Help with home and gardening projects, come stay with us at our off gird home in NE Tasmania

  • Australie
  • Enregistré comme favori 87 fois
  • Activité récente: 30 nov. 2023



 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine



  • Description


    Hello travellers,

    We are Cheri (37 yo, from Hong Kong), Jade (31 yo, from QLD Australia), and Artemis (2 yo, born in Tasmania). Jade and I found each other on a bus in Cambodia. We spent two years traveling together, volunteering through workaway across Asia and Australia. About 5 years ago, we finally settled down in Tasmania and bought a lovely mud-brick house surrounded by some of the most beautiful Tasmanian bush. It’s a nature wonderland with very diverse and wild landscapes.

    Our baby girl, Artemis, was born in 2021. Jade has been working locally as an electrician. And I have been staying home with little Arty.

    Life has been good. But we do miss our travelling days. We had the best time of our life volunteering through workaway while meeting interesting people and making friends. That’s partly why we thought we should be hosting.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Projets artistiques
    Pratique d’une langue
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Bricolage et construction
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Travellers can learn about the joy and the challenges that come with our off-grid lifestyle in Tasmania.

    Although off-grid, we are not deprived of modern convenience and comforts. We have dishwasher, instantaneous hot water, washer and dryer, TV, two game consoles, and fairly good internet. We do rely on our rain water tanks and our creek for water, and our solar system for power. Wood is required for heating during winter. And our house was built with mud brick and wood, with a wood fire stove we can use for cooking and heating the bath water.

    You can spot all kind of colourful birds and wild animals on our property. Besides the usual wallabies and possums, we often find quolls at night time. Echidnas also like to hang around. Wombats are living along our river. I’ve also heard Tasmania devils in our bush at night. Our river is full of trouts, blackfish, eels and crayfish. With some luck, you can even see a platypus.

    We are a multicultural household. Jade is white and Australian, I’m Chinese and from Hong Kong. We have traveled quite a bit and enjoyed meeting with travellers. I used to host couchsurfers when I was living in Hong Kong. It was a very rewarding experience, showing travellers my favourite local spots and food while learning about their cultures and stories. I certainly looking forward to be hosting through workaway.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide


    We live on a huge property (68 acres), there are always plenty to do around :) we are happy to find out what will suit your interests and experience.

    If you enjoy nature and outdoor, and confident enough with equipments such as chainsaw, axes, mowers… you can be cutting and stacking firewoods, clearing tracks through the bush and along the river, or mowing around the house.

    Our garden also need some intensive love and care. We have berry bushes, cherry trees and vegetable garden. But since our fence was damaged in a fire, the wildlife has been enjoying free access to our garden. We are not able to grow much at the moment. Hopefully the fence will be repaired soon enough and we will be able have homegrown veggies and fruits again.

    I always need help in the kitchen. We cook almost all of our meals. I also make sourdough, kimchi, pickles etc. but having a toddler around the kitchen is quite dangerous and counter productive. I will need someone to watch over her while I cook, or you can also take over the kitchen if you like and cook up some of your best recipes for all of us.

    General helps with housework will also be deeply appreciated. Anyone who lived with a toddler know how much mess a little one can make.

    If you enjoy playing with little Arty and feel confident enough to take care of her, her mama can really use a break to binge watch dramas, do some yoga, or scrub the toilet.

    We are also keen for language exchange. Jade and I would like to practice our Japanese, may be also learn some Spanish, German or Italian, if you are able and happy to teach. Also Arty can benefit from having another Chinese (Mandarin) speaker around the house.

    We welcome volunteers with any special skills or talents. Let us know if there are alternative ways you would like to contribute.

    4 hours a day for 5 days a week, equal 20 hours per week of help we are asking from you. You can also choose to do 5 hours a day 4 days a week. Your working day can be weekdays or weekends, depending on the type of projects we need help with and your preferences.

    As much as things are flexible, we will ensure that you have a specific start time and off time, and that you are clear about what and how we would like you to help.

    In return for your help, we will provide food and accomodation. Lunch and dinner will be mostly shared meal. Breakfast you can help yourself with what we have, e.g. coffee, tea, bread, oat, noodles etc.

    During your time off, you are welcome to eat at home, or pack some food with you if you are going out. If we are going out together during your time off, and you choose to eat out with us, please kindly pay for your own food.

    We can accommodate vegetarians. If you are vegan but don’t mind cooking your own, and buying your own vegan condiments (eg vegan cheese and sausage etc), we might be able to work something out.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Chinois (mandarin): Courant
    Chinese (Cantonese): Courant
    Japonais: Intermédiaire

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement


    There are two guest rooms in the house, each with a queen size bed. We also have a few really comfortable camp mattresses, in case you have a friend or a child who you want to share your room but not your bed with.

    We will all be staying in the same house, sharing the lounge and dining room, a bathroom and a kitchen. It’s not a big house but we often have up to 4 families and friends staying with us for days to months. This house has proven to be comfortable enough for up to 7 adults plus a toddler.

    There are also option to camp if you bring your own tent or camper van. We have plenty of land and many great spots to camp.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    There are endless places to explore and see in this part of Tasmania. We are very blessed to be living close to some of the most beautiful beaches on earth.

    Our favourite, the Waterhouse Conservation Area, is just a 35 minutes drive. Bridport is a seaside town just 30 minutes away. Bay of fire through St Helen is about 1.5 to 2 hr drive (perfect for a day trip or weekend). Tomahawk, Musselroe Bay, Eddystone Point are all breathtakingly beautiful beaches you can get to in a car in bit more than 1 hour.

    We are also very close to Derby the mountain biking town with world famous trails. Many mountain bike shops offering shuttle services and rental bikes to beginner to pro-level bikers. I would definitely recommend mountain biking at Derby if you are interested. And the Hub at Derby also make some of the best pizzas in Australia.

    Launceston is the city to visit if that’s what you’d like to do on your day off. It’s 1 hour 15 minutes by car. And there is also a bus you can take to go from Scottsdale to Launceston and back. Bridport is also accessible by bus.

    Lavender farm is about 25 minutes away. There are also many great vineyards to visit in the area. Clover Hill, Janz and Piper Brooks are some of our favourites.

    The closest town to our place is Scottsdale (10 minutes drive from home), which is the service town of NE Tasmania. It’s nothing exciting, but has all the essential services we’d need, eg hospital, government offices, bank, supermarkets, op-shops, parks and cafes etc. You can find a decent coffee in Scottsdale.

    About transportation, it will be handy to have your own car. But you can also do without it. We won’t be able to go out of our way and drive you to the beach or town everyday after your work. But if we are going out, you are most welcome to tag along.

    Arty loves being out and about, so we try to go out at least every other day. Saturday we often like to catch the market at Launceston. Weekends, if we don’t feel too lazy, we like to go campings, visit friends, or catch a local gig. You will have the chance to meet our friends, families, and neighbours if you feel like socialising.

    If you rather relax around home, we have wifi in the house you can use. And there are many tracks across our bush and along our river for walks, variety of serene and lovely spots to chill or meditate in nature. Feel free to take our mat, hammock or camp chair, you can read a book or practice yoga on our veranda, in the bush, by our river or ponds. We also have a cupboard full of board games.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    We have limited internet data per month (400 GB), but it's pretty reliable. In case when internet is too slow (happens sometime, usually during public holidays), Scottsdale (10 minutes drive) has a library you can go for internet.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Cet hôte a de la place pour les vans.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Cet hôte a dit qu’il acceptait les personnes voyageant avec un animal.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 287243376514

Feedback (4)



Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Besoin d'un coup de main dans la vie quotidienne et dans mon potager, Newham, Vic., Australie
Help me to turn my shed into a table tennis room and with other home and garden projects in Warrane, Tasmania, Australia