Claudio

Desde: Italia

  • ...

    Tipo de cuenta

    Cuenta individual

  • ...

    Viajar a

    Italia

  • ...

    Fechas de viaje

    05/07/2018 - 30/09/2020

  • number of facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook

    443

  • Medallas

    Top Workawayer
    Explorer
    Facebook verified

  • Mi situación

    en casa

  • Descripción

    After a successful 20-years career in Information Technology, in 2018 I decided to quit my corporate job and start a new chapter of my life. Now I want to experience a more simple lifestyle and find what really matters, versus what society has conditioned us to believe and pursue. I am interested in sustainable living, renewable energy, organic farming, and finding new ways to live in harmony with nature and with others.
    I have already visited over 70 countries and, while I still love to travel, I want to do it more slowly, not collecting stamps on my passport, but experiencing life as a local and hopefully making new friends along the way.
    I'm an easygoing, openminded and friendly person who does not like to be at the center of attention but enjoys spending time with others. I like sports and I've kept reasonably fit throughout my life although never been an athlete. I love hiking, and in recent years also started practicing some yoga and meditation, which are quite important to me now. In September 2018 I walked over 500 km on the Way to Santiago de Compostela, and in summer 2020 I am traveling across Italy by bike.

  • Habilidades y conocimientos que quiero compartir o aprender

    Me interesa:  

    Proyectos artísticos

    Ciertos conocimientos de:  

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general
    Vida en una granja
    Proyectos ecológicos
    Ayuda doméstica
    Cuidado de animales
    Hostelería/turismo
    Trabajo de caridad
    Enseñanza

    Puedo enseñar:  

    Práctica de idiomas
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet
  • Que habilidades tienes?

    In my first Workaway experiences in 2018 I learnt about organic farming (weeding, mulching, sowing, planting and harvesting different produce from potatoes to blueberries), and taking care of houses with big gardens and animals.
    In early 2019 I taught English to teenage students in Thailand and Cambodia, and did more work in ecovillages, mostly gardening and also making mud bricks.
    In July-August 2019 I helped to renovate two properties in Finland, landscaping, building a deck and a warehouse (wood), and also helped at 2 different summer camps in Finland and Lithuania teaching English to kids aged 7-15.
    Later in 2019 I went back to help households (Italy and Cyprus) with gardens and orchards, harvesting, pruning and wood chopping. Throughout these experiences I also learnt to use tools such as brushcutter and chainsaw.
    In early 2020, before the pandemic, I helped in two different places in NZ with gardening, animal care and general maintenance, and right before the lockdown I helped at an organic farm in Thailand.

    In general, I love teamwork but I do know how to be independent.
    My previous professional career has been in the area of computers/software, international business development and project management. For many years I worked internationally using English as working language. During my corporate career I also developed teaching skills, which I used also outside of work in volunteering programs to teach coding to kids and the use of computers to elderly people.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Italiano: Fluido
    Español: Intermedio

  • Edad

    48

  • Nacionalidad

    Italian

  • Algo más...

    My philosophy is: treat others the way you want them to treat you. I believe we are all connected.

  • Más información

    • Fumador

    • Permiso de conducir

    • Alergia
      No

    • Dieta especial
      No restriction but I prefer vegetarian

Fotos

Comentarios