Family off-grid homestead on a unique island in Canada! Help with day to day living and building on Lasqueti

Country

Canadá

70 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    04/05/2020

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 7 dias

  • Medallas

    Good Host
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    My name is Petra and I have two sons, Trematon and Nicholas and two cats, Thor and Odin. Our life goal is to continue to work on our off-grid 10 acres to become more self sufficient. Our homestead always needs help with new projects or improving existing systems.

    Although we are new to signing up here we have been lucky enough to have had people come to stay from other workaway hosts and decided to actually sign up this year.

    We live part time (away for education) on beautiful Lasqueti Island, one of more rural Gulf Islands in British Columbia. Here you will find an island that lives completely off-grid, no paved roads, no police, strong sense of community, one small convenience store, one bar/restaurant/hotel/gas station all rolled into one, one Free Store, multiple cookie-stands run by the self-serve honor system, an arts center, eccentric characters, feral sheep, billions of stars, gardens galore, houses and structures made in all shapes and forms by all different types of materials. Its an island to learn from, and to share your knowledge.

  • Tipo de ayuda

    Tipo de ayuda

    Jardinería
    Construcción
    Mantenimiento / bricolage
    Cocinar / compras
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda en proyecto ecológico
    Ayuda en casa
    Ayuda con animales

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Lasqueti is a unique island in the Salish Sea that is served by a foot passenger only ferry and is off grid. This setting offers the opportunity to experience daily off grid living in a cultural experience that can only be described as Lasquetian.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Daily work changes depending on the project focus.

    Most of our building work is done by human-power, which means lots of wheel-barrowing, shovel-digging, and log-dragging activities. At the moment we are looking for people that can split firewood with an axe, use a wheelbarrow to move the split firewood, and finally stack the firewood in the designated location.

    We also need help with day to day living which includes help in the house, general maintenance, and gardening-helping to maintain beds, fruit and nut trees.

    Projects for 2019 include firewood, creating a cedar split rail fence, refinishing the cob outhouse, starting to build a sauna/salt room cabin, gardening, and landscaping around an expanded pond.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Idiomas hablados

    English

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We will provide all the food in exchange for your volunteering.

    There is a small cabin that can host up to 2 couples with a loft bed and a lower bed.

    There are also places to camp.

    There is a beautiful cob outhouse and access to a hot shower in the main house.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Lasqueti is a unique community full of so many interesting and creative people that are willing to teach and share. It is full of many crafters, musicians, and artists. There is a summer Saturday market, community events and workshops, miles of hiking, swimming, rocky bluffs and the chance to try out canoeing.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)





Número de referencia de anfitrión: 969125977358