Join our family and explore Katherine, Australia

Country

Australia

12 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    11/05/2022

 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos un mes

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are an Irish-Australian couple with a 3.5 year old son. We have been travelling around Europe, using couchsurfing and warmshowers a lot, over the past year and half. Now we are back home in Katherine, Northern Territory. We both work and study part-time, which keeps us busy and we've just moved into a new house, which keeps us even more busy!

    Katherine is an interesting little town with a great community spirit and some lovely spots to visit such as the Katherine hot springs, Nitmiluk national park (Katherine Gorge and Edith falls), Mataranka thermal springs nearby.
    We have lived in Katherine for a good few years and so, can offer you plenty of local advice and introduce you to some interesting people.

    We're looking for someone / a couple who would like to do one or more of the following: -

    * provide some childcare a few days a week
    * help with digging, planting and generally establishing a garden
    * make/install furniture like cupboards, shelving, etc.

    In return we can offer a room, food and fun!

    Ideally we're looking for one person / a couple who are able to commit to a month, preferably longer, but if that's too long, shorter is fine. The minimum would be five nights.

    If you want to know more about us, see our warmshowers profiles (linked) or search for us on couchsurfing (not linked as couchsurfing currently has some IT issues)!

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We have lived and worked in the Katherine region for many years so could offer some local insights. We are pretty well travelled and enjoy spending time and sharing stories with others from around the world. We love food, wine, music (mostly listening, sometimes playing), and we enjoy socialising (as much as is possible with a little one!). So you are welcome to meet our friends and enjoy a few beers with us, or come play frisbee, or sing, or whatever we are doing. We fully appreciate that you might not want to spend all your time with us! So you do whatever you feel like during your free time, of course!
    We have bikes for your use and happy to share our home and things with you generally.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Mostly child care for our 2.5 year old. We would like to find someone that enjoys spending time with young kids and can be his playmate!
    If you like cooking we can share meals. If not, no problem, we can cook. And then just normal 'housemate' stuff, which we would all share such as washing dishes, tidying up after yourself, etc.
    We are looking for someone / a couple that are willing to commit to a minimum of one month.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Alemán: Fluido
    Irish: Intermedio
    Ruso: Intermedio
    Francés: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Private room in our house, with a garden. The house is within walking distance of town, and near the river. We will provide food, and we eat well. But if you would like to cook we are very happy to share cooking. We try to eat as much organic food (as we can get in Katherine), we eat meat but only a few times a week and mostly kangaroo.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Swim at the hot springs, walk along the river, swim or paddle in the river at low level, drink coffee at cafes, see a movie at the film society, go fishing on Katherine river, visit the local art gallery or attend an exhibition opening, visit the town museum, jam with local musicians, sing in the community choir, take part in a community arts workshop, play sports (ultimate frisbee, soccer, rugby, AFL, cricket, athletics, triathlon club, cycle, swim at the 50m town pool)....so much to do!

    Further afield you can camp/swim/hike at multiple beautiful locations such as Nitmiluk, Leilyn, Mataranka thermal springs, visit Darwin, Kakadu national park, Litchfield national park (many will require a car).

    Or you could just lie in a hammock and read a book :)

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    We don't have Wi-Fi, we just hotspot from our Mobile phones so you would need your own internet.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    You could park a hiace sized van in our driveway, but nothing bigger really.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    5 hours a day, 2-3 days a week, or another combination that makes up about 15 hours-ish. We are pretty flexible.


Número de referencia de anfitrión: 977972539453