Old Andalusian farmhouse restoration project, off-grid in the hills - Spain

Country

Espagne

Enregistré comme favori 165 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    24.01.2021

  • Badges

 
  2021 

 Séjour min. souhaité : 1 mois ou plus

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    UPDATE Dec 2020:

    We are looking for someone or a couple, or potentially 2 couples or a family, to housesit our farmhouse from 28/29/30th Dec until 1st March 2020. Must have their own transport and ability to move around as there won’t be any functioning cars at the house then. Ideally would be the same people at the house for the full period. We are going over to the UK to have our second baby so need someone really responsible and hands on as will be really hard for us to fly back. Responsibilities as follows:

    - look after our 3 dogs and chickens!
    - maintain garden, water plants etc.
    - work through list of odd jobs, few hours a day Monday to Friday, (painting, gardening etc)

    Will stack the house full of food and leave everything needed, including some wine and beers etc.

    Need someone responsible, proactive and sensible, if left unattended the house doesn’t do well so definitely needs hands on countryside people! There will be rain in this period and we need to make sure we catch every drop so we can keep it green in the summer. Please drop me a message if interested, we are 10 minutes from town, 20/25 mins from sotogrande, and especially in winter it’s a great place to be as it becomes so lush and green. Theres log burners in a couple of the rooms also for any cold days/nights. Families could do it but it’s not 100% child safe, a few steep edges etc, drop me a message for more info.

    Please only write to us if you can stay for the whole period mentioned or at least a majority chunk, thank you!

    ___________________

    Hi there,

    Two years ago we bought an old but beautiful ruin of a farmhouse in the Andalucian hills, we are completely off grid and have spent the past 2 years restoring the buildings and the land. While we are only 10 minutes from towns, it feels like you’re in the middle of nowhere as we don’t have a neighbor and have incredible 360 views of the valleys all around us. We are extremely lucky to have this beautiful old historic piece of land, 50 acres in total, especially during the Covid crisis as we are in total isolation. We run of solar and batteries, soon to have wind also installed and are also restoring the old lake and well on the land. We are looking for those wanting to come out to the hills and help us build our external areas ready for the summer ahead currently!

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Learn about how we are restoring the building and land using mostly very traditional techniques teamed with modern techniques for our energy and water. Solar, Batteries and almost wind are all in use and we are currently learning about how to restore a 500 year old Hera on the land. Lots to learn about water management, we are on top of a hill where when it rains, it really rains, as well as traditional and modern building and construction techniques.

  • Aide

    Aide

    Anyone who is able to come and give a helping hand to work on this restoration project will be welcomed warmly into our family!

    Ideally we are looking for someone who will be able to stay in the house and help out with the following:

    - traditional terra-cotta tiling of the courtyard - we can teach you how to do it with us, quite easy!
    - building sandstone walls - good jigsaw players tend to be good at this..!
    - cooking and occasional baby sitting of our 18 month year old

    We work in Asia normally so have early starts in the mornings here in Spain until about 1pm, and then do farm/house restoration work in the Afternoons. We have a deadline for the outside area to be done by June 13th so need some extra hands to come and help us get it sorted if you are willing.

    We are super hard workers, who always like to have a good time at the same time. We don’t like to have lazy people here, we want people who are enthusiastic passionate and want to fill their time with experience and laughter, keen gardeners are always welcome as we are starting to build the long term garden dream here, we love to have a drink and a party at the end of the day, sometimes in the middle, but just want proactive, helpful and hardworking people and in return we can provide you with an incredible safe setting in a super interesting eco off grid restoration.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    English: Courant
    Spanish: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    We have a small guest house with three bedroom bathrooms for people coming to stay. There is Fast WiFi accessibility, limited water supply (people who need two long showers a day aren’t ideal!!), the main house has a sitting room, bathroom, sitting area and dining area, the kitchen is always fully stocked, Nats a great cook but we don’t always have the time so it’s great to have couples who love cooking also. We have a veg garden with enough potatoes for 250 guests who were supposed to attend our wedding in June (Covid cancellation!), plus beetroot, beans, carrots, salads, tomatoes galore.

    We are 5 minutes drive to Manilva village, 10 minutes to secadero. Always happy to give lifts around!

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    While it seems we are super remote, not being able to see another house or person from the farm, we are actually only 10 minutes drive from Secadero or Manilva. Sotogrande is only 25 minutes away, Gibraltar in 35 mins and Tarifa is 50 mins.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    We have great wifi.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Welcome to come with campervans and motorhomes but our track isnt great and after any heavy rain, it could be an issue getting them out!

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Potentially

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



N° de référence hôte : 563727633611