Off grid life, quinta care, gardening and natural building in beautiful surroundings in the mountains of Coimbra and Center, Portugal

Country

Portugal

358 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    32  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    17/11/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    78.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 12 dias

  • Medallas

    Top Host
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Come and join us here in these stunning surroundings, learn, share, grow, relax, enjoy ☀️

    We are a busy, buzzy family of 2 adult (45 and 44) , 3 children (15, 11 and 5), 1 dog, 2 cats, 5 sheep, and 5 chickens. We left the UK 5 years ago in our motorhome and after travelling for 1 year we found a beautiful spot in Central Portugal where we wanted to begin to create something new for ourselves. We moved onto the land here in August and enjoyed a scorching hot summer and an abundance of grapes, figs, peaches, walnuts, cherries, apples, pears and more. Then in October there was a huge fire in Central Portugal and our Quinta burned. We have remained here and watched it regrow over the last 5 years. We have come a long way in these 5 years. We have journeyed from van life to yurt life and now we are living in a fully functioning off grid house!

    The land has also come a long way and now the olives, figs and peaches, pears, plums, walnuts, chestnuts, kiwis, passion fruits and apricots all bear fruits again! The bird song has increased year on year and the crickets, frogs and owls all create a symphony of song that sounds like we are in the jungle!

    We have planted 3,000 new trees in partnership with our beautiful friends and we have eaten very well from our veggie garden, filling the larder with courgette chutney!. We have listened as the sound of life gradually returns to the valley and now we have enjoyed sights like snakes eating frogs and beautiful swarms of white butterflies enjoying the wild flowers. It was hard to believe that life would come back like this after the fire, but nature prevails.

    We have a lot of work to do here on the land, it's big land and we have big plans and as a home educating family, just our day to day life takes lots of our time. Our two boys attend an education project in Benfeita 3 days per week which Tamzin is also involved in. Tamzin also teaches Yoga and Dance classes off Quinta. Justin works as a Carpenter off site as well as on so our schedule is varied and changeable.

    We have just completed a natural building project in which we built a roundhouse for holiday rental, retreats and workshops. We still have a few things to do to improve the site like laying a path so that needs helping hands.

    The garden is a continuous project which needs lots of love, strimming, composting, weeding, preparing, planting and harvesting. We have 5 sheep now and we need to do some fencing so that we can move them and ultimately we want to build a bigger animal shelter to house the new additions.
    Olive harvest and pruning time is fast approaching so we need help for that also.

    We would really love to get people here to help us and to share life with us.

    The yurt deck and horsebox kitchen area that we lived in before the house was ready has now become a communal area for volunteers as well as being part of the off grid rental that we have created. We have space on the land for vans to park and loads of space for pitching tents when the weather is warm enough.. We have a caravan that can sleep 2 and our lovely family motorhome that can sleep 2 more.

    As a family, we love to cook and eat, listen to and play music (not very well), dance and sing. We love to share food and stories with friends old and new and we savour our memories made while being workawayers ourselves. We would love to hear from people young and old, who love to work and play and who want to learn together and would like to share some time together here. We look forward to welcoming you to this beautiful little part of the world and to sharing ideas and space together.

    Our land is between the villages of Pomares and Corgas. Pomares has one of the cleanest river beaches in this area with a cafe/bar, small village shop, tiny hardware store, post office, Saturday butchers, visiting veg van and daily bread van. There are many river beaches in this area and beautiful mountains. The towns of Oliveira do Hospital, Arganil and Tabua are all around 30 mins drive away and have weekly markets. The city of Coimbra is around 1 hour 15 mins drive. Porto airport is about 2 1/2 hours drive and Lisbon about 3 hours. The most straight forward way of travelling here is by car but there are other options. This area is quiet and remote, peaceful and gradually filling with nature again. It is a place to come and slow down. Nothing happens with any speed. The local community here are Portuguese, we are among very few estrangeiros in this village, however there is an International mix of people wider afield. There are regular estrangeiro markets in the villages of Coja and Benfeita and we are part of a nice size community of home educating families within the area. We are a sociable family with lots of friends and we love to involve volunteers in our life as much as possible. We have a 7 seater van so there is usually space for you to come out and about with us, exploring the life of the mountains. we also have family bicycles which you are welcome to borrow to cycle to the local river beaches for a cooling dip. The weather is already beautiful and hot here. Come and join us.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Práctica de idiomas
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Enseñanza
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We are an English speaking family who still feel new to living in Portugal. We are learning to speak Portuguese and we are learning about running a Quinta and live off grid. Every day there is so much to learn. Those who come to join us here will learn with us, from us or will teach us. Justin is experienced in Carpentry and Joinery and Tamzin practices and teaches dance and yoga. We try to live our lives in an open hearted way and welcome travellers from all cultures and walks of life to share the culture from which we came and that which we are now immersing ourselves in.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We need help from people who have building, carpentry skills, solar, plumbing, gardening and knowledge of permaculture, tree chopping, dry stone walling, Portuguese speaking, cooking for home as well as generally motivated, enthusiastic, interested lovely people who like children, dogs, and exercise.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Portugués: Intermedio
    Español: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We have a horsebox with double bed and kitchen, we have a motorhome with 2 double beds and a caravan with 2 single beds. We also have a 6 metre bel tent.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We would love to welcome people here to join us who are interested in helping out, getting stuck in to the work and family life but we also want them to enjoy their own time and space and make the most of the experience of being in this area. We have a family car and would be very happy to take people out with us when we are going places anyway. There are also local buses which you can catch to go as far as Lisbon or as near as the other mountain villages. There are beautiful walks and river beaches to enjoy. We have dipping pools and hammocks and plenty of space for contemplation. Tamzin is also so happy to share movement practices with anyone interested in that.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    We can't provide internet for you but if you have your own then you can use the horsebox kitchen as an office.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    We have loads of space for campervans. We have a 6 metre Hymer which manages the access no problem. We have a place where you can fill with water. We are an organic farm with vermicompost toilet so have no place for emptying chemical toilet.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Este anfitrión dice que acepta a viajeros con mascotas.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    5 hours where possible (max 25 hours/week)

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (4.9)

Intercambio cultural: (4.8)

Comunicación: (5.0)






















Número de referencia de anfitrión: 986875928314