Experience rural life and learn about growing fruit trees during a homestay in the Muğla region of Turkey

Country

Turquía

59 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    05/10/2021

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 5 dias

  • Medallas

 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    My family consists of me, two cats and either one or two dogs (I foster so I'm never sure, as I have one of my own and sometimes foster one). My name is Carol, I'm English and I retired to Turkey in 2006. My days mainly consist of nurturing and maintaining my fruit farm which is my garden, not a commercial enterprise. There would be the opportunity to learn how to look after a variety of fruit trees and even eat the delicious fruit straight from the tree. I also work with the street animals in my village, feeding and caring for them. My home is in a very quiet area and I am surrounded by stunning scenery with a wonderful variety of wildlife in and around the place where I live.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Mantenimiento general
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Cuidado de animales

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Travellers would benefit from visiting Turkey, seeing what a beautiful country it truly is, meeting the locals and seeing what a lovely people they are. Also, it may be of interest for them to learn how I transformed my life when I came to Turkey from a desk-bound job to working on the land and how I have learnt to run a non commercial fruit farm since arriving here. The area where I live is not touristic at all and shopping at the local Saturday market is a great adventure. The local resort has predominantly Turkish visitors so it would be an all-round Turkish experience.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    My house is situated in 2000 sq metres of agricultural land. To the front of the house is a garden and pool. To the sides and back are fruit orchards and a small banana plantation. Help would be needed to cut back trees, control weeds and look after the bananas. There may also be small painting and maintenance projects around the house. Possibly help may be needed in laying weed matting and gravelling a few small areas of garden. Although my home is a fruit farm, it is not a commercial enterprise.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Turco: Principiante

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    One comfortable and spacious double bedroom in a detached, single-story, self-contained villa, complete with air conditioning and private bathroom, with constant hot water for a shower or even a bath if preferred. The living area is open plan with a lounge, dining room and kitchen. Food will be provided but sharing of cooking and kitchen duties would be appreciated. If you would prefer to venture out alone, there are a good selection of lokantas and restaurants in the village and the local resort where a delicious meal is available at a reasonable price, all coupled with the renowned Turkish hospitality.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    There are many local places of interest, quite a few of which are served by a reliable bus service. The local resort of Akyaka has a crystal clear river running into the beautiful turquoise sea. Boat trips run to stunning, secluded bays, offering opportunities to swim and there is usually a stop at Cleopatra Island, a place of archaeological and historical interest. There is also the more touristic resort of Marmaris which is accessible by bus during the day. It is a busy resort with many bars and restaurants, boats moored in the marina, plus shopping malls, supermarkets and the covered bazaar. The local village is around a 20 minute walk and offers family run shops, lokantas offering local cuisine, and a bar. Of course there are also the tea houses that offer a real taste of the local culture and perhaps an opportunity to pick up a few words of Turkish. There are also two mosques, one at either end of the village, where you will hear the call to prayer sung in the most beautiful tones. There would also be the opportunity to meet the street dogs and cats, pet them, feed them and maybe get to know them a little. There is also a bus service to the nearest town which is Mugla. There are museums, street markets, a huge weekly market and old style Turkish houses giving a flavour of modern Turkey mixed with the traditional. The scenery in this area is stunning, as is the wildlife so a visit here would be ideal for anyone with a keen interest in photography. There are a lot of options for people who enjoy walking and taking in the views. My villa has a private pool which would be available for use during leisure time. What I would ask from anybody staying in my home is that they treat my belongings with respect, keep the rooms clean and help with the cooking now and then.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    There is a lay-by outside my house that would comfortably house a VW sized camper van.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)





Número de referencia de anfitrión: 976219454834