1 / 5

Help us around our family hobby-farm and learn organic and permaculture practices in Chidlow, Australia

  • Enregistré comme favori 85 fois
  • Activité récente: 16 juil. 2024

Disponibilité

  2024 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Une semaine ou moins

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Infos

  • Description

    Description

    We live 45 km from Perth, 20mn walking distance from the Chidlow Post Office, bus stop, forests & lake Leschenaultia. In the last 20 + years, we have developed our hobby farm: built a solar-passive straw-bale home, established an extensive garden as well as grown three children, home-schooled with the help of back-packers!!! They are now young adults, two of which still mostly live at home.
    With our daughters, we grow vegetables, flowers, herbs & fruit trees. We have 3 cows, 12 goats, 1 old sheep, lots of chickens, an old pony, 3 bee hives & lots of visiting native birds.
    Nowadays we find ourself busy with cheese making, fruit processing, honey extracting, cooking wholesome vegetarian meals,...
    We are interested in gardening, natural therapies, healing herbs, music (mostly classical or traditional, but also folk etc..).
    Our goal is to produce our own organic food so as to enjoy a healthy lifestyle as well as enhance the health of the planet. Check our Fb page: ask us for the link

    Our re-vegetation areas require seasonal jobs of mulching, watering and raking leaves, weeding and re-planting. All of those jobs are in a very pleasant environment, and areas are small and interesting due to the diversity of plants.
    The house was built with straw-bales, and rendered with clay, painted with lime-wash. Inside and out. It is very pleasant and colorful. we have composting toilets, and a grey water system. Being a solar passive design, the house is pleasant in summer and winter alike, although heatwaves can bring the temperature higher, in which case we end up at the lake for a much needed cool-down swim!
    The garage, in which is the ‘guest room’, is made of second-hand materials and pine. The guest room is set with a double bed. it is cozy and comfortable, although wifi access is only at the house.
    The other outbuildings are the animal shed, the hay storage area, a little rock studio yet to be finished, and a small glass-house.

    We do volunteering at the local community garden, do bush care revegetation and weeding, and organize a monthly fund-raising French Folk dancing event in the village (Le Grand Bal de Chidlow) People love coming to our place for the overall experience of small holding sufficiency, and we often have visitors. we still have our two daughters living mostly at home, one of which is the main gardener/cheese maker. We are 20 MN walk from lake Leschenaultia, and minutes from state forests. if you wish to come and help us, let us know!

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Projets artistiques
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
    Aide informatique/internet
  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    you could be learning any of the following depending on the time of the year you are coming, and the priorities we have at the time of your visit: Organic and permaculture practices & techniques, regenerative attempts, Gardening, Composting, Propagating, Mulching, Pruning, Environmental recovery/regeneration work, beekeeping, animal care, poultry care, Sheep/goats/cattle care, some fencing, building and natural building techniques, occasional handyman skills, cheese making, grape juice and home made wine making, fermenting foods, preserving & processing food, bread making. we speak equally French and English at home...and more such as painting the clay on the strawbale house with lime and oxide...

  • Aide

    Aide

    Help includes general house and hobby-farming activities such as gardening, and maintenance tasks, with occasionally some more skillful work such as rock wall building, shelter building or else, checking bees/ extracting honey etc… You can be part of our activities such as folk dance and community garden, and bush care.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Courant
    Thai: Débutant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Accommodation is in annex adjoining the garage (used as storage) with a double bed. It is separated from the house, toilet and bathroom is shared with us but separate bathroom near annex is underway. We can fit 1 – 2 guests, strictly non-smokers . We cook only vegetarian meals, mostly organic, shared with the family. We can accommodate vegan and gluten free diets.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Our life is very much centered around the garden and local community, and we eat mostly from what we produce. We are also very much mingled with the community. Sometimes you might join us for a movie night at the local hall or a folk dance night we organize. Lake Leschenaultia is only 2 kms away from our house. You can walk there and swim from September to May depending on the weather. It is also a great place to observe wild life. You can walk to the lake easily from our house, or to the shop or the bus stop. Perth city is only an hour and a half away by bus and train.
    You can borrow a bicycle and ride to John Forest National Park, only 15 kms away. The old railway line provides an easy ride. we also have the Bibulmun Track 15 kms away from here, and so is Mundaring Weir. The pipeline going from Mundaring to Kalgoorlie is a few minutes away by walk and provides an opportunity for walks, as well as the numerous forests around.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    small campervan only

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    25 hours per week, 5 days - (we feed good organic meals in exchange!)

N° de référence hôte : 347587831454

Feedback (2)



Photos

Feedback

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





Join our family at our lakeside retreat in Fishermans Paradise, Australia
Help me with home and gardening projects in a unique outback mining community, The Gemfields, QLD, Australia