mis à jour  

Rejoignez-nous dans le sud-ouest du Colorado et épaulez-nous pour plusieurs projets, USA

  • États-Unis
  • Enregistré comme favori 206 fois
  • Activité récente: 13.01.2023

Disponibilité

  2023 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Infos

  • Description

    Description

    We are retired and fully vaccinated against covid. Danny is originally from this area; Shirley is from England. We own a property of just over 3 acres in a very small rural town in the Rocky Mountains of SW Colorado. We have a dog, Wally, who is a friendly, happy youngster with lots of energy. He loves attention! We take him out for an off-leash hike every day.
    We have 11 ducks (for eggs). They happily splash in the pond and roam the pasture, occupying themselves with duck activities during the day. They are very entertaining: if the weather is nice, a pleasant time can be had sitting outside to read a book while watching their antics.
    We hope to have three lambs on the pasture from the spring of 2023.

    Important note: to get here, you will need a car. The nearest towns of any size (both of which have public transport terminals and car rental companies) are about 100 miles away. Most of our local shops and facilities are within walking distance, but there is no public transport available here for going further afield, and no car rental.

    We prefer workaway stints of 1 to 3 weeks, as we have found that we like to concentrate our energy into getting a number of tasks accomplished, and then we like to take a break.

    We are happy to host single people or couples, but we don't have the accommodation for children.
    Due to having our own pet, we are not able to accommodate yours if they are travelling with you.

    Although we don't have the amenities of a big town, the area is one of outstanding beauty with huge expanses of public land available for outdoor recreation. We sometimes take a picnic lunch and go off hiking and exploring with Wally for the day. There are also a number of marked cycling and walking trails nearby.

    We are pretty relaxed down-to-earth people, broad-minded, and love the quiet and calm of living in a remote rural area. We don't smoke and we drink socially. If you smoke, that's OK, but you will have to do it outside.
    We enjoy spending time and sharing our lives with people from around the world.

    Shirley is known for her cooking and baking, and we will provide you with plenty of good, home-cooked food! We have a vegetable garden and we have recently planted a small fruit orchard. We eat meat (some of which is locally reared), but we are able to cater for vegetarian diets for short stays of about a week (any longer, and there might be meal repetition!)

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Workawayers will experience what it's like to live in a small rural town at a considerable distance from any major stores (the closest town of any size is a drive of nearly 100 miles / 160 km); how our community differs from and how we manage without the conveniences and the organisation of urban areas; and learn about the wider area in which we live (the open spaces of public land, wildlife, etc) as, weather permitting, we go out for hikes in the locality.
    On the practical side, there are various skills that can be learned or improved upon, depending on the time of year and the projects undertaken. Workawayers can learn about vegetable gardening without pesticides or herbicides; irrigation; how to preserve excess produce for later use, including organising and rotating pantry/freezer stocks; how to build a fence; basic woodwork; animal care (dog, ducks and/or sheep); housepainting; cooking and baking.

  • Aide

    Aide

    1. Help needed in 2023:

    General:
    - to maintain the garden through the season (including harvesting and preserving the produce later in the year).
    - Fencing: to remove and then re-site the fence around the dog yard; to help repair existing fences, if needed, around the property.
    - Ducks: to assist generally with our small flock.
    - construct a new sheephouse;
    - construct an addition and/or make improvements to the duckhouse;
    - build a shed for a small camper;
    - construct a compost bin;
    - finish work to a newly constructed cupboard;
    - dog walking;
    - house cleaning and organising;
    - keep the ditch in the pasture cleared;
    - grass mowing & raking;
    - interior painting;
    - general house, pasture, and yard maintenance.

    You can learn more about:
    - how to grow vegetables without pesticides or insecticides;
    - how to preserve produce;
    - how to build fence, including the use of fencing tools and techniques;
    - all about ducks!;
    - basic carpentry and interior painting skills;
    - cooking and baking.

    We are not necessarily looking for someone with particular skills - although we would welcome that! - but a willingness to assist with a variety of tasks is essential, as is an ability to do things from time to time without close supervision. Hours will vary from day to day, depending on what's being done.

    Please be aware that at this altitude the sun can be intense and, as most of the help we need is outdoors during the warmer months, you will need sunscreen and a hat with good protection (we can provide both if needed). Rubber boots would be a good idea.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    We're ready to help you to improve your English!

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    You will have your own private room (our guest room) which has a double bed, and almost exclusive use of the separate shower room. Our house is comfortable, with cooling in the summer and heating in the winter.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    You will need to have your own transport: the nearest towns of any size are both about 100 miles away; local shops and facilities are within walking distance, but there is no public transport for going further afield, and no car rental.
    We can include Workawayers on any hikes we take, and trips to places of interest in the area.
    We are 1.5 - 2 hours drive from Telluride ski resort and from Moab (Utah) which is the center for outdoor recreation.
    The Visitor Center (5 miles away) provides an excellent service for anyone interested in finding out more about the local area.
    Three National Parks are each within 2.5 hours drive: Canyonlands, Arches and Mesa Verde.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    We have good wifi. We have hosted digital nomads, and are able to accommodate online schedules with no problems. We don't work from home, so our online needs are flexible.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    We have plenty of space! There is an electrical supply, fresh water from a standpipe, and access to the sewer for waste water.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 25 hours a week.

N° de référence hôte : 547899717457

Feedback (25)



Photos

Feedback

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (4.9)

Communication: (5.0)



























Help with gardening while exploring beaches and trails in Wheeler, USA
Grand bol d'air frais dans le Kentucky aux USA - une famille de 5 vous accueille les bras ouverts !