Learn about organic gardening in Southern Oregon with amazing views and gardens, USA

Country

Estados Unidos

148 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    10  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    26/03/2021

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    83.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 4 dias

  • Medallas

    Super Host
 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Una semana o menos

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Update 12/20 - We live just outside the town of Talent, Oregon. Talent is one of two small towns that were devastated by the Almeda Fire this past September 2020. Over 2,500 homes were burned, plus many, many businesses – ½ of the families in the local school district lost their homes. We have offered the trailer that workawayers usually use for use by fire victims. Due to the lack of heat, we decided it wouldn’t be appropriate until Spring and they will revisit my offer then. All of this is to say, that I’m not sure if we will be taking workaway folks come Spring. Lots up in the air. You can let us know of your interest, but don't plan on it being available. If things change we will let you know.

    ****************************************************************************

    My husband (Dakota) and I (Anna) have a small farm on a hillside that looks out over a beautiful valley in Southern Oregon. We are in our late 60’s and early 70’s. We raise sheep and grow lots of fruits and veggies. We have ten sheep, four rabbits, a dog and a cat. We are looking for help with tasks around the farm and are happy to share what we have learned about organic gardening over the years. Also, I am studying Spanish and would love to practice speaking with a native speaker, though this is totally optional.

    We live a very quiet life. This is a perfect place for someone wanting a retreat atmosphere. I love a good conversation; Dakota is a bit more introverted. Our dog, Junie, is totally awesome and will play frisbee with you forever. Kitty Kat is more reserved. Dakota spends most of his time working on the farm. I spend much of my time on the farm but am also involved with various peace and environmental groups. I also teach classes in nonviolent communication and conflict resolution skills.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Práctica de idiomas
    Jardinería
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Mantenimiento general

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Our farm is located about 2 ½ miles from Talent, Oregon and 7 miles from Ashland, Oregon. This is an extremely active community around food and agricultural issues – lots of ways to plug in and learn. There is a great hot springs/pool in Ashland which is also the site of many music events. Ashland is also the home of the Oregon Shakespeare Festival. There are lots of hiking trails in the area, as well as rivers and mountains to explore.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We need help with general maintenance, tending the animals, and in the garden – planting, watering, weeding, weed-whacking, mulching, pruning, harvesting and preserving the harvest. What is needed varies through the seasons. There are also special projects from time to time. Please, no smokers, drugs, and only limited alcohol. We are looking for folks to come for 5 - 7 days. (If you only come for 5 days, one of those days would be a day off.)

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Intermedio

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We have a lovely “Scamp” travel trailer available for work away visitors. It has a double bed, refrigerator, stove and a shower. There is a toilet in the house - a very short distance from where the trailer is parked.
    The trailer is supplied with basic cooking and eating utensils, as well as some essential food items. Depending on the time of year, you are welcome to seasonal fruits and vegetables fresh from the garden. You are responsible for preparing your meals. We have erratic schedules but would enjoy sharing some meals together.

    Our farm is about 3 miles from the town of Talent, OR, which is just off Interstate 5. There is no public transportation to our farm, but there are buses from Medford (north of us) and Ashland (south of us) that would take you to Talent. Depending on your arrival time, I could possibly pick you up in Talent. But be aware that it isn't easy to come and go from here without a car. When I go to town, I'm happy to take you along.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Uno

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 3-4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)








Número de referencia de anfitrión: 963374252881