Permaculture, unschooling and sustainable living in Transilvania, Romania

Country

Rumanía

actualizado  

280 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    16/05/2022

  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook

    662

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 3 dias

  • Medallas

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2022 
E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Once upon a time (in the year 2015) we wished to find a property with an old house, spring and rock on it, but still in a village somewhere we could practice permaculture ideas, live happily, have our little humans and see what we could do to be sustainable. That dreamy idea had its twists and turns until the right place was found. Since the autumn of 2018 we have been visiting  this long before abandoned property with a Blue House, 2 barns, apple and plum tree orchards and increasing time we spend here. We started with a tent and cooking meals on a bonfire. Last winter became our first winter and this is our second and we love it here! 
    Our playground is huge! We have 3 young kids(2, 4, 6yo), 3cats, a dog and a changing number of goats and chickens and guinea fowls. We are surrounded by forest!
    We made our living space in a barn while goats and chickens are living in the house. That's true. We are about to make our second barn for visitors to stay. We have plenty of building projects going one and one day we will build a house for goats and chickens and reclaim the old blue house for ourselves! One day we will get there!
    In the meantime spring is on the way and we have doubled the size of our gardens. We did a lot of work in autumn! We even plan to plant some alfalfa for goats. We are about to arrange a small mushroom plantation and a little tea plantation. We hope to graft some trees in our wild orchards and plant some more bushes and berries. might even start trees from seeds. We want and need to build some chicken tractor and try to see if our chickens would sit on eggs. We hope to have baby goats and they need to have some fencing done. We are thinking of adding some rabbits this year so they need homes too.
    We need to work with water systems starting from gray water management, welt and lake...another big thing! We are building kilns and we plan to make several this year.
    Living conditions: we have a caravan for guests, but we are about to arrange some living space in the other barn. We have running water(from the spring) , we also have an outside shower/bath with hot water. We used to live off-grid (we have solar panels and the whole system) but in the winter it is too hard so we fixed the grid electricity, and we have internet. Our place is accessible just by 4x4 car or walking. It’s around 40 min walk from nearest village Balsa where there is access to shops and public transport. We have a friendly community/neighborhood, it's possible to meet some other hosts and guests just 15min away.
    We are looking for human humans- experience, presence. hehe... hard to say for what exactly...someone to share our passions with, someone who would be interested in building with local materials, someone who would be interested in some specific project but would not mind to live a daily life with us, we mean to have 3 kids and animals!  We have these forever ongoing tasks like digging, cutting woods, cutting grass, collecting woods, cleaning meadows, collecting materials for building, making mulch, collecting medicinal plants, foraging, preserving, watering... whatever you choose. We would love to have somebody who enjoys cooking from wild edibles and all you can find in our vegetable garden combined with some market goodies. Our diet is mostly plant based but we use milk from goats(mainly for yogurt and cheese), local eggs and we cook our own bread. Mushroom hunting is our big passion! Animals we do not hunt yet but it could happen (sometimes we get some wild pig meat from local hunters)! We are not vegetarians but we get along with vegetarians and vegans.
    We would love to have some time with a yoga teacher or some martial arts practitioner...we would like to try to practice more at some point in life.
    We are on a never ending learning path together with our kids. They are free range/ unschooling/ self led education if categorized :) we try not to. We were traveling for some years and now we love to do lots of local expeditions! We also like to hike and climb (rock climbing), we have some very nice places close by. 
    Since we have a lot of space we recently have been thinking of having long term relationships/extended family/community however it would come and would feel good. To create and enjoy creation together. Someone to shear with. To sink deep in this place and time we are given on earth.
    We moved from the city because we love to be in nature, we are not running from something, we don't believe in a global government spreading diseases, poisoning us from planes or through 5G or stuff like that.

    Before we moved to the countryside Dina was a ceramic artist and George an IT engineer. 

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Enseñanza
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Cocinar para toda la familia

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Generally speaking we are learning about permaculture and living in the countryside, we are not experts, so don’t expect that you will be coming to a well-established farm. But we have a lot of ideas and I expect that we will learn a lot of things together. We know a bit of wild plants, mushrooms so we can teach this.
    We are building stoves/kilns and this year we are planning to start doing this professionally.
    Also we know enough about: solar systems/ water heating systems to show you some functional stuff.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    The main activities this year:

    Spring:
    - Gardening (planting, add few new gardens)
    - Taking care of animals (feed goats & chicken, milk goats, walk with the goats)
    - Clearing land. We want to clear about 1 hectare of land: orchards and pastures overgrown with bushes in order to collect hay in the summer.
    - Taking care of the forest/orchards: pruning, selecting and cutting trees, planting new ones, grafting and starting a mushroom farm in the forest.
    - Collect birch and maple sap, make syrup out of it.
    - Build a summer kitchen: skin trees for the construction, make the frame and roof, make furniture (a lot of woodwork), build a stove for cooking
    - Transform an old barn into living space: clean-up, build a wooden ceiling (make our own planks or use branches), add windows/doors, plaster some walls.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Latvian (Lettish): Fluido
    Romanian: Fluido
    Ruso: Fluido
    Francés: Intermedio
    Italiano: Intermedio

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We have a caravan for guests (early spring), but we are about to arrange some living space in a barn (late spring).

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    The village is Balsa

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Este anfitrión dice que acepta a viajeros con mascotas.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (4.7)

Intercambio cultural: (4.7)

Comunicación: (5.0)






Número de referencia de anfitrión: 964861693679