Julie & Luke

Desde: Gran Bretaña

  • ...

    Tipo de cuenta

    Cuenta conjunta

  • ...

    Viajar a

    España, Francia, Gran Bretaña, Portugal

  • ...

    Fechas de viaje

    01/04/2021 - 30/12/2021

  • Medallas

    Top Workawayer

  • Nuestra situación


  • Descripción

    We joined Workaway in 2017, and spent a glorious year travelling around Europe in our self-converted campervan. Our aim was to contribute to inspiring projects, exploring low-impact living and experience more nature connection. We put our Workaway profile on hold while we re-visited places we’d loved, and explored living in various communities in Portugal, England and Scotland.

    We have now returned to our house in Lewes, but we’ve been so inspired by our travels that a different way of life is beckoning….If you are looking for people to settle down longer-term, then we would love to hear from you to explore that possibility. We thrive in surroundings where kindness towards people and the natural environment are prioritised. Our dreams include finding land to share, creating low impact dwellings, restoring buildings, making treehouses, growing food, enjoying the company of animals and a small group of people, and creating beautiful surroundings. We would love to create a sculpture garden which facilitates playful nature connection.

    Luke has worked as a carpenter / woodworker / builder for the past 20 years and is particularly interested in natural building techniques. He is happy to help with these skills & any other work which needs doing. We have a gentle, friendly, well-behaved dog - Isla.

    Julie is particularly interested in veg growing, art / creative projects, and animal care. Her working life has included being a fine art photographer, small business advisor and ten years ago she set up a charity running nature-connection courses with The National Trust (she's still a Trustee). We have both been involved in project management and facilitating group sessions for this venture. (http://www.growingwellbeing.org.uk/)

    We enjoy sharing our skills & enthusiasm to support individuals and projects. Our Workaway experiences to date have been very varied - looking after lovely animals and gardens / land, creating vegetable gardens, art installations, ceramics, restoring a Portuguese farmhouse, training huskies, building an off-grid retreat cabin, a kitchen from recycled wood, and many compost toilets!

    We appreciate peaceful areas, where it's easy to explore nature, particularly appreciate woodlands, rivers, sea and retreat environments. We meditate most mornings and good communication is important to us (we met doing Way of Council talk circles, and have recently done sociocracy training). We’ve invited people to sit with us each morning and have a short sharing afterwards, and the quality of connection this encourages has been much appreciated. We are also known for our playfulness and very much enjoy a glass of wine and having fun!

    Our current thinking is to stay in the UK, but we are open to possibilities abroad.

    Interests include: simplicity, playfulness, animals, permaculture, hiking, community, creativity, art, meditation, Buddhism, self-sufficiency, personal development, being in nature.

  • Habilidades y conocimientos que queremos compartir o aprender

    Ciertos conocimientos de:  

    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Compañía para ancianos
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Vida en una granja
    Cuidado de animales
    Práctica de idiomas

    Podemos enseñar:  

    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general
    Proyectos ecológicos
    Ayuda doméstica
    Trabajo de caridad
    Proyectos artísticos
  • Que habilidades tienes?

    building, carpentry, veg growing, designing and running nature connection and wellbeing courses, animal care, gardening, cooking, project management, photography. We both enjoy working outside, and are very practical, flexible, creative / artistic, good at listening / communicating & happy to help with whatever is needed.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Francés: Intermedio

    Más información sobre tus intereses idiomáticos
    Este workawayer ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro. Ponte en contacto con él directamente para hablar sobre ello.

  • Edad

    53 & 53

  • Nacionalidad


  • Algo más...

    We are also registered on HelpX and stayed at www.facebook.com/TheSingingQuinta who have gave us this reference...
    "Luke and Julie are the perfect helpx volunteers! Self-contained in their van with a perfectly well behaved dog, they are knowledgeable, helpful, hard working, and great company. Luke did a fantastic job rebuilding our kitchen shelves and work-top with us, was an ace helping hand when we threw the shed concrete floor, and whatever you do, don't pass up the opportunity to devour Julies fantastic chickpea flour pancakes! Thanks guys. We were sad to see you go... "

  • Más información

    • Fumador

    • Permiso de conducir

    • Alergia

    • Dieta especial
      Julie is wheat-free