Permaculture center in Yucatán is looking for Farmstewards, Mexico

Country

México

actualizado  

1061 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    35  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    26/01/2022

  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook

    276

  • Medallas

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  1 mes o más

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    **️️️ PLEASE READ ALL THE INFO ON THIS PROFILE CAREFULLY *️️️*️️️

    As of 2022 we have changed the way we work at our place and currently require long term commitment from any applicants. Please only write if you are interested in 3 months + stay.

    The conditions for the exchange will vary depending on your skills and the needs of the season at the farm, we will need to have a live interview to get into these details.

    You can read our original profile below, where you will get a pretty clear sense of the proJect.


    ** PROJECT DESCRIPTION **

    We are a small Mexican family living and working at a permaculture learning center in the heart of the Yucatán peninsula. We work as a small scale farm where we strive to produce most of our food in the veggie gardens and food forest, along with some free range poultry and the occasional gathering of wild edibles. We harvest honey from our apiary and trade/sell it to help us out economically.

    A bit about us. We have formal education in psychology/neuroscience, graphic arts as well as permaculture design. We love being around natural, untouched and wild spaces, we enjoy discovering new and interesting lifeforms of all kinds as well as their relationship to their surroundings. We are very comitted to a low-impact lifestyle and we do our best to raise our kids with the same appreciation for our beloved mother-earth in all its diversity.

    Some of our activities include:

    Tropical agroforestry guilds of forest species along edible crops
    Habitat regeneration / conservation / reforestation and wildlife rescue
    Organic / generative horticulture
    Free range poultry
    Beekeeping
    Eco-building From local materials such as earth, wood, stone, vines and recycled goods.
    Herbal medicine We have trained with local traditional Mayan healers and learned some remedies as well as the preparation of soaps and other cosmetics.
    Teaching We enable and host workshops and courses for building, gardening, herbal medicine, permaculture, etc. We are also part of an elementary school project in the nearby town of Valladolid

    *️️️*️️️*️️️*️️️*️️️ IMPORTANT *️️️*️️️*️️️*️️️*️️️

    We need you to include the following info in your request message:

    - Name and number of travelers (optional: nationality and age)

    - Desired dates for your stay. We need approximate arrival and departure dates, be as precise as possible, thank you!
    We require a minnimim commitment of TWO weeks.

    - A brief description of your previous experience (farming or other)

    - Any special skills or trades you can bring to the table.

    We need at least two weeks notice for all applications.

    Once we receive this information, and if the space is available we will send you a link to a PDF file which you should also read carefully. The final step is to reply with a confirmation and the space is yours.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    You will have hands on experience at a low impact, sustainable household and small scale farm. If you've read the profile so far you know all the areas involved.

    We will also share knowledge about the Mayan culture and the local history of the region and our country. This will enable you to better understand the people in the area and the current historical situation they find themselves in.

    You can also get insight on the best places to do your shopping/travelling while contributing to the local economy and socially oriented proyects, as opposed to "big tourism".

    We an also offer you a special price on some great quality fresh products from the farm, like honey or eggs (when available).

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    As a volunteer you will participate in some or all of the following activities:

    Making compost, watering, weeding, trimming, planting, transplanting, pest control, mulching, etc. Painting, building, woodwork, roadwork, poultry (feeding and cleaning coops).

    We also need help around the kitchen and cleaning/keeping things in order as well as some light babysitting.

    Farm work starts early! Be advised that you will need to be up and ready around 6 am (earlier in the summer months). We expect volunteers to be punctual.

    We divide our time between the farm and some personal and community projects so we need volunteers to "farmsit" occasionally (once every two or three weeks), it's for two or three days and we will be sure to program activities and assign roles. This enables the practice of organizational skills as well as group decision making. It will be up to you to choose when to tackle which projects and when to take cover in the shade or even go for a swim in the nearby cenotes.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Our volunteer center is a Mayan thatched hut with palm roofing, where there are double and single beds, and hammocks. Palapas are open constructions, so the ground floor has no walls (only mosquito net) to maintain a cool climate inside.

    If the space at the palapa is full, we can set you up in a camping tent with access to the toilet/shower and kitchen.

    Be advised that this is an off-grid project. It's a 20 minute walk to the nearest road where you can usually get a ride from passing neighbors to the nearest town which is 10km away. From there its easy to get on a bus or taxi to go pretty much anywhere you like.

    The nearest place to find internet is about 35km away near the famous site of Chichén Itzá.

    Our diet is mostly vegetarian dishes, but we also eat meat every now and then (we keep chickens and ducks). We offer breakfast and lunch plus the occasional snack. If you are used to a big meal before bed you should bring your own ingredients.

    We have small children, so we're usually in bed by 7 or 8 pm. The volunteer zone is some distance from our bedroom, but we still prefer quiet evenings/nights (if you've had experience trying to get toddlers to sleep you know what we mean).

    Please bring your own sleeping bag and blankets. A yoga mat or similar is recommended.

    There is also a camping zone to set up your own tent if you prefer and a place to do laundry by hand.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Yucatán is thriving with natural beauty and age-old Mayan sites!

    There are many cenotes (google it) and ancient pyramids within a 50km radius; public transportation is accesible and we can help you set up tours tailored to your interests; we also go out for quick swims or visits to archaeological sites when its possible and you are welcome to join us (each person pays their own entrance fee when applicable)

    We've been working and learning in many permaculture projects all over Mexico for over 7 years now, so if you are interested in learning about sustainable, healthy and happy living, you will receive hands on experience on strategies for an energy-descent future.

    Our "guy in charge" Lino used to work as an english-spanish translator and simultaneous interpreter, so if you are interested, you can also practice the language.

    Keep in mind, we are surrounded by a tropical jungle which entails all sorts of encounters with all sorts of wildlife (plant or animal); from mosquitoes, to wild hogs, from orchids to poison ivy... if you have no experience in such environments, we are more than happy to help you with the transition, but we want you to be aware of the situation beforehand.

    With that in mind, please bring adequate gear, such as work boots (waterproof during July-October) jeans or long pants, hat and light shirts.

    Please leave all non-degradable waste at your last stop. We compost all that is "compostable", but any crisp packets, plastic baggies and such will go back in your own bag.

    We require a donation of US 5.00 daily per person. This helps cover some expenses like utility services, gas for the pickup and shopping trips, food sources which we can't or aren't producing here, etc. Please understand that we are in no way trying to make a profit out of volunteers. All this money will go to your own benefit. Thank you very much.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Este anfitrión dice que acepta a viajeros con mascotas.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    5 hours. Usually starting between 6 and 630 am

  • ...

    Este anfitrión cobra una tarífa

    leer más
    US$5 per day contribution towards community project & food (if staying for less than 4 weeks)





















Número de referencia de anfitrión: 997627661619