1 / 3

Help on my organic farmstay in Chefchaouen, Morocco

  • Enregistré comme favori 31 fois
  • Activité récente: 17 juil. 2024

Disponibilité

  2024 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins un mois

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Infos

  • Description

    Description

    My name is Paul and I have been developing our permaculture farm stay project for several years. I have been working for UNICEF and many INGOs (OXFAM, SCF UK, British Red Cross etc) as a public health worker for many years as well as developing this project. The aim of my project is to use agro tourism to model permaculture and climate change adaptation techniques to the village within which I live and perhaps further.

    I'm English but speak several other languages imperfectly (French, Spanish, Portuguese and Deriga), with various degrees of confidence. I have a son, after whom the farm is named and who currently lives in UK. Also living with me are 2 dogs, a cat, 3 goats, several chickens and soon to be, a donkey.

    The project is a Farm stay with 7 rooms, plus a private house with 2 bedrooms and we are just about to open to the public and I hope that you will help me to begin this journey. We are trying to grow all of our own organic food and practice a "Farm to Fork" vegetarian/vegan middle eastern/north African cuisine. Our focus is upon learning by doing, whether that is in the garden, the kitchen or on the world wide web!

    At the time of writing (March 2004) we have 3 workers in our gardens and building. We're hoping to open this Easter when we'll be employing a local cook and cleaner.

    I can only say that our project is beautiful and surrounded by the beauty of nature. We have mountains all around us and experience a Mediterranean climate. We are close enough to Chefchaouen to walk to/from town, but far away enough to enjoy the full benefits of nature.

    I love it here, as does everyone who has visited, I hope you will also.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Aide dans une ferme
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Accueil / tourisme
    Aide informatique/internet
  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We are an organic farm and are trying to include climate change adaptation techniques to our farm and natural resources. Thus you will be part of a learning environment that includes permaculture/agroecology and many climate change adaptation systems/learning.

    Our farm is also in a small mountain village above Chefchaouen in Morocco. You will be able to live amongst our local community and experience life and culture much as many of our Moroccan neighbours do.

    We also have a vegan/vegetarian, farm to fork kitchen, where we use traditional North African and Middle Eastern cuisine/recipes.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We are looking for 3 skill sets. It may be that you have one or all three, but we are happy to have 3 different people.

    1. Hotel Management Experience. We are opening up our new farm stay and are looking for someone with experience in setting up/running booking and management systems specifically. This would suit someone with experience of working in hospitality/hotels.

    2. Social Media Experience. As part of our new farm stay we hope to establish our social media presence. Unfortunately we have very limited experience of this and as such would appreciate someone who can help us set up and run i.e. Facebook and Instagram for our new project.

    3. Yoga Teacher/Practitioner. We also want to learn about Yoga and to see if we would be able to establish Yoga classes at our new farm stay.

    All positions will also be asked to help around the farm and in the house, there's lots to learn and do.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Intermédiaire
    Français: Intermédiaire
    Portugais: Débutant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Most definately, and I'd love to have the opportunity to improve any of my current languages.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Separate bedroom in shared house, with ensuite or shared bathroom and shared kitchen, all overlooking a beautiful farm and mountain range.

    Workaway volunteers will receive a veggie breakfast and evening meal. Accommodation should include your own room with a shared bathroom.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Our farm is just outside of Chefchaouen (Xaouen), the famous "Blue City" in Morocco and borders the wonderful Talasamtaan National Park. The farm is a calm, natural environment and will benefit those looking to be in touch with nature. Surrounding us are many kilometers of natural beauty, mountains, rivers and the Mediterranean sea is only 45 minutes away by car.

    Xaouen is itself a well known tourist spot with much to see and experience and close by are the cities of Tetouan (1 hour by car) and Tangiers (2 hours by car), all accessible by bus or taxi.

    We have several other Moroccan staff working with us in the garden, completing building work or working with the animals. All are very friendly and welcoming.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 382435689721

Feedback (1)

Photos

Feedback


Join a local family building a sustainable farmstead in Agadir, Morocco
Creating an oasis close to Marrakech, Morocco