actualizado  

Help out at our organic garden in the Adelaide Hills, SA, Australia

  • 15 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 21 abr 2024

DISPONIBILIDAD

  2024 

 Estancia mínima:  Una semana o menos

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalles

  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hello! We are Mel and Damien. We are a professional couple in our late-thirties who, having spent many years living and working in the city, decided to relocate to the Adelaide Hills to embrace a different kind of life, close to nature. When we moved onto the land it was fairly neglected and it was clear we'd need some help to restore it. Our property is a rustic beauty, 20 acres, mostly protected eucalyptus forest, with a small orchard of fruit trees we are learning to tend and maintain. There is an abundance of Australian native animals that visit the property including Kangaroos, koalas and kookaburras. Our property is entirely fed by rainwater, solar battery powered and we are connected to a septic system.

    We absolutely love the connection to nature, variety of wildlife and serenity we get on the property. If this sounds like something you would also appreciate, please reach out to us.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Construcción y bricolaje
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    There is so much to learn about Australian native land management on our property, as well as how to observe our seasons and take care of productive trees. The landscape here is beautiful, so if you're interested in exploring native Australian flora and fauna, you'll love staying here.

    We also look forward to sharing a meal together and learning about each others cultures. We have both travelled widely in our time, mostly throughout Europe, but also to parts of Asia, Africa and the Americas.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Currently we are looking for a pair of workawayers to help around the house with some tasks in May including sanding and oiling/painting parts of our house and deck and getting our orchard in order.

    The dates we are offering are:
    Friday 10 May - Friday 17 May
    Friday 24 May - Friday 31 May

    --
    We are looking to connect with workawayers with experience with gardening, basic building skills and land management, although we would still like to hear from you if you have an interest in developing skills in this area.

    Workawayers can expect to work 5 hours per day for an up to 7-day stay. We are open to host a motivated single, couple or two travel mates. If you have any particular skills or interests, please let us know as it may be something we can work with.

    Some of the jobs we need help with include:

    - General cleaning and garden maintenance
    - General building tasks (ie. restoring chicken coop, installing irrigation, making bird boxes, path edging, fixing fences etc)
    - Pruning fruit trees and shrubs in our orchard
    - Collecting firewood from the forest
    - Weeding on the property or in the forest
    - External painting or oiling of timber
    - Picking up excess leaves around the property (we have a lot of nearby gum trees!)
    - Land clearing, razing low-level shrubs and minor trees and orchard pathways
    - Picking fruit, preserving fruit and making conserves


    Please let us know if you’d like to join us for one of these weeks :)

    If you are a workawayer with building experience and would like to stay with us during the Winter months get in touch as we need some help fixing the orchard fence, setting up irrigation and building a chicken shed.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Our home is a beautiful split-level, mid-century building, set into the hillside and overlooking the forest. The guest room is secluded on the bottom level with big windows, a queen bed, private bathroom and kitchenette (fridge, microwave, toaster and kettle provided). We also have an additional air mattress that can be used if you are a duo that prefer not to share a bed.

    The room has an external entrance, so you wont bother anyone by coming and going, with your own outdoor sitting area facing the forest - it really is a lovely view to wake up to!

    We have ample car parking for Workaway guests as well as space for vans, caravans or camper trailers, if that suits you better.

    We will provide tasty provisions for breakfast and lunches in your kitchenette and are happy to make dinners made to share, however if you enjoy cooking and would like to share your culinary heritage (or favourite simple meal) we would be more than happy to let you make a meal! :)

    An outdoor BBQ is also available for Workaway guests, should the weather permit (generally use it weekly in summer)

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Our property is located in the Adelaide Hills, with neighbouring properties containing commercial vineyards, fruit orchards (a few include apples, pears, strawberries, raspberries) and pasture land. It is a short 30 mins drive to the Adelaide city centre, with local buses available in two nearby towns - the closest being a 3 minute drive or 20 min walk away. There will be times where we can certainly drop you to the bus stop or nearby towns, however we can't guarantee this as we both still work.

    Nearby attractions include the Mt Lofty Botanic Gardens, national parks, local wineries, breweries, pubs and wildlife attractions. This is arguably one of the most beautiful parts of South Australia (in our very biased opinion ;D) and we would be more than happy to give you tips on where to visit and how to get there.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    We do have facilities to accommodate digital nomads, including a decent Fixed Wireless NBN connection, though it will vary depending on time of day/weather conditions etc (approx. DL 20-80MB/s, UL 1-15MB/s). There are ample places to sit and work, including in your room, outside or in the kitchenette.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Este anfitrión puede proporcionar un sitio para autocaravanas.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 944754887552

Comentarios (3)



Comentarios

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)





Join us on a 40 Acre farm Northern Tasmania, Australia
Welcome to sunny Brisbane, there’s so much to do, QLD, Australia