Claire & Adam

Desde: Gran Bretaña

  • ...

    Tipo de cuenta

    Cuenta conjunta

  • ...

    Viajar a

    Francia

  • ...

    Fechas de viaje

    06/08/2020 - 30/05/2021

  • Medallas

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

Watch my profile video


  • Nuestra situación

    en casa


    Currently at home but tell us if you have any interesting projects we could work on

  • Descripción

    Hi, we’re Claire & Adam. We are a young married couple from the U.K. looking for some Workaway opportunities.

    In November 2018 we set off on an 18-month round the world adventure. We started our travels in Mexico and we worked our way down through Central America. We arrived in South America just as the Coronavirus situation began to escalate.

    We luckily found ourselves at an incredible Hostel where we were Workaway volunteers for 6 weeks. We were helping behind the bar making cocktails and juices. We also helped in the kitchen to make breakfast, lunch & dinner. In addition, we helped to set up a fundraising initiative for the local community who saw their incomes disappear overnight. We managed the Facebook & Instagram pages & to date have managed to raise £10,000.

    In early May, we caught a repatriation flight back to the U.K. After our fantastic Workaway experience in Colombia, we were fortunate to do another Workaway in France over the summer, helping a British couple, Katie and Dan to renovate their property. Arriving shortly after they'd received the keys to the gite, it was great to get involved with any jobs they needed help with to get the property looking brand new.

    Over the summer we were offered jobs in France for the Winter season 2020/21, helping a chalet company in Meribel. As proficient cooks, we were originally hired to run a chalet, cooking high-quality evening meals and ensuring the chalet is always clean and tidy. As Coronavirus restrictions changed, as did our prospective roles and we were then hired to set up the chalets for self-catered guests. We came over to France on 30th December to start our work positions. However, with the delayed opening of the ski lifts in France and the UK now in lockdown again, our positions have been postponed, so we are now looking for some Workaway opportunities.

    As keen skiers, we are now trying out ski touring whilst the lifts are still closed. Currently, we are staying in Chamonix with friends, and we are lucky to be experiencing all the fantastic resorts nearby that are ideal for ski touring. We are keen to stay in the mountains to get daily exercise and we are looking for a Workaway opportunity which would allow us to enjoy life in the mountains whilst helping our Workaway host.

    We are both keen photographers and Adam is a talented videographer, who has recently completed a number of virtual school tours for primary schools in the UK. Coronavirus restricted prospective parents and pupils from visiting the schools, so short films were made to provide an overview of the facilities and values of the school.

    Adam has also completed promotional property videos, promotional hostel videos, and travel videos from our own recent travels. We've added an example of his work to our profile (Bali video). If you are hoping to increase your social media presence, we could help by producing some exciting content for social media platforms that you could use.

    When we set off on our travels we set up a blog. The website - www.mediawithwalker.com - now showcases examples of our photography and videography. We update our Facebook & Instagram accounts with photos of our travels and photography and can be found at www.instagram.com/media_with_walker

    As our plan was to be in the mountains for Winter 2020/21, we would be very keen to hear about any current opportunities. We would love to work on projects where Marketing / Social Media help is required or general hospitality help is required (reception/cooking/guest liaison). We also have a lot of nieces and nephews so we would be great for any babysitting roles. We are both friendly, outgoing, and very hard working so will be happy to get involved in any projects you need help with.

    If you have any questions, please don’t hesitate to get in contact.

    Claire & Adam

  • Intereses

    Montaña
    Naturaleza
    Acampada
    Navegar / barcos
    Deportes de aventura
    Deportes acuáticos
    Deportes de equipo
    Deportes de invierno
    Fitness
    Yoga / bienestar
    Baile
    Actividades al aire libre
    Senderismo
    Trabajo de caridad
    Agricultura
    Sostenibilidad
    Animales
    Idiomas
    Arquitectura
    Arte y diseño

    mostrar más
  • Habilidades y conocimientos que queremos compartir o aprender

    Ciertos conocimientos de:  

    Jardinería
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Mantenimiento general
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Vida en una granja
    Proyectos ecológicos
    Ayuda doméstica
    Cuidado de animales
    Hostelería/turismo
    Trabajo de caridad
    Práctica de idiomas
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet
    Enseñanza
  • Que habilidades tienes?

    Adam

    • Previously working as a mechanical and design Engineer for Jaguar Land Rover for 13 years before taking a career break.
    • Currently developing his knowledge in maintaining a website, uploading articles, SEO, and managing social media accounts linked to our travels, www.mediawithwalker.com
    • Creating content for our social media accounts posting content daily and growing our following.
    • Very proficient cook - cooks dishes from all over the world
    • Talented photographer & videographer. Examples of photography and videography can be seen on www.mediawithwalker.com
    • Good problem solver
    • Fit & strong so can help with any manual tasks.
    • Green-fingered, loves working with nature and gardening.
    • Great meeting new people, helpful and considerate
    • Friendly, sociable, kind & fun

    Claire

    • Previously had project management roles for Jaguar Land Rover & BlackRock.
    • Basic level of Spanish (lived in Peru in 2002). Wants to improve language skills during our travels.
    • Currently developing her writing skills for articles on our website - www.mediawithwalker.com & learning more about maintaining the website, SEO, and content creation.
    • Creating content for our social media accounts posting content daily and growing our following.
    • Enthusiastic cook
    • Extremely organised
    • Keen Photographer
    • Great meeting new people, helpful and considerate
    • Green-fingered, loves working with nature and gardening.
    • Friendly, sociable, kind & fun

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Fluido
    Alemán: Principiante

  • Edad

    38 & 32

  • Algo más...

    We both love travelling and learning about different cultures. As keen cooks, we love trying all the different dishes from the country we’re travelling in. Keen to see more of the world, we took a career break to travel the world for 18 months when an opportunity presented itself. We love to try new things - whether it be volcano boarding or trying a weird food - we are keen to give it a go. We are adventurous, fun and very easy going.

    Adam is a keen rugby & football player & Claire loves Stand-Up Paddleboarding. Both of us love to ski, hike, swim, snorkel, kayak, fish and we are keen to get into yoga to keep fit whilst we are travelling.

    We love books and have recently got into audiobooks and podcasts whilst we’ve been taking long bus journeys. Friends and family are extremely important to us both. We love wildlife / sea life and as a result, we are trying to travel as sustainably as possible and reduce the amount of waste we produce.

  • Más información

    • Fumador

    • Permiso de conducir

    • Alergia

    • Dieta especial
      No vinegar / no aniseed

Fotos

Comentarios