Help us create our resilient small-holding and buildings in Podlaskie, Poland

Country

Polonia

170 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    28  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    28/10/2020

  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook

    164

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 3 dias

  • Medallas

    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Una semana o menos

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Update 9 June 2020. We're OPEN despite the covid situation. In May we started (slowly) renovating the derelict old main house. There will be lots of woodwork going on. The walls will be insulated with straw and we plan to use some old polish building techniques. We have a number of other projects going on at the same time, and of course about 50 animals to feed and look after... There are always plenty of things to do, things to improve. We try to adapt work to our visitor's skills and interests. We love it when volunteers create artwork on our walls. We look forward to meeting you :) *️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️
    __

    Hi. We're Henry, Kasia and Maia. We're an Anglo-Polish couple and we took the plunge and moved in Spring 2015 to this small farm in rural NE Poland. It's a lovely sheltered spot surrounded by woods and away from the road. It was all run down but we've made a LOT of progress already. We love having volunteers and we will make lots of effort to accommodate you as long as you are willing and able to fit in to our busy working environment. We do work hard and long hours, but we don't expect more from volunteers than is in the Workaway contract (max 4-5hrs).

    When we first arrived we were living in a tent and getting water from the well in a bucket. We've since renovated the old garage into a communal kitchen/living/dining space. We built a yurt, and then a small straw bale cottage for my 77 year old mother who peacefully passed away after two years of living here. A couple of years ago we renovated an old goat house for storage space and also converted the end of it into comfy accommodation for two people. We insulated the old goat house and the kitchen with straw and plastered it with clay, which has worked very well. I haven't heard about many people doing this so it's quite interesting maybe. Also the technique for making the continuous arched walls/roof of our strawbale cottage is quite unique and interesting. Eventually we have an old house that we want to renovate/convert and we are getting plans together for that.

    We have 9 goats and we get daily fresh milk. Occasionally we make cheese. We have about 30 chickens living in our woods and guinea fowl, so we have fresh eggs too. We have two dogs and three cats, oh and a rabbit, and most recently 5 ducks! Quack!

    We planted lots of trees and shrubs around the place and expanded our no-dig vegetable patches. The goats and chickens have been helping us tidy up our orchards. We've made swales and hugelbeds and we're trying to integrate permaculture design and principles into the place. We respect nature and we try to limit our resource, machine and chemical use.

    Our daughter is now nearly eight, is helping us as much as she can, and she's always up for playing, running, making us laugh, and otherwise distracting us. She's really creative and determined and has good social skills. She is on holiday until the beginning of September.

    We're looking for volunteers for our gardening and building work, for spending time with our daughter doing creative/arty things (or even just reading a book).

    There are big forests around, also Poland's biggest National Park about 12km away.

    Any questions, do get in touch :-)

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Mantenimiento general
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Ayuda doméstica
    Cuidado de animales
    Práctica de idiomas
    Proyectos artísticos

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    You can see the reality of the early years of moving from a city life to a derelict farm site and trying to convert it into a beautiful living and working space using permaculture principles. Henry is often keen to talk about permaculture and philosophy and we have a fairly good library here.

    Previous volunteers have commented that they've learned all sorts of things.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Upcoming volunteering help (winter): charcoal making, forest work, firewood, greenhouse building, wood working (door making, shelf construction, etc.), (Spring and summer): various building projects, clay plastering, gardening, compost, extending vegetable gardens. We do expect some help with the other chores like cooking, washing up, tending the fire for hot water, etc.

    We're open to other possibilities. Come and create art, help entertain and educate our little girl.

  • Idiomas hablados

    English: Fluido
    Polish: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Accommodation seems pretty comfortable now compared to last year! We've recently made some good accommodation in the goat shed. It's quite cool in there in the summer but no heating for winter. We also have a beautiful yurt that can be available. There's also comfortable shelter and a sofa-bed in the kitchen.

    We have running water from a well, electricity, cooking facilities, a washing machine and dryer, an outside composting toilet and a solar shower.

    Internet and phone reception is sometimes limited on our beautiful site sheltered by trees (but seems to be getting better).

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Tourist facilities are fairly limited in the immediate area. The local town is about 10km away - plenty of hardware and food shops, but otherwise pretty basic facilities.

    There's rich local flora and fauna, including elk, wild boar and wolves.

    There's places for walking, cycling, and fairly good tourist centres less than an hour's drive away. We have bikes that can be borrowed.

    We try to go away for day trips together with volunteers from time to time if there is an opportunity. We enjoy bonfires sometimes in the evenings.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)






















Número de referencia de anfitrión: 994757621214