Ginny

  • Estados Unidos
  • Inicia sesión para ver la actividad reciente

Medallas (2)

Explorer

Información de perfil

  • Información de viaje

    Ahora estoy

    en casa

    Mi próximo destino:

    Texas, United States
    Ver todos
  • Descripción

    Hi, I'm Ginny and I am new to Work Away. I am a single female with two grown children. I currently work for a non-profit that allows me a good bit of vacation time which I intend to spend traveling and working throughout the world. While raising my children I served as a volunteer in Scouts, PTO, at the local animal shelter and have extensive experience with many things. I love to travel and meet new people and experience new cultures. I have an active mind and love to learn new things and t work joyfully in the companionship of others. The best memories in my life revolve around the laughter, sweat, mistakes, food and the fun of accomplishing something with a great group of people.
    My formal education culminated with a Ph.D. in Biomedical Science and I served as a researcher in the field of breast cancer for a few years. Though that was over 20 years ago. I returned to work after a 21 year hiatus raising children to my current career that has me recruiting new girls and volunteers for Girl Scouts. I love this job as it allows me to make a positive impact on the lives of both the young women and the adults who I interact with.

  • Intereses

    Montaña
    Playa
    Naturaleza
    Acampada
    Navegar / barcos
    Deportes de aventura
    Deportes acuáticos
    Fitness
    Yoga / bienestar
    Ciclismo
    Baile
    Actividades al aire libre
    Senderismo
    Trabajo de caridad
    Agricultura
    Jardinería
    Carpintería
    Sostenibilidad
    Animales
    Mascotas

    mostrar más
  • Habilidades y conocimientos que quiero compartir o aprender

    Me interesa:  

    Práctica de idiomas

    Ciertos conocimientos de:  

    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general
    Vida en una granja
    Proyectos ecológicos
    Cuidado de animales
    Proyectos artísticos
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

    Puedo enseñar:  

    Jardinería
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Compañía para ancianos
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Hostelería/turismo
    Trabajo de caridad
    Enseñanza
  • Que habilidades tienes?

    I am a "google queen" and a thrifty person. If something breaks or needs re-doing, I am going to teach myself to do the work rather than hire someone to do it for me. I grew up refinishing old furniture and reclaiming our family home with my father. I can paint, wallpaper, install flooring, tile work, perform minor plumbing, build fences and pergolas. I enjoy gardening, home food preservation, and home craft or art projects. I am decent with a sewing machine, having made many quilts and recovered antique furniture and can cook. I homeschooled both of my children through the middle school years, planning many events and field trips for other homeschoolers. I am a trained scientist with a Ph.D. in biomedical science and have work experience with lab animals and volunteer experience with dogs and cats from our local animal shelter.
    As a volunteer parent and Scout leader, I have coordinated many events and trips. I have managed a fast-food stand and fireworks stand for multiple years. I have organized fundraising events and managed volunteers for scouting. I have served as a trainer for both youth and adults ad a camp counselor. I am first aid trained. I do not require fancy lodging and love meeting new people and experiencing different cultures and ways of doing things.
    I have created my own hand-painted canvas floor cloths, stained glass, mosaics, painted murals, made jewelry, customer textured walls, refinished old woold floors, and furniture.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Edad

    57

  • Nacionalidad

    United States

  • Algo más...

    I grow and drink my own kombuche and would love to introduce you to this ancient and wonderful drink. I love music, wine, and experiencing new cultures.
    I am an avid DIYer and have always preferred to learn how to do something myself rather than pay someone else to do it. Therefore I have experience with gardening, fence and pergola building, laying floors, tilework, painting, re-upholstery, quilting, canning and food preservation, painting, furniture refinishing, cooking, and many other things. I live in an apartment now and miss weekly home projects and outdoor work. Work away is a great way for me to meet new people and help them with their projects while getting some good physical activity in. I am likely to work more than five hours a day simply because I enjoy shared work and the sense of accomplishment so much and because quite simply, I miss it.

  • Más información

    • Fumador

    • Permiso de conducir

    • Alergia
      No

    • Dieta especial
      no

Amigos

Fotos

Comentarios