Looking for help with summer projects in Teton Valley, ID, USA


Estados Unidos


120 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Última actividad


  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    60.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 11 dias


 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

  • Descripción


    Scott started an off-grid cabin in the wilds of the Teton mountains almost 30 years ago built almost exclusively out of salvaged materials. It has served as a remote getaway but now we are living here summers and winters. Emme is a creative soul so we built her an 'artist cabin' summer of 2020. We salvage materials from the local dump, take down old buildings and gather from other sources. There is So much available in the waste stream that it seems wrong to buy things new (plus it is cheap or free and we dont have alot of money). It has allowed us to stay out of debt and therefore own our own lives. This kind of building is always an adventure and has connected us with many interesting folks through the years. In the winter, we have to ski or snowmachine 4 miles to the cabin. In the summer we are able to drive to the 6 acre property. We are located about 16 miles to Driggs idaho, outside the small villiage of Felt, Idaho a couple of miles from the Wyoming border. The targhee national forest is a couple of hundred yard from the property with the Jedediah smith Wilderness area, grand teton national park and yellowstone national park nearby that is the largest intact ecosystem in the lower 48 states...a true outdoor paradise.

    We have many projects going at all times, from chopping/stacking wood for winter use, fixing up cabin, outhouse, sauna, and two restored Silo's on the property. As well as collecting/drying/storing medicinal herbs, edible mushrooms, huckleberries, and other wild food gathering. Emme is an avid cook, so workaways have loved learning and assisting in baking, fermenting, and food storage.

    Emme is a vegetarian, deep tissue massage therapist, plant based nutritionist and knitter of all things. Scott enjoys all the plant based food, along with venison, elk, and fish.
    Our ideal workawayer is not afraid to do learn new things, is healthy and strong, optimistic, posseses common sense, is interested in living offgrid, loves animals, wants to learn and enjoys the outdoors

    We have a lovely converted Butler Silo, with windows, insulation, propane stove, coleman cook stove and comfy double bed, set in another dump find, an ornate antique metal bed, and writing area for workaways to stay in. It has a basic kitchen and provides you with your own space and privacy. You will have access to a hot shower or a wood-fired sauna.

    Scott has been working with, guiding and hosting workaways for over 20 years in Southern Utah. You can type in Boulder, UT and find his workaway host site there. Scott hosts in the spring and fall in Boulder, UT, but we'd love to host enthusiastic interesting folks who'd like to learn about our way of life, as well as share their insights to life so far while we are in Idaho Dec-March, and June-October.
    Also check out Scott’s work away site listed for Boulder Utah To see other projects we have going and see feedback from past workawayers.

    Summer 2021 projects that we'd love help with and offer our unique style of building and living with:

    We just purchased two old grain silos. So in June we need help taking a 14' and 16' silo down and moving 3.5 miles to our place. As we plan to convert 16' to a tiny house with loft, windows, etc. and the 14' into a gazebo like structure near our fire ring (that we cook at everyday in Summer).

    Building a roof over our existing deck off main cabin with wraparound.

    Finishing Emme's art studio with barnwood siding, shelving and other fun projects.

    Plan to build a storage shed for our two snowmachines and motorbike from start to finish.

    Digging a second outhouse hole and moving an existing little wood shed over it. Cutting in window and adding shelves.

    We are always taking out old standing Aspens in the summer, and cutting into firewood to restock for winter days and nights.

    Planting a "wild" garden here and there between the Aspens. Collecting and drying of nettle, raspberry leaves, wild rose and hips in the fall for tea. Emme plans on making goat milk (from local farmers) soap for gifts for upcoming year. A new thing and should be fun.

    We salvage weekly at local dump and it's our favorite day. We meet our friends and come home fully loaded every week.

    You'll learn lots of construction skills on the cheap, and how to homestead and live free. Also gathering and harvesting wild plants

    Most days we head to local water hole in the afternoon and rinse off the day, before returning to make dinner around the fire. We also have two canoes so a few days a week we head to local Teton River to float. Many hiking and biking trails right from property, and access within a few miles to trails into the highlands of the Tetons.

    Contact us to see if you would be a good addition to our Summer family.... Sincerely, Scott and Emme

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Mantenimiento general

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    As stated above, Scott built all his homes/outbuildings using reclaimed materials, we use solar, pump or haul water. We are avid readers. Have limited, but fairly reliable Cell service. No television, internet hit or miss. Emme is a deep tissue massage therapist, specializing in plant-based nutrition, with over 40 years expereience. She also is an avid knitter, hand spinner of fiber, paints, wood carver of kitchen utensils, gardens, writes and sews. We will be putting up alot of dried medicinal herbs and fermenting our finds. Also plan on making goat milk soap this summer.

  • Ayuda


    Workawayers will learn and build alongside us.

    Projects for summer 2021 on our property include: Finishing a 12x 12 artist studio with all reclaimed lumber. (Shed roof, deck around West and South, installing windows, door, shelves and wood stove).

    Assisting us in Gathering, chopping, stacking 3 cords wood from surrounding area.

    Learning to Build a wrap around roof over existing deck with reclaimed wood.

    And assisting us in building steps up to new covered deck.

    Taking down two grain silos, and turning one into a tiny house with loft and the other a screened in gazebo.

    Along with various other projects. Collecting huckleberry, nettle, rose hips, etc.

    Joining us to salvage at dump each week for materials and treasures.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento


    Workaways and guests stay in our Sweet old Butler Silo converted into a guest space. Propane stove, camp stove to make your own coffee or tea in a.m. and/or outdoor fire ring (where we cook most evenings...peaches with coconut oil, cinnamon and cardamom is our new favorite). Meals provided by hosts. Outhouse is 75 yards away, outdoor solar heated shower or wood sauna available to work a ways .
    Emme loves cooking/baking, so workaways in past have enjoyed beautiful conciously made breakfast, lunch and dinners. And have helped in past to learn nutritional skills.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    So much to see and do in our area. From hiking, mountain biking, flyfishing, canoeing, backpacking. We have outdoor gear, two canoes Mousbe and Billy, maps galore and will help send you off on adventures. In the winter you can ski out from the Silo, and there are 3 skate ski areas around Driggs, as well as Targhee for downhill. Driggs is only 30 minutes away, and hosts two libraries, a wonderful food co-op like shop, regular grocery, and many microbreweries, coffee houses and restaurants. The West Side of the Tetons is stunning and much quieter than Jackson. However, Jackson Hole is only 45 minutes away and offers a change of scenery and fun.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    We have space for small RV or pop up.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    As long as friendly, good with our dog and kitty.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, sometimes more5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 938512796375