Welcoming those interested in books, printmaking and the Icelandic language to Selfoss, Iceland

  • Enregistré comme favori 630 fois
  • Activité récente: 25 févr. 2024

Disponibilité

  2024 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins deux semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Infos

  • Description

    Description

    Report for 2023 - updated 12th of November

    Our volunteer time in early 2023 will be in two periods, 15 February - 13 March & 16 April - 12 May

    I prefer volunteers that can stay all the entire time of a given period. Applications for dates outside the given dates are of no use.

    For ten years running, I have dedicated some weeks every year to a volunteer program at my house. With a multi-national band of volunteers, we have completed a range of tasks, that have cultural and personal value, and had some fun in the meantime: A weekend road trip is part of the program!

    The work: I collect Icelandic books -- probably owning one the country's largest private collection -- and would like help with archiving them into a digital data base. The main requirement is having an open mind to learning the Icelandic alphabet -- which is like the English alphabet but with a few extra letters.

    In addition to book archiving, we do a handful of odd maintenance work around the house like painting, gardening and petting the cat. But also some construction work, carrying book-boxes etc

    In leisure time we do hike in mountains and wild nature. Hiking boots and sleeping bag are useful in this stay but not required. In Selfoss we have also very good swimming pool and many interesting shops etc.


    Bjarni

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Projets artistiques
    Pratique d’une langue
    Aide dans une ferme
    Entretien général
    Aide informatique/internet
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    They get to engage with life in small-town Iceland as well as belonging to group of other volunteers from all over the world. As I mentioned, we travel at least once during the season and I urge people to make independent trips.

    The work will teach people about the Icelandic language -- an dialect of Old Norse -- and the countries history of the written word. Plus, preservation of old books and modern archiving.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We look for curious minds with a good work attitude. No skill is irrelevant.

    That's the basic description. Ideally, volunteers are interested in books, printmaking and the Icelandic language. We don't expect you to know any Icelandic, just to have an open mind to learning the Icelandic alphabet -- which is similar to English but with a few extra letters.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Icelandic: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    The house has six bedrooms and three bathrooms. One room is large and will thus have two single-beds on either end. Others are private.

    In Iceland, dinner is the biggest meal of the day. Breakfast and lunch are usually taken together, as a group. Between meals volunteers can snack all they want in the kitchen. Very very important to eat well at this house!

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Excellent outdoor areas and nearby the house is public swimming pool with outdoor hot baths; volunteers can use it free of charge. We are in South Iceland where many of Iceland's best known tourists attractions are located.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 125835698858

Feedback (22)



Feedback

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (4.8)

Échange culturel: (4.8)

Communication: (4.8)
























Help with childminding and DIY with our family of 4 in Sandgerði, Iceland
Help us on our small hobby farm and in our home in the beautiful Hegranes, Iceland