Help in my flower garden and exchange cultures in Denton, Texas, USA

Country

Estados Unidos

17 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    20/01/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    81.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 2 dias

 
  2022 
E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    I am a recently retired professor in Educational Psychology who specialized in preparing personnel to work with children and youth with special needs, specifically emotional and behavior issues. I am single, and live alone in the suburban Dallas Ft Worth area. My city, Denton, is home to 2 major universities. I have a large home and can make appropriate living accommodations. I have lots of free time and can show the traveler sites in nearby and further places at no charge to him. I will appreciate his company and sharing our culture. Major home-related tasks will be to rework the interior of the garage (e.g., paint, reconfigure shelving) and some caulking). Otherwise, I will look forward to having a house companion and perhaps a travel companion for sightseeing near and/or further away locations, much depending on the preference of the workawayer .

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Práctica de idiomas
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    The region of north central Texas has many unique features that are of special interest to tourists--historical sites illustrating the "old West"; political events; sports teams (World Museum of Soccer; home of the Cowboys, Mavericks, Stars, and Rangers; variety of renown museums,, and the Texas version of most everything big cities offer.

    The two largest cities in the region are Dallas and Ft. Worth, contrasting cities which will become obvious to the visitor. The metroplex encompasses about 6 million people. The population is highly diverse. Surrounding the metroplex are large farms with various focuses, numerous large lakes and recreation areas, and small towns many with unique features. Denton, Texas is a city of about 175K and is home to the University of North Texas (UNT, enrollment >38K), Texas Woman's University (enrollment >13K), and several community colleges. Denton has city bus and rail service to the Dallas area. Denton is located about 45-minute drive to DFW airport.

    Many of the features available will enhance workawayers' understanding of the culture and work-a-day world of Texans. In addition, geographically Denton is located in reasonable proximity to other states (Oklahoma, Arkansas, Louisiana, New Mexico) which will be easy travel destinations. It would be a personal expectation to take workawayers to numerous places/events that may be unique to the geographic region which will enable the traveler to evaluate the similarities/differences to his own country. Since the host is retired from being a professor, he has ample time to facilitate the experiences of the workawayer. When traveling is involved the host will cover all the basic costs (e.g., lodging, food, transportation) with the exception of any fees that may be associated with a place/event that he desires to explore/attend.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    I have extensive flower gardens to maintain on occasion. The workawayer can help with food preparation, kitchen cleanup, and whatever he wants to do to take care of himself. I can always use computer help since I do quite a bit stuff on which I need skills. The workawayer may help with repainting the garage and reconfiguring shelfing. It would be great if workawayer knows how to use EBAY and Facebook to help ascertain the selling price of various items that I might have for sale. He may also help advertise products that I decided to sell.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    I could benefit from assistance with basic Spanish language and computer skills. Of course, ample opportunities for practice of the English language.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    As noted earlier, I am a single male (spouse recently passed) who lives alone in a large home with adequate space--private bedroom and bathroom. I cook quite a bit as well as eat out too much; however, food costs will be covered by host. We can share cooking and kitchen clean up. There is a washer and dryer available. Since I live alone, the guest can make himself at home--computer, TV watching, snacking etc. There is a piano available and a modern sewing machine with multiple accessories should person be interested.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Personally, I am an all around clean living guy, a nonsmoker and cannot tolerate smoke, has excellent hygiene, maintains a great home organization, is friendly and enjoys conversation, educated--has doctoral degree, and has a pleasant personality. I admit I am somewhat of a planner, but often appreciates spontaneity. I enjoy going shopping (sometimes), different kinds of restaurants, travel and sightseeing. Dress is always casual. I am very interested in social justice and equality issues.

    I have traveled to Australia several times, New Zealand, Hong Kong, Singapore (taught a short course there once), Spain, Portugal, Brazil, Ireland, UK, Puerto Rico, numerous trips to various parts of Canada including the eastern and western provinces. In addition, I have done extensive traveling throughout the US. For several years, as a volunteer I did the professional development and conference planning for the International Council for Exceptional Children, headquartered in Arlington, VA.

    There are numerous things to see and do in the region. Denton has somewhat limited bus and train service to the Dallas area; however, I will be willing to transport as desired.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    The residence has good Internet access. A laptop and traditional computer setup is available for use. Also have adequate workspace available for short-term projects.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Uno

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Número de referencia de anfitrión: 947676287611