Join us in the mountains and experience rural Gonçalo, Portugal

  • Portugal
  • 253 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 5 jun 2023



 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 3 semanas



  • Descripción


    Hi, and welcome to our Workaway profile!

    We are Alexia (31) and Luca (42), a French/Italian couple, creating our new life in rural Portugal We are a stone's throw from the Serra de Estrela mountains, surrounded by oak, pine, and chestnut trees.

    Myself Alexia, work remotely as a freelance writer, and Luca works full time on the land.

    After living in Paris, London, and Bali, and extensively traveling in Europe and Asia, we felt the call to live in the countryside, so we searched, found, and bought our 6 ha piece of land, and we are now, slowly, building our dream place.

    We are drawn to nature, striving to focus on what we truly want from life rather than working for someone else, to learn how to be self-reliant while focusing on projects that feed our souls.

    We have plenty of interests and passions, but lately, I am diving deeper into gardening, astrology, herbalism, and climate change education. Luca loves solving problems, DIYing his day between several projects, he is passionate about electronic music and much more.

    We live with two dogs, Soul and Serra, and the sweetest three cats called Tommy Luna and Sienna.

    If you are curious you can check out our profile on Instagram, ask me the page and I will share it with you.

    - Who are we looking for -

    We look for someone independent and mature, well organized and proactive. We work full days and weeks, hence not always can allow time to hang out, but this said, we value the importance to connect with our volunteers, and consciously find the time to spend together, whether is a walk, a meal or excursions to friends or neighbors for a meal and a drink.

    We expect you to be clean, honest, hardworking, and genuinely interested in helping and learning. Trust us you can find all of these qualities in both of us.

    We are the type of people who can truly go the extra mile for the right person, but we won't tolerate those who take the mickey and who are only looking for a free holiday. Those who have experience with work away/volunteering will surely understand! :)

    We live in a remote area: Gonçalo is only a few km down our mountain, and the next city, Guarda, is 25 min drive.

    Belmonte, another little town is also near. Having your own transport is best, but not essential as we often meet friends who also host other volunteers, so there will be plenty of occasions to socialize. We regularly go to Guarda, often stop for a coffee or a beer, and you are welcome to join the ride : )

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Práctica de idiomas
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Whether you're interested in making home made soap, laundry products, experimenting with making some fertilizer for the garden, or if you're into building, DIY, repairing, we have plenty of work in store. We will try to match your interests as much as possible.

    There is enough room to take initiative and express your creativity!

    Expect anything related to sustainable living, gardening and plants, foraging, building, DIY, photography, cooking veggie food! The list is long as ever growing : )

  • Ayuda


    5 hours - 5 days a week (food + accommodation in exchange)

    Food garden
    - build new raised beds, planting new crops
    - experimenting with cuttings propagation
    -harvesting food and cooking delicious meals!

    Building: there is a long list of building projects:
    - passive solar shower, vermicompost toilets, outdoor kitchenette, pizza oven,
    - improve accessibility around the land, maintaining paths and building new staircases/steps

    Land (according to experience)
    After the wildfires, our most recent mission is to help the land recover well and quickly, this involves:
    - clearing the land from dry and burned wood
    - gathering fire wood for the winter months
    - cutting/pruning trees
    - planting hedges, shrubs, plants and more trees!
    - general land management

    -> tasks depend on seasons. We can give you a real to-do list once you will be on your way here, but get in touch to know what we are up to lately!
    -> Regarding hours and days, we are flexible, which means that if you prefer to work in the afternoon rather than in the morning, it's possible. It is also possible for you to choose your days off, or even combining hours to have extra days off.... We can chat about this :)

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Fluido
    Italiano: Fluido
    Portugués: Intermedio

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    We would be delighted to speak more Portuguese! In exchange, we can also speak italian, french and english :)

  • Alojamiento


    - Our set up -

    We have been volunteering all around the world, so we truly understand the importance of providing a space that is clean and comfortable for you to enjoy your stay. And that is what we'll do.

    We are at an early stage of our project, but we can guarantee you this:

    - beautiful and remote spots with breathtaking views where to pitch your tent (we can provide tents, beddings, mattresses)
    - OR a caravan with a fridge and a real comfy bed (if available)
    - You will have your compost toilet to use and a hot shower.

    - Meals -
    Depending on the weather and season, we will mix eating together and doing our thing.
    Alexia has online meeting regularly, so she won't be able to cook every day of the week, so most of times you can manage your meals, we will provide you with a budget/groceries.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...


    Lots of trails and river beaches
    Nearest river beach: 13 min drive
    Manteigas and lots of sightseeing possibilities: 30 min by car
    Guarda: 20 min by car
    Belmonte: 20 min by car
    Village with a few cafes and small supermarkets 10 min drive

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    I work remotely as a freelance writer, and so, I'm always happy to have other creatives around : )

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Yes, we can have campervans and motorhomes on our land.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    It depends on the pet! We can chat about it!

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 957562533293

Comentarios (4)



Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (4.8)

Comunicación: (4.8)

Helpers are welcome in Coimbra District, Portugal
Horsey person welcome to help with grooming and maintenance in Grândola, Portugal