Lifestyle block stay just out of Tauranga dedicated to sustainability and self sufficiency, Bay of Plenty NZ

Country

Nouvelle-Zélande

mis à jour  

Enregistré comme favori 85 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    26.11.2022

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    90.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 5 jours

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Une semaine ou moins

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We have a lifestyle block 20 minutes out of Tauranga, dedicated to sustainability and self-sufficiency with sheep, chickens, and a dog, Voddy,
    There is no access by public transport, but we can arrange to pick you up from Tauranga.
    We are hobby fruit wine makers, not commercial in any way, and can teach wine making skills, mostly in autumn, as well as share our experiences in organic gardening, vegetable and fruit preservation, bottling, and drying as well as turning fruit, sugar and water into wine, it's not a miracle, just time-consuming work :-).
    To introduce ourselves we are an out and proud gay couple, who celebrated 20 years together in August 2019.
    Formally, Colin Hewens (Col) and Stephen Richardson (Steve). We have both traveled to many places and received great hospitality. We see being Workaway hosts as our payback.

    UPDATE NOV 2022,
    Last Christmas Col's hip started to deteriorate, and he is now virtually house bound on a Walker, this means we have even more need for helpers from Workaway, It is getting too tough for Steve to manage the 0,86 Ha section alone, and without a steady supply of workawayers we will have to sell and get a smaller place,

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Pratique d’une langue
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Compagnie pour pers. âgée
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
    Aide informatique / avec Internet

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Permaculture principles, organic gardening and wine making. Pest eradication from NZ forests, we have been involved with a 300 Ha pest free zone in the Kaimai, low carbon living.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    Whatever season, we are busy clearing gardens and prepare for the next season, as well as ocassionally making fruit wines, and bottling it, which is a non comercial hobby activity.
    We need a couple of strong young guys to help us in the firewood block, where we usually have felled gums to cut into rounds and stack to dry for the next winter's heating.

    The property is one of the better examples of self sufficiency you will have the opportunity to visit in NZ. Some nice worm farms have been re-constructed, solar PV panels and an electric car. You will be able to help with some weeding and tending the animals and small projects.
    Also we are involved in organising a 300 Ha pest free zone in the Kaimai Mamaku State Forest Park, so you get an insiders view on possum, stoat and rat control up the end of the road.

    We live simply, majoring in low carbon and a gentle footprint on earth. We mostly eat home grown produce. We are dairy free, but make our own Oat/almond milk.
    We love making new international friends from Workaway. However due to NZ laws we insist that you have a working holiday visa, as if you have an accident (God forbid) while working with us, and needed medical attention we would all be in deep trouble, as you would have to pay for it, and we would be in trouble with the Labour Department.

    If the weather is good, there is lots of interesting stuff to help us with.
    Please get in touch, when you have read our whole posting. There is a gap NOW.
    In summer, we have so many requests we are sorry to have to turn down so many great people. It is best to book at least a month in advance if you would like to stay with us.
    When you send us a request, you should use our names, then we know you have read our profile. We prefer two workers at a time.
    There is no access by public transport.
    We can teach wine making skills, mostly in autumn, as well as share our experiences in gardening, vegetable and fruit preservation, bottling, and drying as well as turning fruit, sugar and water into wine.
    We hope you will have a choice of tasks to do for a minimum of four to five hours daily, in return for full board and homemade wine. :-) We like to have simple projects, such as a new chicken room, berry cage or sheep shelter so you have a sense of accomplishment. Then there's always weeding :-)
    Food wise we can do vegetarian, vegan [with help] as well as home reared omnivorous catering. To sleep, you may have the spare double bedroom, or a pop-top camper outside or couch according to availability. We have broadband.
    When you apply, mention Dogwood Green to show you read to the end :-) Bonus points

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Intermédiaire
    Maori: Intermédiaire
    Thai: Intermédiaire

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Double bedroom for couples.
    We also have an outside pop top camper for summer stays. A tad fresh in winter.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We are a long way from public transport, so you really need your own vehicle, although there is a good swimming hole and 40 hectare patch of virgin NZ bush [forest] both within easy walking distance. We will also take good workers for local trips to beach and areas of interest.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (4.7)

Communication: (5.0)






N° de référence hôte : 567614533279