Stay in my community home and help with a local non-profit in Asheville, USA

Country

Estados Unidos

281 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    27/05/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    91.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 11 dias

  • Medallas

    Super Host
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hi Workawayers,

    I grew up in Louisiana, built Earthships in Taos, NM, toured with the Sustainable Living Roadshow all across the US and helped start the PLACE for Sustainable Living in Oakland CA. I now work full-time for Dr. Bronner's Magic Soaps with their Magic Foam Experience events team and sit on the board of a local Tool Lending Library which is a resource sharing project I co-founded. I recently purchased a community house, established over 10yrs ago and intend to make lots of improvements to best support those who live here. The main purpose of the house is to provide affordable housing to people doing environmental and social work in the area. I need your help in making this the best community house east of the Mississippi River!

    Our place is currently filled with folks who love to paint, rock climb, kayak, farm/garden, and build things. I personally love going to waterfalls and I'm always looking for an excuse to go to them. A few of us go to a very affordable personal mobility & strength trainer weekly who is helping us find our inner ninja. The trainer is open to work trade so there is the opportunity for you to join us should you also be on your journey to ninjahood. I'm a seasoned carpenter and skilled in 3D Design/CAD/animation and would be happy to share what I know.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Trabajo de caridad
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    I have a lot to share about my experiences and hope to seed information and tools to help you to be an active participant in building a more beautiful harmonious world for all. I now have a woodworking shop in my basement and have lots of building skills I'm more than willing to share(if my time allows). The tool library will occasionally have workshops in our basement teaching basic to advanced skills which you will have unlimited access to. My community house hosts folks from around the world so you will also have the unique opportunity to learn from them. Asheville is home to unique mixing of cultures, but most prevalent is Appalachian culture, known for it's arts and crafts, music, food, and connection to the beautiful land. Common activities in the house include natural dyeing fabrics, basket making, widdling, building, playing music, and conversations about solving global crisis.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    There is a wide array of tasks to be done, none of which expertise is necessary and all will be prioritized by the skillsets available. Helping build music room and ceramic studio, landscaping(moving earth and building retaining walls for gardens), setting up a woodshop/mini-makerspace, installing a hot-tub.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    The house is a 7 bedroom, 2 bath house with pretty small rooms, but large communal spaces. The maximum number of people living here at any time is 6. You will have your own room with a view of the backyard.

    Both bathrooms are communal so we never have to wait for the bathroom and the kitchen is never congested. I have connections to local farms and get CSA boxes so food is plentiful. Our house is mixed with vegan and meat-eaters and everyone is respectful of each other's choices, including having designated pots and pans for vegans. Asheville is abundant with organic farms so access to healthy food is easy. We like to cook and share meals as often as possible with at least 1 potluck a week as a goal. We fill our water at a natural spring that has the most pristine, delicious water and we have a Berkey filter as a backup. Movie and game nights are a common occurrence as well as fireside hangouts in the back yard.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    My house is less than 5 miles from downtown Asheville where there is plenty of restaraunts, breweries, shops and events. Asheville is nestled in the beautiful Appalachian mountains which is the most biodiverse place in North America. There are hundreds of waterfalls, hiking and biking trails, white water rafting or just tubing for a more relaxing day. Asheville is a very low-stress place to live and I absolutely love it here. I'm happy to share my electric bike for transportation and you are welcome to fix up any of the 10 bikes left behind by previous residents. Most of the other housemates have cars and finding a ride somewhere won't be difficult. We are not a party house, but love hosting potlucks, movies on the projector and small fire gatherings. We respect plant medicines, but abuse or disrespect to housemates are not acceptable. You will have access to all of Dr. Bronner's products so you won't need to pay for soap, toothpaste, coconut oil, sanitizer or hair care etc.

    COVID WARNING: There are inherent covid risks with living in a community. While everyone living here is expected to follow safety guidelines the "germ pool" is still quite large and community spread would be hard to stop if anyone in the home was an asymptomatic carrier. Anyone that is immunocompromised should proceed with caution. We ask that anyone staying with us get tested, wear masks and keep safe distances until test results come back.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Wifi is very fast and works great throughout the house. There is an office with a printer/scanner that can be utilized.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    We are definitely passionate animal lovers and can likely accommodate dogs.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)








Número de referencia de anfitrión: 937722534559