Se voluntario y aprende sobre sutentabilidad en Missouri

Country

Estados Unidos

232 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    30/08/2020

  • Medallas

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Our family lives on over 60 acres of mostly forested hill country in the Ozark Highland area of Missouri. Here, we have a lake and plenty of space for hiking and a lot of wildlife here and in the area. The lovely local rivers (Meramec, Courtois and Huzzah) are close-by, and America's two largest rivers, the Missouri and the Mississippi, are about an hour from here.

    Rex and Lorian have a business - Rex does landscape gardening and solar power installation, and we teach about solar and natural building. Lorian home-schooled their children (now 15 and the 21 y.o. is at University) and works with the business, as well as working part-time at the local state park. We have a pretty relaxed family with dogs, cats, poultry and a horse. We volunteer with two non-profit organizations, one is through our local State Park, which has a beautiful National Landmark, amazing Onondaga Cave. Our land is rugged and beautiful, but not manicured. We like things to be pretty natural, with fairly minimal impact and footprint, although some sprucing-up is always needed!

    We offer educational opportunities to others who share our desire to live a more sustainable life. Opportunities include a fusion of natural and alternative building, organic gardening, solar power, and native land renovation. We are looking for interested workawayers to work with us in these areas.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Ayuda doméstica
    Proyectos artísticos

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We are looking for enthusiastic folks who don't mind some physical work and who enjoy the outdoors. We would like help with current and new eco projects, bringing this land closer to our vision of what it can be. Volunteer duration can be a few days to much longer, depending upon the fit. Help with cooking and dishes is a real plus.

    Current projects include working with straw bales, earth/lime plaster finishes, cob and recycled materials - as building and art materials. We are also working our organic garden (improving raised beds and moving toward a greenhouse and aquaponics system) and slowly renovating the land to its native condition. In land renovation, we are removing cedar trees from glades and doing controlled burns. Upcoming projects include making a rocket stove wood heater and doing small construction projects, as well as our ongoing cob/earth projects. Of course, we only have so much time and energy to do these things while also working. This is why we would enjoy having help working on these things we love and would like to see manifest. Cooking is also very welcome. We look forward to the cultural exchange aspect of workaway, as we enjoy meeting others and learning about their lives and cultures!

    Artistic opportunities abound with most of our eco projects. The work tends to be fairly enjoyable, and we will often work alongside, although independent work is very appreciated. We like to enjoy life, so we pace ourselves in our projects, allowing time for tea and music. :-)

  • Idiomas hablados

    English: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Tent camping is available, and we have three buildings that need finish work but can be made habitable. Outdoor kitchen also available to campers.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We are vegetarian and do not cook/supply any meat; however, the lake is stocked with fish, which you may catch and prepare for yourself. :-) (There are grocers and organic meat providers fairly nearby, as well). We have kayaks and a canoe, which you can enjoy here on the lake. We also like to float the local rivers. St. Louis is about an hour+ away, with art museums and such, and there are local caves to visit as well as opportunities for music and culture.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    We would like about 20-25 hours a week. We tend to work in two to three day increments with time off after that. We are very flexible, though.

part of bottle design in cob oven wall; unfinished
Goldenrod is one of Missouri's many beautiful native wildflowers.
cob oven :-) awaits bottle/wall design
Cob oven project, with friends and some wonderful workawayers!
Solar power installation
This creek opens at the west end of the 2 acre lake. Early spring.
truth window in straw bale wall
Mr. Big
Building a straw bale wall during workshop.



Número de referencia de anfitrión: 9512543934d5