Bonnie

  • Canadá
  • Inicia sesión para ver la actividad reciente

Medallas (3)

Explorer
Good Workawayer

Información de perfil

  • Información de viaje

    Ahora estoy

    en casa

    Mi próximo destino:

    Chile - Desde Oct 2022 Hasta Ene 2023
    Ver todos
  • Descripción

    While reading the “Workaway Guide Book”, I felt an immediate connection to the website when I read the following words;
    ……a movement of adventurers, travelers…..... who are prepared to challenge boundaries and refuse to be ruled by the pursuit of material gain…........prioritize their freedom to live the life they really want to, and realize that being happy is intrinsically linked to helping others.
    Volunteering has always been part of my life; from serving on committees, fund raising and organizing events to working with immigrants in my city as an advocate, mentor and language coach.
    I worked at Medicine Hat College (Alberta, Canada) for over 30 years. I took an early retirement option from full time work so that I could pursue my love of traveling and learning Spanish.
    I have a very active lifestyle and that aspect is always incorporated into my travels in the form of long and short distance hiking and bicycle touring. I have walked four different routes of the Camino de Santiago in Spain, each time covering distances of 800+ kilometers. I met amazing people from all over the world and I am so grateful for how these encounters have enriched my life.
    During my first trip to Spain, I also volunteered with two WWOOF hosts and really enjoyed those experiences. I have enjoyed three Workaway positions so far. In 2017 I volunteered in a hostel for a month in Quetzaltenango, Guatemala and in 2018 I volunteered for over 2 months in a hostel in Riohacha. In 2019 I had a position in La Paz, Mexico.
    I am hoping to find a post where I can continue to study Spanish and learn about new cultures by becoming involved with people in the community.
    Besides hiking, cycling and running I also enjoy gardening, cooking, knitting, reading and spending time with family.

  • Intereses

    Naturaleza
    Deportes de aventura
    Fitness
    Ciclismo
    Actividades al aire libre
    Senderismo
    Trabajo de caridad
    Agricultura
    Jardinería
    Idiomas
    Blogging
    Cocina y alimentación
    Cultura
    Historia
    Cuidado de plantas
  • Habilidades y conocimientos que quiero compartir o aprender

    Me interesa:  

    Mantenimiento general
    Proyectos ecológicos
    Trabajo de caridad

    Ciertos conocimientos de:  

    Jardinería
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Hostelería/turismo
    Práctica de idiomas
  • Que habilidades tienes?

    Personal characteristics that help me succeed are:
    Proactive, pay attention to detail and manage time effectively.
    Ability to work in a busy atmosphere and respond quickly to requests.
    Reliable, dependable, trustworthy and an appreciation for learning new things.
    I work very well with other team members and independently.
    I am at ease meeting new people and always treat everyone with kindness and respect.
    I am organized and like to plan ahead, but can still tolerate a little chaos. I am a proficient cleaner, adventurous cook and creative gardener.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Fluido

    Más información sobre tus intereses idiomáticos
    Este workawayer ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro. Ponte en contacto con él directamente para hablar sobre ello.

    Buscar un colega de idioma

  • Edad

    71

  • Nacionalidad

    Canadian

  • Algo más...

    During the fall and winter I like to spend about 2 - 3 months in in southern climates to avoid our freezing winter temperatures. This would allow me to take a long term volunteer position if, after a trial posting, the fit was right for both the host and myself. A longer term post would allow afford me the opportunity to continue to study Spanish and achieve my goal of becoming bilingual.

  • Más información

    • Fumador

    • Permiso de conducir

    • Alergia
      no

    • Dieta especial
      no

Comentarios



Amigos

Fotos

Comentarios