that this could be more of a longer term gig with some paid work but we'd have to see how it goes. Please let us know if that is a possibility for you,

    March 2019 Update:

    So we've got the project to a certain stage where we probably don't need short term help for the time being. Sorry if you've written to us and I haven't responded yet (have been overloaded and haven't had time to work through all of the requests yet!). Hopefully I'll get round to responding soon.

    So to further the above, I think what this project will need in the upcoming months (May to Sept) is a single person (sorry it gets a little crowed with couples and the apartments are now rented), who is energetic, responsible and positive. Ideally a people person, who doesn't mind a steady amount of cooking and cleaning (nothing major, it's just quite a small space so it needs keeping on top of). Once we get the new place, the duty will extend to that one too.

    Outside of the day to day up keeping work, the rest of the work will be varied and will depend on whats happening at the time. It could be welcoming guests or helping kit out the new place, or do some maintenance work such as painting/fixing things and building the odd thing. Other times it will be managing the bookings, social media and getting new content, tasks like that.
    Up until July this would be relaxed casual work but in summer (if the project works well) it might take more, and in which case we will offer some payment for the extra time.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Entretien général
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Projets artistiques
    Aide informatique / avec Internet

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    This village is a very Portuguese place and the local community spirit is strong. The locals are very friendly and happy to talk providing you can speak a little Portuguese. We can introduce you to the local surf culture here and take you to the main spots. There is a fishing and farming industry here and we can show you the hidden local fishing spots in addition to the best local restaurants to try the local cuisine such a Bacalau or Octopus Salad. If you are interesting in Portuguese classes, I can recommend my teacher to you (she may have time to teach). There is also yoga, functional and Apnea training with a Portuguese instructor who grew up here and loves to share and inform.

  • L’hôte offre un salaire correspondant au salaire minimum

    L’hôte offre un salaire correspondant au salaire minimum

    Cet hôte offre l'hébergement et une rémunération.

    L’hôte a indiqué qu'il paierait au moins le salaire horaire minimum de son pays pour chaque heure travaillée et que l’hébergement serait fourni. Il demande de l'aide dans le cadre de son entreprise ou activité professionnelle. Contactez l'hôte directement via la messagerie du site pour en savoir plus et avoir des détails sur le salaire proposé. Tous les arrangements devraient être conclus à l'avance avec votre hôte.

  • Aide

    Aide

    Firstly there is a level of day to day housekeeping that needs keeping on top off. Keeping the spaces clean for any guest we might have and ourselves. Depending on where we are at, this would likely be between 1 and 2 hours a day of your time.

    For the other 2 hours, we'd usually have a list of tasks for the week such as social media updates (Someone who can write to a good standard (English of course but Spanish or German would be useful to) and knows their way around a camera), content generating, maintenance, DIY, shopping runs, laundry. We would draw up a weekly task list probably expecting around 15 - 20 hours of help a week with a nice variety of tasks so it's not monotonous in any way.

    As long as you give us 4 hours a day of your time (and keep things tidy over the weekend), keep a good vibe going and we'll all be super happy I'm sure :-).

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    You will be given your own private room depending on what is available (paying guests get the best rooms, but if they are free you're welcome to them) ;-). We will provide a evening meals during the week we can share the cooking via rotor. We will provide food for dinner, so you just need to sort out lunch/breakfast for yourself (food is pretty cheap here). Weekly shopping runs to Lidl or the local village 2 mins away for basics.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    You can surf of course, or go kiting, walks on the nearby cliffs of beach, visit local attractions such as the historic towns of Obidos, Peniche or even Caldas which has things such as Cinemas etc. Lisbon is just an hour drive for those wanting a little more life on the weekends. There is a nearby eco resort that runs classes with Yoga, pilates etc that you are welcome to join us or attend by yourself (it's not expensive).

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week







N° de référence hôte : 588728923841