Join my mountainside smallholding in Rondane, Norway

Country

Norvège

Enregistré comme favori 27 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    08.05.2021

 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am a woman in my sixties living on a smallholding, in a mountain area in the southern part of Norway. I am a teacher and work at the local school. My husband and I moved here five years ago as we handed our farm over to our son and his family. My “old” farm is just about two kilometers away. My husband died last year, so I live here alone.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Entretien général

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Apart from enjoying nature, you will be welcome to go fishing in the lake. If you are interested in learning the language, I have also been working as a teacher for adult Norwegian learners, so I can help you there. If you enjoy hiking, I will be able to show you good tracks and routes and give you some advice if you need them. All in all, this is a good place for someone who enjoys being outdoors, by the river or the lake, in the mountains or in the forest, and, hopefully, for my sake, also enjoys working outdoors.

  • Aide

    Aide

    What I need help for is general maintenance and fixing, like fences and posts, clearing up in outhouses and help with the firewood. The last owner here was a carpenter, and there are materials absolutely in all houses, along with much else, and as there are twelve houses altogether, there is more to clear up and maintain than I can manage alone. That also means that I need someone handy, self-going and strong.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Norwegian: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    You will have a cabin of your own at the farm. There is electricity in the cabin but no running water. The cabin is a small timber lodge, used as a cooking house in the old days, and is quite cozy. The cabin has two rooms. There is a small entry with a gas cooker, a fridge and a small cupboard with a work top, and a combined bed- and sitting room. There is a privy belonging to the cabin, but you can also use the bathroom in my house and of course the shower. I expect you to cook your own meals in the cabin with the food provided. When it comes to the relation between me as a host and you as a workawayer, I expect you to be independent and self-going. I do not need a companion to chat with but a handyman or -woman who is self-sustainable. When that is underlined, I must also say that I have had great joy in talking with people from all over the world who have been workawayers at my son’s place and have had the pleasure of inviting them for dinner at many occasions. I expect the same with you!

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    My place is situated quite beautifully beside a lake, and lies alone in the forest with no close neighbors. There are excellent possibilities for fishing, canoeing and hiking. People coming to this area usually are astonished by the beauty of the nature. We have an excellent river for fishing running through, and a quite big lake, eight km long, which is also visited throughout the year by fishers. One of the most famous mountain areas in Norway, Rondane, lies close by and is easily accessible. There is a grocery shop approx. 1 km down the road and a small café 2 km in the other direction. Banks, post offices and other kinds of shops are 40 km away. We go there once in a while, but you will understand that shopping and city life is not our primary leisure interest.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


N° de référence hôte : 491214156937