Macayla

  • Estados Unidos
  • Inicia sesión para ver la actividad reciente

Medallas (2)

Good Workawayer
Explorer

Información de perfil

  • Información de viaje

    Ahora estoy

    en casa

  • Descripción

    I've spent the last three years during the months of Sept-February in Antarctica, doing a variety of work from washing dishes to conducting quality assurance tasking related to preventative and continue maintenance. During my time "off the ice" I am eager to travel and seek new experiences, while continuing to develop new skills and form lasting friendships. In my past travels, I have occasionally found myself not feeling as though I have a purpose. I find that WorkAway allows me to explore and have experiences I enjoy by traveling, while maintaining a sense of purpose in my life by exchanging my hard work in return for great memories and gaining new skills and connections.

  • Intereses

    Montaña
    Playa
    Naturaleza
    Acampada
    Autostop
    Deportes de aventura
    Deportes acuáticos
    Deportes de invierno
    Baile
    Actividades al aire libre
    Senderismo
    Vida en autocaravana
    Agricultura
    Libros
    Cultura
    Autodesarrollo
  • Habilidades y conocimientos que quiero compartir o aprender

    Me interesa:  

    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Vida en una granja
    Proyectos ecológicos
    Cuidado de animales
    Trabajo de caridad
    Proyectos artísticos
    Enseñanza

    Ciertos conocimientos de:  

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda doméstica
    Hostelería/turismo
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet
  • Que habilidades tienes?

    I have a degree in civil engineering and have focused more of my time in the field solving problems and ensuring quality construction than behind a computer doing design work. Additionally, I've worked in restaurants, on assembly lines, and done e-commerce. I consider myself a hard worker, and I love to see progress in the work I do. I am eager to learn new skills and offer my ideas to problem solve and make work more efficient. I joined WorkAway on a whim to try a different style of travel that allows me to interact with people in a community while also gaining a feeling of purpose (which I feel I sometimes lose when I am traveling).
    After graduating from university, I worked for a while and then bought an empty cargo van and built it out to live in for the next two years. I realize this is not uncommon in New Zealand, but van life is only beginning to take off in the States. During the build-out process, I learned a lot about basic carpentry and small projects.
    To help support my nomadic lifestyle in the States, I frequently house sit for people. This often requires me to looks after animals and tend to gardens while people are away on travel/vacation. Typically, people will have me stay in their homes while they are away so I am used to being a guest in a home and consider myself courteous and respectful of peoples personal spaces and property.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Principiante

  • Edad

    28

  • Algo más...

    My greatest personal passion in life is snowboarding (I typically ride over 80 days a year), but ultimately I just love the outdoors. I recently took the winter seasons in the US off from snowboarding because I accepted an offer to work in Antarctica for the austral summer. I love sharing my experiences with others, and am eager to connect with more people and create memories and friendships while helping people along the way.

  • Más información

    • Fumador

    • Permiso de conducir

    • Alergia

    • Dieta especial
      Prefer a pescatarian diet.

Comentarios

Amigos

Fotos

Comentarios