Help me build my straw bale house in Melsele, Belgium

  • Bélgica
  • 49 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 7 jun 2023



 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas



  • Descripción


    Hello, I am Carmen, a single mom and part time employed at a school, part time hand analyst. My son is 22 and studying in Ghent. My home is located between Antwerp and Ghent, in the Flemish region of Belgium, in a town called Beveren. You will have your own space with internet access, shared tv, bathroom and kitchen. I cook fresh meals every day. In your spare time you can easily explore as I am located very central with good public transport.
    I dream of living independent close to nature, and my first step is building a natural home, as much off the grid as possible. The place where we will be building is on a site with 2 ha of forest and you have the opportunity to camp there. The working site is half an hour drive from where I live, located in Hamme.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    My home in Melsele (Beveren Waas) is located in the heart of the Flanders region. You can easily explore the cities of Antwerp and Ghent. There is lots of things to do and fun things to visit.
    Flanders is know for its good food, local beers, chocolate,... and generous people.

  • Ayuda


    If you are interested in learning about natural building, you are very welcome. I will be building a straw bale house as much off the grid as possible.
    I started in February with putting together the wood frame. For now we are filling it up with straw bales and late summer finally stucco in loam. This will take probably until the end of October. The wood frame is finished now. From May till August you can learn how to stack, cut and properly infill straw bales. I will be doing all my pipes, wires and utilities myself. Next (in autumn) is the stucco in loam, first a thick layer, than a smooth layer and finally the finish.
    Depending on witch period you would like to stay I can offer different opportunities to learn. You just have to be handy and willing to learn about building. If you have building experience it is very welcome. It is physical work of course and if you have good work shoes it is useful if you bring them.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Holandés: Fluido
    Francés: Intermedio
    Alemán: Principiante

  • Alojamiento


    You will have your own space with internet access, shared bathroom, kitchen and TV. You will be staying in my house in Beveren where you have all the comforts of home. I cook fresh meals every day.
    Whenever we go to the building site, I will take you there by car (half an hour drive).

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    please contact me for details

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 8 hours a day, 3 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 961586371142

Comentarios (1)


Help us in our home and eco-garden in the countryside near Bruges, Belgium
Help us with putting objects for sale on the internet and doing some gardening in Ternat in the center of Belgium