actualizado  

Experience three U.S. States with this flexible homestay in Arizona, USA

  • Estados Unidos
  • 1035 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 5 jun 2023

DISPONIBILIDAD

  2023 

 Estancia mínima:  Sin mínimo

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalles

  • Descripción

    Descripción

    WELCOME TO ARIZONA!

    KEY DUTIES: German Tutoring, Housesitting, Yardwork/Landscaping.
    KEY BENEFITS: Private Bedroom, Full House Privileges, Meal Stipend, Grand Canyon Camping, Colorado River Kayaking, Scenic Roadtrips, English Tutoring.


    This is a basic homestay opportunity for young travelers in my Western Arizona residence. Bullhead City is a water-recreation destination on the Colorado River. Laughlin, Nevada, is across the river; California is 18 miles downstream.


    ABOUT ME

    I'm a retired tax attorney. I am also a Certified Financial Planner. I have worked from home for many years (even pre-COVID), and have a relatively flexible schedule that enables me to have ample time to spend with my guests.

    Before relocating to Arizona fourteen years ago, I lived in Manhattan and worked as an attorney for one of Europe's largest investment banks. I have also taught economics, finance and business ethics at the college level.

    I have a B.S. in Business & Economics, an M.A. in Economics, and a J.D. (law degree), which I earned at age 36.

    Two years ago I moved from Phoenix to Bullhead City to be closer to my aging parents, who live in Las Vegas. My father was recently placed into memory care.

    I live a modest, minimalist (yet comfortable) lifestyle in which my primary leisure activity is escaping into nature. This can mean scenic drives, hiking, kayaking or other serene, slow-paced outdoor activities. If you've read Thoreau or Emerson, then you'll have an idea of how I live.

    I'm an avid chess player and a less-avid video gamer. I follow European soccer, especially the Bundesliga. My favorite team is Borussia Dortmund. My favorite player is Julian Brandt.

    I have been an active host using similar websites for many years. I always enjoy having interesting young people from around the world staying with me, whether for culture and language exchange or to take on various projects.

    (Please note that you will see many comments in my references about my dog Ivan/ He passed away receently. There are currently no pets in the house.)

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Trabajo de caridad
    Proyectos artísticos
    Práctica de idiomas
    Enseñanza
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Besides structured assistance with your English if you like, I can offer the following:

    --Guests who stay at least one week get an overnight camping trip to the Grand Canyon and a morning kayaking on Lake Mohave (part of Lake Mead National Recreation Area), weather permitting. Many other destinations, either as day trips or overnight camping, are possible (I have a six-person tent for guests while I sleep in the minivan with the dog).

    --An in-depth introduction to U.S. law, courts, legislative processes and jurisprudence for those interested in comparative legal systems. My particular areas of interest are constitutional issues, individual rights, and tort law.

    --I taught college-level economics and finance, and was an investment banker for many years. I would be happy to share my knowledge and expertise in these fields (e.g., how U.S. financial markets work, how securities are valued, and how macroeconomic policies are implemented).

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    I am very flexible about the ways my guests can contribute to my home, and I can always find a way for you to earn your stay. If you have any special skill, then bring it!

    Some specific ways to help:

    --Guests hoping to improve their English can let me practice my tutoring skills on them.

    --Artists can create something for the house (I will cover the cost of all materials).

    --Astronomy enthusiasts can share their knowledge (I have a 70mm refractor telescope, and my area is elevated and has very little light pollution).

    --Have a favorite board, card or online game? Teach it to me!

    --I have some A/V projects that involve my early (pre-digital) travel photos and videos.

    --If we roadtrip together, then you can help with the driving, campsite set-up, etc.

    --I am working on beautifying my backyard and would love to set up a flower garden and possibly an herb garden.

    --I have converted my garage into a recreation room (sometimes called a "man cave"). Still under construction; help always needed.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Alemán: Intermedio

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    My German proficiency is around B1, maybe B2 on a good day. My command of grammar rules is excellent, but my vocabulary is relatively weak. I have been trained in Teaching English as a Foreign Language (TEFL) and have assembled a collection of materials (books, videos, websites) to help intermediate speakers improve their English. As an intermediate speaker of German, I fully appreciate the challenges of trying to reach fluency of a second language.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Spare bedroom in private home. There is a full-size bed (and a folding bed for a second guest), and a desk suitable for laptop use (a great set-up for online learners and digital entrepreneurs).

    You have full access to the kitchen as well as the living room, laundry room and backyard. The large-screen TV has a Roku with Netflix, Hulu, Amazon Prime, Disney+, ESPN+, and many free channels. I also have an Xbox Series X with Game Pass and an Oculus Quest 2 VR headset.

    There is top-tier wi-fi throughout the house.

    The (unheated) community pool and hot tub are available year-round.

    For bicyclists, I have a men's hybrid touring bike in very good condition that you can borrow (though my area is quite hilly).

    Parking is not a problem, if you happen to have a car.

    You can reach my general area by inter-city bus (Greyhound or Flixbus) or train (Amtrak).

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    THREE STATES FULL OF THINGS TO DO

    Millions of people make their way to our desert community annually to enjoy the Colorado River, Lake Mohave and the warm seasonal temperatures. Across the river, Laughlin, Nevada, provides year-round casino entertainment. If you’re over 21 and would like to learn how to play casino games like blackjack or craps, I am happy to teach you.

    River recreation options include swimming, boating, canoeing, kayaking, stand-up paddleboarding, jet-ski rentals and fishing, all at Big Bend of the Colorado. On the other side of Davis Dam is Lake Mohave (my preferred kayaking destination).

    I can gladly take you to the Grand Canyon, or any of our other wonderful national parks in the region (Zion, Bryce, Death Valley, Joshua Tree), so long as you cover the cost of gas and campsites. Reach out for details.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    As someone who already worked remotely pre-COVID, my home has always been well-configured for telecommuters and remote learners. I have excellent high-speed Internet and wifi, a land-line telephone, a spare desktop computer, a printer and scanner. You will also have all the privacy you need in the guest room. If you are studying online, I will totally accommodate your coursework's schedule and time requirements.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    I can easily accommodate a car, minivan or campervan. A larger vehicle such as an RV might pose some challenges, but we can figure it out.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    1-2 hours per day , 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 967695273928

Comentarios (48)



Fotos

Comentarios

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)


















































Ayudanos y conoce el hermoso lugar de Captain Cook en Hawaii
Learn to grow your own food on an organic minded farm in Louisa, Virginia, USA