Helen

  • Estados Unidos
  • Inicia sesión para ver la actividad reciente

Medallas (2)

Good Workawayer
Explorer

Amigos (29)

Información de perfil

  • Información de viaje

    Ahora estoy

    viajando

    Actividades que me interesan:

    i am in norway!

  • Descripción

    Dear hosts :)

    My name is Helen, I am 18 years old and from California, USA. I want to spend my gap year learning new things, spending time in nature, exploring, art, music, adventure, creating special experiences and meeting others :)

    If you are seeking a friendly, proactive person that works hard, enjoys learning new things, and having interesting conversations, I am your person! I work hard and cherish communities — but I am equally ready to work independently. I am a dependable, responsible worker who loves trying new things (and I'm stronger than I look ;) I have lots of work experience interacting with people, children, animals, and my experiences dealing with tough situations have always helped me grow as a person 🥰

    Additionally, I am interested in learning the local perspectives of history, culture, art, politics, and more, especially learning from first hand experience. That is a big part of why I am travelling; I am grateful for the opportunity to live like a local in different parts of the world, experience different cultures and exchange my own! I hope to take advantage of everything the world has in store, learn different ways of life, work with my hands, and see new perspectives.

    I play piano, flute, and guitar and would love to play for you if you have instruments around! I have had much customer service experience working as a barista in various food/beverage establishments, as well as experience working in the restaurant of an eco-lodge.

    I am a huge outdoors person, and I believe we are all interconnected with the Earth and each other, which is why I'm interested in sustainable projects, food sovereignty, ecology, community projects, eco-farming, permaculture, cultural exchange, learning histories, getting to know people, storytelling, and anything that connects us together! When we all take care of each other, we can all thrive🌞🕯🥰 Environmental justice, sustainability, and civic engagement in politics are important values of mine. In the fall, I will be attending Dartmouth College to study geography and environmental studies, and until then, looking forward to adventures and connecting with you all :)

    COVID UPDATE: I am fully vaccinated and boosted!

  • Intereses

    Montaña
    Naturaleza
    Acampada
    Deportes de aventura
    Yoga / bienestar
    Baile
    Actividades al aire libre
    Senderismo
    Agricultura
    Jardinería
    Sostenibilidad
    Animales
    Idiomas
    Arquitectura
    Arte y diseño
    Artes escénicas
    Dibujo y pintura
    Bricolaje y manualidades
    Escritura
    Libros

    mostrar más
  • Habilidades y conocimientos que quiero compartir o aprender

    Me interesa:  

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Vida en una granja
    Cuidado de animales
    Trabajo de caridad

    Ciertos conocimientos de:  

    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Mantenimiento general
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Proyectos ecológicos
    Ayuda doméstica
    Hostelería/turismo
    Práctica de idiomas
    Proyectos artísticos
    Enseñanza

    Puedo enseñar:  

    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet
  • Que habilidades tienes?

    I am very resourceful, so if you need, I can help out around the house and garden / farm! I I can do household tasks, clean, help out with web and technology, work on social media and marketing, cook, wash, and whatever else you need. I love art, so would love to help with various painting and/or decorating jobs. I am a quick thinker, but I also love to slow down and practice yoga and meditation with you if that is part of your practice.

    I have been a leader in my community's climate justice and environmental activism group, so that has taught me leadership, responsibility, organization, hard work, and most of all, connecting with people. From being a leader in this organization, as well as editing my school newspaper and working as a barista at my coffee shop, I've thrived as a team player, helping others, and working under pressure. I am open to feedback and always improving, thinking critically about how to do things best with attention to detail.

    I have childcare experience, and I have often had the opportunity to volunteer. I have led groups of 10 year olds in science camp in the woods, teaching them science principles and social skills (keeping calm and responsible under quite difficult, sometimes chaotic conditions). I have also babysat, and I generally like children! I have volunteered with and walked pets, and have ridden horses before as well — I love all animals!

    My extensive experience with customer service as a barista and interacting with people (public speaking, organizing events, activism) means I am sociable, friendly, and love a good time! I am an honest communicator who wants to learn more about other cultures, and share some of my own.

    I speak English, Mandarin, and a bit of Spanish! Fun fact: I also learned a bit of ASL (American Sign Language) in high school!

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Chino (mandarín): Fluido
    Español: Principiante

    Más información sobre tus intereses idiomáticos
    I speak fluent English and Mandarin, and I am very interested in learning Spanish, French, Italian, and German!

    Buscar un colega de idioma

  • Edad

    18

  • Algo más...

    I am currently working on getting my handstand and splits, while also working as a field organizer on a local mayoral campaign. I am also a barista at a local coffee shop. Pastimes I enjoy are reading, running, cooking, meeting new people, dance, yoga, hiking, photography, creating art, listening to and playing music! I love music, and try to make it out to any live music I can. I have recently started kickboxing, and I have run 2 10k's (10 kilometer races) with my dad for fun!

  • Más información

    • Fumador

    • Permiso de conducir

    • Alergia
      no

    • Dieta especial

Comentarios

Amigos

Fotos

Comentarios