Join our Chinese family to learn different language and culture, maybe also some physics or programming , Germany

Country

Alemania

actualizado  

33 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    21/01/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    94.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 1 dia

  • Medallas

 
  2022 
E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Dear workawayers, we are a Chinese family of three, my wife, my son (2019 born), and me. We live in Germany because I'm doing research (theoretical physics) here. My wife has been with me but now she is in China for studying Ph.D. in Chinese literature. It becomes difficult for me to work and take care of my son at the same time, therefore any help is welcomed. We have been workawayers ourselves, and we've had a great experience, to know different people, different culture. Therefore we hope to continue such communication, but now as a host.

    Here we live in a small historical town Jülich in North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany. Fachhochschule Aachen (Campus Jülich) and Forschungszentrum Jülich locate here, therefore there are many scholars and students. There are many woods, rivers, and lakes nearby, with beautiful nature. You can go to the nearby zoo or hiking around. You can also visit Aachen (30 km), Köln (65 km), or Düsseldorf (65 km) nearby. There is a language school (VHS Jülicher Land) where you can take language courses. We could not teach you German, but we can teach you Chinese. And if you like I can also teach you physics and related computer techniques :)

    As for the work, it will be very simple, help with the kitchen (cooking and cleaning) and play with the kid some time. Otherwise, you may take your time to explore nearby of the town. I would rather view you as part of the family instead of a worker, so it is totally relaxing and flexible, just make yourself at home :)

    A little bit more about my work: my research is to study the structure of the nucleus, such as its energy, shape, and so on. One of the questions we can answer for the public is where are those elements such as carbon, oxygen, iron, ... come from? To describe them in a rigorous mathematical way is not easy. In my research, we use the supercomputer JUWELS (top 10 in the world, checked in 2021) to do advanced simulations and try to answer all kinds of scientific questions. Of course, most of the questions we are dealing with are very specialized and difficult to explain to the public. But we could find some easy or trivial problem, and I can teach you some of the basics of 'dong research', from searching the literature, finding the problem, deriving formula, programming (I use FORTRAN), to finally plotting out the results in a nice figure.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Ayuda doméstica

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Though we live in Germany, we cannot speak German. We can teach you Chinese, and you can explore German culture, which we are also exploring. Learning physics and some computer techniques are also welcome.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Help with household, kitchen, and maybe also some time with the kid.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Chino (mandarín): Fluido
    Alemán: Principiante
    Italiano: Principiante
    Japonés: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We live in the center of the town, a small two-floor flat. You will have your own bedroom on the first floor. All the facilities are there that you can use.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Website URLs are not allowed to be put here, but if you need information such as local traffic, tourist, sports club, language course, library, zoo, ... please ask me so I can send it to you in private.

    Basically, people applying to us are in 2 groups :) either interested in Chinese culture or physics (programming). My goal is to become a professor in theoretical physics so I am very happy to teach, and I'm also happy to teach you the Chinese language, discuss different cultures, making us understand each other better. Now I still have very little teaching experience and also it is a pity that I'm too busy daily to prepare a good teaching course for workawayers. But if you have interest in any specific topic please let me know, I can try to prepare a little bit for that. In the end, after I share my knowledge to and learn from different workawayers, I would like to summary them and maybe make some simple special Chinese course or physics/programming course :)

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Uno

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)





Número de referencia de anfitrión: 945376799456