Join our family and help with our daughter near Egilsstadir, East Iceland



Enregistré comme favori 54 fois

  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Activité récente


  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    88.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 4 jours

  • Badges


 Séjour min. souhaité : Un mois ou plus

  • Description


    **all roles for 2022 (march-oktober) are full**

    Hello dear workaway :) We are a family of three. A couple in our thirtes and a 3 year old daughter. We live in a farm in the east side of Iceland, 36 km away from Egilsstadir. In our farm we have around 500 sheeps and 4 shepherd dogs. The female in the househould is a registered social worker (Freyja), working in child protection with the social services in Egilsstadir. The male in the household´s main job is farming ( Bergþór) . Our 2yo (Hólmfríður) attends kindergarden every weekday from 8-15, while the mom is working with the social services. Freyja is allso on standby 24/7 one week pr. month on her social work job.
    Surrounding our farm, are mountains, and a river runs next to our property. There are opportunitys to hike all around us, and we own a lake in our land where it is possible to fish.
    In Egilsstadir, there are grocarie stores, café, swimming pool, gym and other most basic services needed for everyday living. It takes around 30 minutes to drive to Egilsstadir.

    We have positions in two periods in the spring / summer.
    We would prefer a workaway to stay with us from the middle of april until the middle of - or end of june.
    And another position we have is from beginning of july until end of september.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    In our farm you would be experiencing farming in an Icelandic sheapsfarm and have a lot of opportunities to enjoy nature in a peacefull surrounding. There are many waterfalls in the area. In the east part of Iceland there are a few small towns / villages that are interesting to visit. In one of them, there are puffins during the summer months.

  • Aide


    Helping around the house, household cleaning, babysitting, walking our dogs, general maintainance and such, possibly cooking.

    To have someone that’s confident with children and can look after our daughter if we are outside working at the farm is important. That is the main help that we need right now.

    Longer stays are prefered (2-3 months at a time), but it's not a dealbreaker if it's not an option.

    The hours pr. day where help is needed is different, depending on the seasonal projects (how busy the parents are on farming work);
    - In may, there is lambing season, where there will be a lot of help needed with our daughter and chores (sutch as cooking / keeping the kitchen clean / maybe laundry). Both spouses will be working at home in may, but the 3yo might attend kindergarden, we would ask our workaway to drive her there and pick her up again. Driving to Egilsstadir takes around 30 minutes each way.
    - In june we let our sheeps up to the mountains ( still help needed with our daughter and light housework, but less intense than in may).
    - In july and august we gather hay for our sheeps for winter and one spouse works outside the household. Our daughter has a few weeks time off kindergarden and help is needed with her when the weather is good and we are gathering hay.
    - In september and october we gather the sheeps from the mountains, and bring them back home. We will need help with babysitting, housework and cooking in that period.

    When there is time off from lambing season, hay gathering and sheep gathering we will try to do some renovations / maintenance on our house and ask our workaway for assistance with the renovations, if the person in question is interested in that as well :)

    Drivers licence is nessasary!

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Icelandic: Courant
    Danish: Intermédiaire

  • Hébergement


    We live in a 5 bedroom house. Our workaway will have a private bedroom. There is only one bathroom in the house. We will provide all the meals for our workaway, and offer shared meals with the family. We have internet, washer/drier bathtub and a shower, TV and Netflix. All general toiletries are provided. Just as a note we mostly cook and eat meat products, many of which we make ourselves (lamb/sheep meat).

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We have a car our workaway will have access to. There are buses that go back and forth from Egilsstaðir to most parts of Iceland. It is allso possible to fly from Reykjavík to Egilsstaðir, and we could pick you up from there.

    Only the male of the household smokes, and only outside of the house.
    Our schedule, and there for hours that we need assistance from our workaway is different regarding witch farming projects are in each season ( how busy we are). Please feel free to ask us any questions you might have.
    We reccomend google-ing Seydisfjordur, Reydarfjordur, Egilsstadir, Borgarfjordur eystri to see more about the small towns / villages close by. We allso have Vök baths close to Egilsstadir (google Vök baths).
    There is a gym and a swimming pool in Egilsstaðir.
    We own a treadmill that you are free to use if you like :)

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Cet hôte a de la place pour les vans.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?


  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    1-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

N° de référence hôte : 464495824929