Brett

  • Gran Bretaña
  • Inicia sesión para ver la actividad reciente

Medallas (4)

Explorer
Good Workawayer
Facebook verified

Información de perfil

  • Mi situación

    en casa

  • Descripción

    .Ready to travel again in August 2019.
    Hi, my name is Brett and I am from Nottingham England. I am easy to get along with person, very relaxed and about the only ever person that I have fallen out with is myself.

    I am one of those people that is always pushing a pull door if you know what I mean. However, I get there in the end; great things in life happen after hard work and a bit of help from the universe (I believe). Being no stranger to hard work after training to be a chef and working in the trade for over 10 years. I will give most things a go and if it doesn’t happen the first time I will keep trying till it’s done or happened. But sometimes if it’s meant to be, it’s just meant to be, and am okay with that too.

    I re-trained in Mental Health Nursing and hold BSC Hons in this and have worked with others on acute mental health units for over 6 years. However, I believe there is more to life than just working this thinking has led me to do some traveling around Europe, America, Denmark, and Asia.

    By doing this I started to really find what was missing in my life: a proper connection with people and my environment. Although this journey has been painful at times it has been the right one for me. The point that my eyes really opened to life again was when my life nearly ended. In hindsight what was nearly the end was just the beginning of my life. Having recovered fully from this am ready to live the life that I always should have been living.
    I once heard the phrase “homesick for a place I have never been” (this is me today). But I don’t feel this when I am traveling and meeting other people. I would like to travel back to Portugal as I know some people there and know that it’s a great place.

    I also am learning to speak the language now (although a bit slowly). I now value experience and friendship over anything that is material, as material stuff does no longer bring me happiness (nor did it ever do, to be honest).

  • Habilidades y conocimientos que quiero compartir o aprender

    Me interesa:  

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Práctica de idiomas

    Ciertos conocimientos de:  

    Mantenimiento general
    Vida en una granja
    Proyectos ecológicos
    Ayuda doméstica
    Cuidado de animales
    Hostelería/turismo

    Puedo enseñar:  

    Cocinar para toda la familia
  • Que habilidades tienes?

    I can cook well and understand myself and others well. I am a people person and just love interacting with others from all walks of life. I worked in the catering industry for over 10 years where I learned everything from making bread to preparing fresh meat, fish, and veg. Catering for fine dining restaurants, weddings, small guest houses, etc.

    When working at the smaller places I was also changing beds and doing linen as well as answering phones etc so I am no stranger to this environment. I have also made plenty of beds on hospital wards to 😊
    However, there’s a lot more to me than that. I have great practical skills to include building various DIY projects like building fences, sheds and storage lockers also am happy to paint, clean and do gardening work. I believe that I’m a domesticated man, but I let others be the judge of that. I like to think that I am self-reliant, able to be independent, make good decisions, polite, honest and helpful in my way of living.

    I have also helped at various charity events in the UK as well. I hold a passion for growing food and keeping animals although my only experience in this is helping a friend on his allotment and doing some gardening work on a workaway, but hey everyone’s got to start somewhere. I have kept chickens briefly at one place I worked, and I do know how to do basic gardening duties.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Portugués: Fluido

  • Edad

    39

  • Nacionalidad

    English

  • Algo más...

    For me, Workaway is all about exchange; I would like to come away having learned a new piece of life and participated in a whole new culture, whilst I hope to bring a small piece of my country and myself with me, offering you help in whatever way I can. I want real relationships and a good connection with life again.

    I have always wanted to travel more and now I have found this site and the time is now right for me to do it. I love animal even though I have never owned one due to my lifestyle and living in cities. I would love to have the experience of being around them.

    Although I like the idea of working away on a farm or something like that. I am also comfortable living in cities too. Now I am looking for something different that is more fulfilling.

    I have found time to have a relationship with myself and am enjoying this. I would like to find out similar sorts of people and listen to others experience in life more.

    Thanks for taking the time to read my stuff and I hope you are well and that I see you all soon 😉

  • Más información

    • Fumador

    • Permiso de conducir

    • Alergia
      Penicillin

    • Dieta especial

Comentarios


Amigos

Fotos

Comentarios